Jftrd Jiapttst fflijltrcij
SHELBY, NORTH CAROLINA
First "Baptist Church
Digitized by the Internet Archive
Jfftrat lapttst dljurrlj
SHELBY, NORTH CAROLINA
* * * *
Mrs. C. Rush Hamrick, Jr., Editor
R. Hubbard Hamrick, Historian
* * * * * *
Printed at Shelby, North Carolina - August, 1969
Having been led as we believe by the spirit of
God to receive the Lord Jesus Christ as our Saviour;
and, on the profession of our faith, having been
baptized into the name of the Father, and of the
Son, and of the Holy Spirit, we do now, in the pres-
ence of God, angels, and this assembly, most sol-
emnly and joyfully enter into covenant with one
another, as one body in Christ.
We engage, therefore, by the aid of the Holy
Spirit to walk together in Christian love; to strive
for the advancement of this church in knowledge,
holiness and comfort; to promote its prosperity and
spirituality; to sustain its worship, ordinances, dis-
cipline and doctrines; to contribute cheerfully and
regularly to the support of the ministry, the ex-
penses of the church, the relief of the poor, and the
spread of the gospel through all nations.
We also engage to maintain family and secret
devotions; to religiously educate our children; to
seek the salvation of our kindred and acquaint-
ances; to walk circumspectly in the world, to be
just in our dealings, faithful in our engagements,
and exemplary in our deportment; to avoid all
tattling, back-biting, and excessive anger; to ab-
stain from the sale and use of intoxicating drinks
as beverage, and to be zealous in our efforts to
advance the kingdom of our Saviour.
We further engage to watch over one another
in brotherly love; to remember each other in pray-
er; to aid each other in sickness and distress; to
cultivate Christian sympathy in feeling and court-
esy in speech; to be slow to take offense, but al-
ways ready for reconciliation, and mindful of the
rules of our Saviour, to secure it without delay.
And we moreover engage that when we remove
from this place, we will, as soon as possible, unite
with some other church, where we can carry out
the spirit of this covenant and the principles of
- 2 -^. '75?
In Loving Memory
MRS. O. MAX GARDNER
Shelby's beloved Mrs. O. Max Gardner, who died
January 16, 1969 at the age of 83, was a lifelong
member of First Baptist Church of Shelby and was
the great-granddaughter of one of its founders and
first pastor, the Rev. James Milton Webb. A woman
of strong faith, she loved her church and its people
and they, in turn, loved her. The areas of her beauti-
ful life are defined in her religious, charitable, cultu-
ral and educational endeavors which will endure for
It is a difficult task, indeed,, to compile and edit
an authentic history of so great a church as the First
Baptist Church of Shelby, North Carolina. Rather it
has been a labor of love for the enrichment we have
received in our own associations with the church and
its membership, and in the product we humbly sub-
mit as the first history of this mighty institution.
While the church dates back to that momentous
day of June 19, 1847, it must be pointed out that
there are no minutes up until the year 1871, thus a
great portion of the very early activities and growth
of the church can not be recorded.
In other periods, from 1882 until 1895 and from
September, 1929 until January of 1935, there are
no church records to research since these ere pre-
sumably lost. In many laborious efforts on the part
of the church historian and the editor it has been
possible to glean information from the Kings Moun-
tain Associational minutes and Broad River Associa-
tional minutes and many other sources so as not to
interrupt the continuity and unfolding drama of this
It has also been through the cooperation and as-
sistance of many persons that we have been able to
compile the historic information in the ensuing pages,
gather it into book form, and distribute it near the
122nd anniversary of the church.
We make no claim at being trained historians
and doubtless have violated some of the accepted
canons of historical writing, but we believe few fact-
ual errors will be found. We have meant to offer
dates and events relative not only to the church's
beginning but to Cleveland County and Shelby as
well since all three were born within a six-year per-
iod. It is hoped that those who are interested in his-
tory will be able to use the book for references.
Too, we have attempted to keep the history fact-
ual and in doing so have not been able to oay recog-
nition to so many members who have rightfully de-
served a place in this history. It would have been on
unwieldly list had we contrived to name all who have
been active in various church phases, or who have
given so generously of their time and money to the
operation of the church, though this would have been
our wish. We beg the understanding of the church
membership in this connection.
While we offer our sincere thanks to all who have
helped in any way with this publication, we would
like to remind you of the words of Edmund Burke
"He who will not look into the past to
see the way our forebears have travel-
ed cannot with certainty interpret the
present nor with clarity chart the fu-
Mrs. C. Rush Hamrick, Jr.
R. Hubbard Hamrick
GRACE RUTLEDGE HAMRICK
Church Covenant 2
List of Pastors 8
Pastor's Message 10-11
General History 1 3-61
Music Department and Educational Directors .... 62-75
Sunday School 77-83
Woman's Missionary Union 85-90
Youth Directors 91-93
Training Union 99
Scouting 1 01 -04
Pastors and Their Biographies 105-39
Deacons 1 40-42
Church Staff and Officers 144-45
Picture Section 1 46-54
Sources 1 55
Church Roll 1 56-67
LIST OF PASTORS
JAMES MILTON WEBB 1847-1849
M. C. BARNETTE 1 850, 1 866- 1 870
WADE HILL 1851, 1860, 1872-75
A. J. CANSLER 1853-1856
THOMAS DIXON 1857-1859
E. A. CRAWLEY 1861-1863, 1864-1865
TILLMAN R. GAINES 1863-1864
NEEDHAM B. COBB 1870-1872
A. L. STOUGH 1 875-1 879
J. A. WHITE 1880
W. A. NELSON 1 880-1 883
R. D. MALLARY 1 883, 1 885, 1 887
W. B. BUSSEY 1884-1885
W. H. STRICKLAND . ." 1885-1887
J. M. McMANAWAY 1887-1890
G. P. HAMRICK 1890-1892
J. L. SPROLES 1 892- 1 894
J. D. HUFHAM 1894-1896
R. F. TREDWAY 1 897- 1 902
W. D. HUBBARD 1903-1904
M. E. PARRISH .1904-1908
C. A. JENKINS 1908-191 1
L. W. SWOPE ." 1912-1916
LEE McBRIDE WHITE 1917-1918
J. MARCUS KESTER 1919-1922
ROBERT L. LEMONS 1 923- 1 925
ZENO WALL 1 925- 1 948
HARLAN HARRIS 1948-1853
JOHN E. LAWRENCE 1 954- 1 964
FORREST FEEZOR (Interim) 1964-1965
JOSEPH T. McCLAI N .1 965- 1 968
GENE L. WATTERSON 1 969-
In this brilliantly written but all too brief history
of the first 122 years of this great church, we are
privileged to leave with our predecessors something
of the trials and triumphs, the conflicts and con-
quests that have brought us to this present moment.
We sense the pulsing of energy, the thrust of growth,
the tension of struggle, and the thrill of achievement.
We are impressed also with the feeling of kinship for
we are a part of the continuing history of a great
It has been said that the past is but the pattern
of the future. If this be true then we too shall have
our times of testing. For us also, there will be mo-
ments when the quality of our dedication to the Lord
Christ is at issue. From this we do not shrink for the
great God who has given victory to the efforts of
others shall sustain us as well.
In the continuum of the work and worship of this
community of faith, we are mindful of the words of
the writer of the book of Hebrews, "Wherefore, see-
ing we also are compassed about with so great a
cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and
the sand which does so easily beset us, and let us
run with patience the race that is sat before us, look-
ing unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith".
As our forebearers endeavor to build a fellowship
of believers under the Lordship of Jesus Christ, so
shall we. In this task, our commitment is to "Trust
in the Lord with all our hearts, lean not to our own
understanding, in all our ways acknowledge Him
and trust Him to direct our paths".
Gene L. Watterson
REV. GENE L, WATTERSON
ARTIST'S SKETCH of Baptist Meeting House as recalled by Miss Ollie Hamrick,
the church's oldest member at age 94. Erected in 1846, the building housed Shelby
Baptist Church from 1847 until 1889.
EARLY BAPTIST FAMILIES— Pictured on the corner of Washington and Warren
streets as it appeared in 1891 are left to right, Lawson Blanton, Dora Hamrick (Mrs.
W. H. Jennings), E. B. Lattimore, Hattie Lattimore (Mrs. W. B. Nix), Joe L.
Suttle, Florence Doggett (Mrs. J. K. Cowan). Frame building in back was home of
Ab Blanton which also housed a general store. Site is that of the present court
No one can deny that the dedicated men and women composing the
membership of the First Baptist Church of Shelby, North Carolina have
constituted its chief glory and distinction. This is dramatically true of that
early group who initiated the movement to organize our church in June,
1847, beginning almost simultaneously with the start of the county of
In the unfolding drama of the 122 years of First Baptist Church,
situated in the heart of the county seat, we find that this mighty agency
of God, which began humbly in the midst of confusion and controversy,
has grown incredibly in size, witness and ministry. Living faith, dauntless
courage and invincible optimism have led its members from the first band
of believers through today's modern worshippers, leaving in its wake near-
ly one and a quarter centuries of progress.
Cleveland County was founded in 1841, having been originally a
part of Rutherford and Lincoln Counties. There was much discussion as
to where the county seat would be located and there were proponents for
two locations: one near the present Zion Baptist Church and the other
near what is now the Cleveland County fairgrounds, which would have
placed the town partly in Rutherford and partly in Lincoln.
However, two far-sighted, civic-minded citizens, William Forbis and
James Love, helped settle the controversy when they gave 40 acres and
1 47 acres respectively for the town of Shelby. Forbis and his wife, Elizabeth,
deeded the first 40 acres to the commissioners on which to locate the
county seat in a deed drawn on June 18, 1841, recorded in Book A, page
9, the deed reading "in consideration of the good will and attachment
entertained toward the new county measures lately adopted by the legis-
lature of our state."
James Love and his wife, Susan, presented the county a site in what
is now the heart of Shelby, composed of 147 acres of land, in a deed of
conveyance dated August 1 1, 1841 and recorded in Book A, page 15. Re-
questing the commission to locate the county seat "at some point not over
four miles from Thomas Wilson's mineral springs," the Love gifts of land
have created interest through the years since the court square was one
of his parcels and, also, the provisions of his deed included one-acre lots
facing each side of the town square which he gave to the following
churches: Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal and Presbyterian. The earlier
Forbis deed did not stipulate how the land was to be used but was clearly
a gift for the county seat.
The Love parcels were a part of a 300-acre tract he purchased for
$300 from Samuel Espey on June 2, 1840, the deed recorded in Book 44
at page 45 in the Rutherford County courthouse, one year before Cleve-
land county was formed.
A careful comparison of the points of record in the James For-
bis and James Love deeds to the John R. Logan map of 1850 of Shel-
by indicated the 40 Forbis acres included the oldest portion of Sun-
set cemetery, southward through Marion and Warren Streets — a tract
lying almost directly west of the court square. Identification of the Forbis
grant is difficult since it was marked by "a persimmon tree, post and red
oaks." Nevertheless, the best of historians believe that the Forbis grant,
combined with the 147 acres grant of James Love were the original tracts
forming the town of Shelby.
The larger donor, who must be remembered for his generosity, grant-
ed the commissioners permission to sell at public auction the part of his
gift which was not reeded for public buildings and the designated houses
of worship. Commissioners sent to Lincolnton to get John Harry, a native
of Maryland, as auctioneer to sell the approximately 141 acres not desig
nated and, by the grand public sale in 1842, James Love created the
background for the first real estate auction and boom in Shelby. Auction-
eer Harry painted a glorious picture of Shelby, telling his bidders that-
some day the city would possess a population of 500' The nearly $1 5,000
brought by the sale was used to construct a log courthouse, a tight jail
and a crude pcorhouse.
It should be noted that James Love was a man of quiet dignity with
a capacity for foresight and wisdom and his neighbors regarded his opinion
highly, going to him for counsel and advice. He was owner of the only
threshing machine in this part of the country which was used regularly
by the community. He also owned and maintained on his farmlands
the only harness shop in the county. Shelby's new elementary school lo-
cated near old Zoar school in South Shelby and under construction in
1969, is named the James Love school for this early benefactor.
For the sake of interest as well as history, it may be noted that James
Love, who was born January 6, 1796 and died November 15, 1878, is
buried at Zoar Baptist Church and the tallest tombstone in the cemetery
marks his grave.
Though readily accepting the gift of land from Mr. Love, the com-
missioners did not wholly acquiesce to his wishes. Instead, various lots
were chosen and designated for each of the recipient churches. A lot
on the south side of Warren Street at the intersection of DeKalb Street
was specified for location of a Baptist Church.
CHURCH SITE PURCHASED
Baptists in the area had a mind of their own and declined the offer
of land. Instead, they purchased the land where the present church build-
ing stands. A lot 1 30 feet bv 1 30 feet was purchased from Richard Cham-
Dion for the sum of $300, the deed dated June 8, 1846 and recorded in
Book H. at page 368. For technical reasons this lot was conveyed to the
church again on April 9, 1931 by deed recorded in Book 4-D on page 433.
The next acquisition of land was another lot conveyed to Shelby Bap-
tist Church on North LaFayette Street just north of the original lot meas-
uring 140 by 130 feet by deed dated April 25, 1904 and recorded in Book
MM on page 527. These two lots make up the tract of land on which the
auditorium and old education building are standing, the old education
building now housing the church offices.
In 1846 a public meeting house was constructed, mainly "by the
efforts and liberality" of William Roberts, Dr. Thomas Williams and David
Warlick, on the land purchased by the Baptists. Some of the early resi-
dents of Shelby who belonged to other churches had much sport over the
words "meeting house." The Rev. James M. Webb and the Rev. Drury
Dobbins alternated at holding services in the building once a month.
On March 20-21 of 1847, the local Baptists decided to organize their
own church, the actual organization taking place on June 19, 1847. The
two persons most instrumental in the organization were the two ministers,
Rev. Webb and Rev. Dobbins, with the Rev. Webb serving as first pastor of
The Rev. James Milton Webb, who was born October 7, 1802 and
who died April 24, 1854, was a man of many talents and a character of
prominence and outstanding ability. He was a minister of the gospel,
clerk of Superior Court, a Representative in the North Carolina General
Assembly from Rutherford county, a newspaper editor and publisher. He
was described as the leading Baptist minister of his day. He combined
his widely divergent occupations in a harmonious manner and there was
one time in his career when he was a newspaper editor, minister and clerk
of court at the same time.
Twice married, he and his first wife, Kitty White, were parents of 10
sons and three daughters and following her death he married Nancy
Hampton, who bore him two sons and one daughter.
As an evidence of the power of Rev. Webb's pulpit oratory, the fol-
lowing incident has been handed down: two men of bad morals were one
day talking rather slightly of the excitement in a large congregation the
day before, produced by one of Webb's sermons. One said to the other,
reproachfully, "I think I saw you crying." "Yes," was the reply, "but that
man Webb can make the devil cry'"
In person, Rev. Webb was six feet tall, slender and rather slovenly
in his appearance. His nose was of the Grecian style, his long hair, eye-
brows and eyelashes jet black and his eyes were dark of a penetrating
brilliancy. In his two years as pastor, he more than doubled the mem-
bership and inspired enthusiasm.
Drury Dobbins was a leader in instigating the organization of the
church but, unfortunately, he did not live to see his dream realized. Born
just across the state line in Cherokee County, South Carolina on April 7,
1776, Mr. Dobbins spent most of his life in North Carolina. As a youth,
he was a member of the State Line Baptist Church which was the pre-
decessor of the present First Baptist Church of Grover, North Carolina.
Later he served as pastor of the Sandy Run Baptist Church for approxi-
mately 40 years and it is said he never received anything beyond a mere
pittance. By hard labor on his farm, coupled with economy and frugality,
he accumulated many of the good things of life to render him quite com-
fortable and he dealt out many kindnesses to the poor.
Personal drama was as integral a part of Mr. Dobbins' life as was
the zeal with which he applied himself to the work of the Lord. During
his pastorate at Sandy Run, he married Mrs. Hannah Sams, nee Hannah
Callahan, who had been married before but whose husband had deserted
her ten years previously. Her husband having been declared legally dead,
Mrs. Callahan presumably had no qualms about a second marriage.
However, soon after the wedding the first husband reappeared and
declared his intentions of reclaiming his wife. It was the honorable and
noble Mr. Dobbins who insisted that the choice of husband be left to the
wife in question. This was agreed upon and she, understandably, chose
Dobbins as her mate. They lived harmoniously together for many years,
during which time a daughter was born to them and who married Richard
A shoemaker-farmer-preacher combination, Drury Dobbins worked
with his own hands rather than become chargeable to the churches he
served. He was described as having sparkling, black, penetrating eyes and
bland, pleasant face, and exterior generally of a prepossessing nature. Ac-
cording to the Broad River Association history, "his general outline or
physique was a sufficient assurance to a close observer that he was no
ordinary man, and his presence was felt and respected by all with whom
he v/as associated."
Leaving his imprint on Baptist work in Cleveland County, he was
highly instrumental in formulating plans for the organization of the First
Baptist Church of Shelby although he died exactly one month before the
formal organization took place. He died on May 19, 1847, and was buried
in the eastern edge of Rutherford County near the Baptist Church which
bears his name.
Rev. James M. Webb was appointed by the Broad River Association
to preach Dobbins' funeral and it is recorded that thousands of people
assembled around the stand in the grove for the service. It is said that
no two men ever regarded each other with more excessive fondness than
did those two stalwart Baptists, Webb and Dobbins.
After singing and a prayer, Rev. Webb read his text: "My father,
my father, the chariot of Israel and the horsemen thereof! and he saw
him no more." — 2 Kings ii. 12. Think of such a man as Webb, with
such a text as this, to preach the funeral of Drury Dobbins before the
Broad River Association, of which he had been a member for 47 years —
the guide of its counsels'
He commenced his sermon by presenting a singular combination of
the historical and textual parts of his discourse and proceeded to illus-
trate his subject. The congregation was soon melted by his pathos and
the clearness of his thoughts and were prepared to weep tears like "dew
drops" when the preacher turned half around from the book-board, threw
himself a little back, raising his hands and his eyes, and in one of those
exclamations for which he was inimitable, said: "Oh, Dobbins! dost thy
sainted spirit this day witness our feeble efforts to honor thy sacred mem-
ory? Art thou with the Man that returned and smote the waters of Jordan
with the mantel, saying: 'Where is the Lord God of Elijah?' " Every spirit
felt subdued before him, and for thirty minutes more he lifted them up
or let them down, at his will.
J. R. Logan wrote in the Association minutes: "Bro. Webb was at
home on all such occasions as this, and really the character of his mind
and of his feelings, the liveliness of his imagination, the symphony of
his tones, combined with an easy deportment in the pulpit, rendered him
Available records show that Shelby's First Baptist Church was launch
ed with twenty-five charter members. Only seven of the members are
listed in the record: J. R. Logan, William Roberts, David Warlick, Thomas
Williams, Thomas Wilson, David Durham and W. H. Green. Logan,
Roberts and Warlick served as the first deacons of the church and Wil-
liams was the first church Clerk.
Logan was a surveyor and plotted the uptown streets in Shelby,
having been credited with foresight and praised more in recent years for
the city's wide streets which have adapted to heavy automotive traffic.
Logan was also known for his History of the Broad River and Kings Moun-
tain Baptist Associations, as an early educator, legislator, farmer, and
above all — a devoted church man.
The first complete list of members to be found is dated February 1 1,
1871 and shows a total of seventy-nine (79) members, 30 males and 49
females. Since this was twenty-four years after organization of the church,
it must be concluded that early growth was somewhat limited.
The first complete membership of 1871 lists the following:
Male members — Thomas Williams, Adam Spake, D. C. Webb,
William Dellinger, W. P. Love, J. W. Sullivan, B. Waters, D. N. Durham,
W. H. Durham, James Durham, S. J. Noggle, J. Jenkins, J. W. Spangler,
T. N. Barnett, Noah Robbs, A. A. Wilson, Lee M. McAfee, Caleb Hobbs,
T. W. Love, D. O. McBrayer, George Quinn, A. S. Gardner, Thomas Wilson,
E. McBrayer, L. D. Webb, L N. Durham, John R. Logan, W. W. Green and
John A. Parker, the last seven serving as deacons at that time.
Female members were Eliza Webber, P. A. L. Williams, Cornelia
Putnam, Eliza Irvine, D. C. Roberts, Sarah Spake, Eliza Wells, Martha
Williams, Jane Bookout, Mary Lowery, F. A. Hoke, Sopia Wray, Ester S.
Robbs, Julia McBrayer, Susan P. Love, Susan Smith, E. J. Sullivan, Eliza-
beth White, Malinda Durham, N. V. Durham, Genelia Quinn, Eliza Webb,
Narcissa Beam, Sarah Durham, Fannie J. Durham, Jane Harrell.
Also, Charity Wilson, Emma Logan Herndon, E. Tidwell, Mary Dur-
ham, Jane Gladden, Mary R. Hobbs, Olive McBrayer, Harrill M. Jenkins,
Martha Ezeil, Elirabeth Rcbbs, Mary S. Mettagg, J A. Hawkins, E\a
Wilson, Roxannah Parker, A. L. Green, M. V. Parker, Mary Ann Wilson,
E. J. Blanton, S. A. E. Hopper, Emily C. Logan, Sally Hoke, A. E. Dickson
and Ida McAfee.
BROAD RIVER -KINGS MOUNTAIN ASSOCIATIONS
The church joined the Broad Ri\er Association in 1 S47 but changed
in 1 S56 to the Kings Mountain Association which had been formed five
years earlier. Associational harmony did not always prevail and the
Shelby church withdrew from the Association in 1 858. One of the dele-
gates told that the church had disregarded the advice of the Association
by inviting into her pulpit a minister of another denomination.
The difficulty between the Association and Shelby was afterwaras
adjudicated and settled by a council of brethren from several of the chur-
ches of the Broad River and Kings Mountain Associations. The council
decided the church had acted properly and in no wise departed from the
orthodox principles of the Gospel or principles of the Baptist denomination.
However, feelings ran high at the church and at its next conference the
prosecuting delegate was expelled from fellowship and the church applied
for a letter of dismission, obtained it, and rejoined the Broad River Assoc-
iation, believing, doubtless, that the church had been treated unbrotherly
by the Kings Mountain body. The church asked for readmission to the
Kings Mountain Association in 1871.
The Kings Mountain Association was formed in convention at Double
Springs Church on November 7, 1 851 by 13 churches which had been dis-
missed from Broad River Association. This association includes the historic
mountain peak where Col. Patrick Ferguson of the British Army encamped
enroute to Charlotte on October 7, 1780, believing the site to be of such
a defensive character that no foe could successfully assail him. He took
possession of the little hill, called it Kings Mountain and said "he was the
King, and that all the devils cut of hell could not dislodge him from a
fortress so impregnable." He was, however, surrounded and pelted from
every side of the mountain and it was here he lost his life and his entire
army and military stores were captured, the result contributing largely to
the cause of American independence.
One of Cleveland County's most beloved ministers, the Rev. John W.
Suttle, the "Little Preacher" as he was affectionately called, was Moder-
ator of the Kings Mountain Baptist Association for 40 years, longer than
any other person. Retiring in 1954 after more than 65 years as an active
Baptist minister, Rev. Suttle had pastored 37 Baptist churches in North
and South Carolina and for 28 years he had pastored from five to seven
churches at one time. On his 80th birthday he was pastor of five churches.
Rev. Suttle died July 27, 1 963, at the age of 91 and his widow, now age 91 ,
resides in Shelby.
The church's pastors were not alone in their ups and downs. In ear'y
years, they moved often because they were elected to serve only one year
at a time, a custom practiced until 1 5SC. After 1 SSC, pastors' terms were
One pastor was very strict in the rules of the church and refused to
waiver these rules for anyone. At the height of the turning out of members
for dancing, drinking or the like, he had incurred the ill will of many per-
sons, and knowingly, offered his resignation in church conference to take
place thirty days hence. However, feeling about him was running so high
that a member arose, mcde the motion to make his resignation effective
immediately. A second to the motion was received and the preacher sud-
denly realized that he had just preached his last sermon at Shelby's First
Another pastor, the Rev. J. D. Hufham, is said to have been attending
the Southern Baptist Convention in Washington, D. C. during his pastorate
(1894-96) when he became ill. He immediately summoned a friend end
asked to be taken back to Shelby to die because he knew if he died in
Shelby he would go to Heaven but he didn't know where he'd go if he died
Pastor A. J. Cansler, who was of German descent, was reprimanded
by the Kings Mountain Association because "like many of his ancestry he
indulged too freely in the luxuries of the pipe." His fellow Baptists thought
that ministers should be examples "for the greater the man, the greater
the precedent . . . and we KNOW that the excessive use of tobacco is
Rev. Cansler was either the first or second newspaper publisher in
Cleveland County, having started his Baptist denominational paper, "The
Carolina Intelligencer", in 1554, published at a time when Baptists were
having sharp differences on doctrinal matters. Another paper published in
1 854 was called "Rip's Pop Gun" and was published by Frank Harley who
was an itinerate printer who called himself Rip Van Winkle. Thf latter
paper had no local names or news and was suspended soon for lack of
funds. It has not been clearly established which of the two pcpe'S was
published first nor how long Rev. Cansler's publication lasted.
During the time of reconstruction and state of depression following
the end of the Civil War in 1 565, it is known that some ministers did
affiliate with the secret organization, the Ku Klux Klan, whose members
had resolved to defend themselves against intolerable burdens, degradation
by the Carpet-baggers and to mete out even-handed justice since they
felt they had been let down by their government. It was felt that the min-
isters and a great many good men identified themselves with t^e KKK
to restrain the young and imprudent boys from the perpetration of crime
against the people and government that now required their submission
and allegiance. It is known that Rev. Tom Dixon, for example, was z
chaplain in the KKK.
Immediately after the war, about 150 Union soldiers came to Shelby
and took possession of the court square, attempted to control the countv
elections and to appoint many of the county officers. They remained in
the county as late as 1 S72 and it was in that year that they succeeded in
breaking up the annual meeting of the Kings Mountain Association which
was in session at Bethlehem Church.
During a particularly trying period in the church's early years, a re-
vival was held with a Reverend Jordan serving as visiting minister. A
zealous man, Mr. Jordan gesticulated greatly and stomped mightily. One
night while stomping to illustrate a strong point, he was astonished to
have the floor fall through with him.
Another tumultous crash in the church came in the midst of a ser-
mon during World War I, on June 15, 1918, when nerves were on edge
among the congregation. At the height of the preacher's sermon, bricks
from the ceiling above came raining down and, mistaking the noise for a
bomb, a stampede resulted among those present. Close examination later
revealed that during the building period years before that time some
bricks had been left on the rafters and they finally gave way.
An early practice of the church which continued through the 1890s
found male members sitting on the left side of the church and female
members on the right side. Too, the big boys sat with their fathers while
girls and smaller members of the family sat with their mothers.
A prodigy professor and Kenan Professor of Geology at the University
of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Collier Cobb, was the son of the Rev.
Needham B. Cobb who past.ored First Baptist in 1870-72. While living
in Shelby and attending First Baptist, Collier Cobb founded a newspaper,
"The Shelby Home Journal" which he edited at age 9, writing all the
news, selling advertising and made the engravings by carving on wooden
blocks. He later produced a newspaper in Lincolnton and retired as a
publisher at the age of 1 4 to go into teaching.
After teaching at several North Carolina schools, he attended Wake
Forest, the University of North Carolina and entered Harvard in 1886.
He went to the University to teach in 1 892, serving 40 years on the faculty
there, and was honored on the 100th anniversary of his birth, March 21,
1962, by members of his family in Chapel Hill. One of the most prodig-
ious of the child prodigies, he was regarded with respect by his geologist
peers and revered by his students for his teaching, his wit and humor.
This former member died at age 72 in 1943.
In the year 1871, the sum of $405 was subscribed for the pastor's
annual salary, this amount raised to $457.60 in 1872. Early conferences
which dictated church policy were held on Saturday nights, later moved
to Friday nights and finally to Wednesday nights.
In January, 1872, it was recommended that each member pay 20
cents to state missions and it was ordered that a list be kept of those who
paid and those who did not. In April, 1872, each male member was
ordered to pay 50 cents to meet the present debt.
Early indebtednesses of the church would today be considered very
trivial sums but to early congregations these amounts loomed large. On
November 1, 1872, the church was indebted in the amount of $20.33 to
the following : D. N. Durham £r Co., for sundries, $1 ; W. A. Wray, $1 .55;
Webb & Jenkins, $5. 1 3; B. B. Babington & Son, $2, John Wilson (sexton'
$2; John L. Moore, $1.65; and W. W. Green, $1 . Cash on hand at the
same time was 1 5 cents'
Minutes of 1 875 record that at that time the church was in debt $600
for the pastor's salary and other church expenses and that to liquidate the
indebtedness the 69 male members would be assessed the amount it was
deemed they would be able to pay.
Preaching services were held once monthly until 1876 when two ser-
vices each month were scheduled, to be followed in 1884 by regular ser-
vice each Sunday, a custom which has been followed since. A morning
and an evening service on Sunday were first held in 1876. Because of
overflow crowds which taxed the seating capacity of the auditorium, two
morning services were initiated in the 1950s. These services were first
held during the summer months only but became a regular practice in
1967 under Dr. Joe McClain's ministry and the early service was cancel-
led after his resignation.
Early Sunday Schools began in 1864 under the leadership of G. M.
Webb, son of the first pastor, and were held in afternoon sessions at the
church, but "miracles were worked"
in 1903 when Sunday School was
changed to the morning hour with 283
persons responding to the time change
to mark the largest number ever to
attend the Sabbath School up until
this time. For a few years afterwards,
classes were held during the winter
months in the afternoons and during
warm weather were held in the morn-
ings. All classes have been held in
the mornings since 1912.
Only once has the normal routine
of Sunday School been interrupted at
First Baptist, and that being in August
of 1948 during a dreadful polio epi-
demic in the community when children
were barred from meeting places and
gatherings of any size During this
period of quarantine, lessons were
broadcast and a full program carried
out by radio.
Rev. G. M. Webb
Weather is mentioned several times throughout the minutes as being
"so bitterly cold" that only a small portion of the membership was present.
In the January 4, 1928 service, only 29 were present because of "bitter
cold," but only twice has a service been cancelled due to the weather.
During the building period in 1929 one service was cancelled on January
13 because of the "cold high school building" where meetings were being
held while the church was being remodeled. An 1 1-inch snow on January
1 7, 1965 caused services to be cancelled on that date.
A deep snow in December, 1935, kept all but 15 from the December
29 Sunday morning service and night services were cancelled. Records
say those who attended despite the deep snow were Zeno Wall, assistant
pastor H. C. Seefeldt, BTU director Wyan Washburn, assistant organist
Mrs. A. C. Dellinger, Mr. and Mrs. Jesse Bridges, Polly and Betty Bridges,
Loy Weaver, L. S. Cook, J. M. Greene, Kenneth Heffner, Mildred Harrell,
Mrs. Charles Washburn, Virginia Washburn and B. S. Greene.
Fifty persons were present for Sunday School and the morning service
on February 16, 1969 when the heaviest snow storm in half a century
struck this area, leaving 1 5 inches of snow. All classes met together and
were taught by Mrs. Roland Leath and afterwards the morning address
was delivered by Dr. Bruce Heilman, president of Meredith College. Dr.
and Mrs. Heilman were caught in the storm en route to Shelby and
slid down an embankment near Asheboro where they were delayed
even further, arriving in Shelby at 5 a.m. on Sunday.
The first converts in the church were baptised in outdoor streams,
but on July 16, 1871, Zulia Corbett had the unique distinction of being
the first person baptized in the newly-built indoor baptistry when "a large
and attentive congregation was present to witness it." Emma Eskridge,
daughter of Miller and Molly Beam Eskridge, was first to be baptized in
the new church on June 25, 1911.
Many of the older members of the church recall the days when
baptisms even in the indoor baptistries were not as comfortable as they
are today with modern heat. Water in the outdoor streams was expected
to be cold but once inside the church buildings the baptismal waters were
not as chilly. However, on many occasions in colder months such devices
as heated brick were used to warm the water and this method seemed to
suffice unless the list of converts was large.
It may be noted here that the first twenty-four and one-half years
of the church recorded slave and ex-slave members who occupied the
balcony section of the church. The three former slaves of Thomas Wil-
son were the last to leave the church and at the time they left they ex-
plained that they felt they could do more good and feel more at home in
a church of their own color.
The three were Mary, Harriett and Margaret Wilson. They left the
church on November 4, 1871, six years after the end of the Civil War.
Baptist churches played a part in helping the colored people estab-
lish their houses of worship, a committee having been appointed on color-
ed people by the Baptist State Convention in 1866 just after cessation of
the War Between the States and during the days of reconstruction. Com-
mittee members reported they regretted they could not perform their duty
more satisfactorily and resolved that each case must be decided on its own
merits; to aid them by kind counsels and through other means as far as
practicable; persuade ihem to secure for themselves the benefits of an
intelligent ministry; and that colored Sunday Schools be established wher-
ever it is practicable with the white brethren and sisters to aid in conduct-
ing and instructing in such Sunday schools if at all possible.
As the colored churches were established, Baptist ministers were ask-
ed to work among them, help educate them, distribute Bibles, and point
out clear and concise doctrines among them. The Broad River Association
history by J. R. Logan reads: "It is a commendable thing for the white
race to aid them (Negroes) in the establishment of schools of a high
order for the training of ministers to lead them from the sinks of super-
stition and fanaticisms which we are glad to see is being done. We hope
to see a continuance of the good work, and a corresponding improvement
of the colored race, until it will no longer be said that negro meetings
are nuisances. This will be soonest done by educating the negro race to
meet the requirements of the times."
In 1871, N. B. Cobb announced to the Broad River Association that
colored Baptists of Cleveland and Gaston counties had asked for aid to
organize a Missionary Association. Appointed to meet with them and
aid in such organization were N. B. Cobb, Thomas Dixon, L. C. Ezell,
J. R. Logan and T. H. Mullinax.
RESOLUTIONS TO DECEASED
It was a practice in early days of the church to enter into the confer-
ence minutes resolutions to departed members, especially those whose
personal participation and faith in the church had defined them as out-
One of the most prominent and dedicated early families of the church
was that of T. D. and Matilda Lattimore and their children: Dr. E. B. Latti-
more, Stough, Josh, Nelson and Tom Lattimore, Mrs. W. B. Nix and Mrs.
J. Y. I rvin. Stough, at age 1 8, met an accidental death by drowning and he
was held in such high esteem by all who knew him that an eulogy by E. Y.
Webb was recorded in the church minutes. A fine example of the author
waxing eloquent on the death of a popular member, the eulogy reads as
"Our beloved brother, Stough Lattimore, whose sad death occurred
on the 25th day of April, 1896, was born on September 6, 1877. He was
the son of our brother T. D. Lattimore and sister Matilda and on the day
of his death he was 1 8 years, 7 months and 1 9 days old; and though young
in years his heart was ripe and ready for the Reaper.
"On the 26th of April, 1891 he was baptized into this church, and
since that time he has lived a beautiful, consistent christian life; perform-
ing at all times for the church such duties as were placed upon him and al-
ways serving his Master by kind words, example, and in every way his good
heart prompted him to act. No eulogy at our hands is necessary to fix his
virtues in the hearts of those who knew him. His own honest, guileness life
wove itself into our heart-strings without any effort on his part - and when
his death was announced, all hearts who loved him . . . and all loved him
. . . were torn and lacerated and cast in gloom. We bless our Master for
the life of our dear young brother ... a young man who had no enemies,
against whom no one could say ought; everybody's friend and to whom
everybody was a friend.
"The distinctive element in his life and character . . . and they are
the noblest in the make-up of a man . . . were, unselfishness and fair-
ness utterly without guile and devoid of malice. The words malice and envy
did not appear anywhere in his lexicon of life. Unselfish! Yes; even to the
sacrifice of his own sweet life; a fitting close for such a life that he laid it
down to save his companion . . . greater love hath no man than this,
and as the cruel waters enveloped him for last sleep he triumphed in the
sacrifice even like the savior of men triumphed on Calvary:
Whether on the cross uplifted high
Or in the battles van
The fittest place for man to die
Is where he dies for man.
"It seems to us finite beings who grieve for him that such a genteel
sunshiny life should have had a less tragic close, but without murmuring,
we remember that God doeth all things well, and paraphrasing a stanza of
The Eternal Goodness, by Whittier, we have our feelings expressed:
We long for household voices gone
For vanished smiles we long
But God hath led our dear one on
And he can do no wrong.
"In the church, on the playground, everywhere he was one of nature's
young noblemen. With sympathies with the bereaved parents, he was their
son but our Stough. And though it was just five years from the time he was
buried in baptism to the time earth opened to receive him, it is a beautiful
and consoling thought to his mother and father, that they had such a
lovely flower to bloom on earth and so soon to be transplanted to adorn
the garden of Paradise; and when his playmates, friends and brethren and
sisters of this church shall, like him, sail to that shore whence no traveler
returneth, they will find our bright sunny smiling leaning over the battle-
ments of Heaven eagerly watching for their coming. Again we express our
gratitude that we had such a life in our midst - a life brief, but noble ended
only that he might join the choir invisible, who live again in lives made
better by their presence.
"In pulses stirred to generosity, in deeds of daring rectitude, in scorn
of miserable aims which ends in self."
Signed, E. Y. Webb.
A hint of mystery in the eulogy prompted some research which turned
up information that 73 years later the accident which took young Stough's
life is still vividly recalled by at least two Shelby residents. v
Miss Ollie Hamrick, who at age 94 is the oldest member of the church
and whose 78 years of membership has been matched only by the late
Dr. E. B. Lattimore, recalls that on that fateful day a group of young peo-
ple went to Stice's Shoals on a church picnic and she remembers waving
to them as they passed her house in buggies. Among the group, she recalls,
were her sister Beuna Hamrick (Mrs. Orlando Bostic) and her brother, B.
Olan Hamrick, Mamie Cabaniss, Lillian McQueen, E. B. and Josh Latti
Bloom Kendall, who was 93 in May, 1969, has even a clearer and
more concise recollection of the incident since it was he who pulled the
victim from the water 1 Mr. Kendall relates that four of the group were
fishing - Stough, Harry Sullivan, R H. Morrison and himself, and they got
into trouble as they fished around a rock and discovered a suckhole on one
side. Mial and Fairly Tiddy, brothers, were also on the picnic and it is gen-
erally believed that Mial had gotten into trouble around the rock and
Stough had attempted to help him when he stepped into the suckhole and
drowned. Mr. Kendall, lamenting "the sad occasion when we brought that
body home", said they worked with him for half an hour but were never
able to revive him.
It may be pointed out that, as in the picnic group mentioned, mem-
bers of all denominations gathered for social functions since the town was
small and all age groups were friends.
Shorter resolutions to the deceased were more typical, as in the one
adopted August 30, 1872, following the death of Thomas Wilson which
reads: "Whereas the Providence of Almighty God it has pleased Him to
take from among us our much beloved and highly esteemed Brother and
Deacon Thomas Wilson, one of the oldest and most consistent members of
our church. Therefore, resolyed that we do and must lament his loss by
our church and community, though we grieve not as those who have no
hope believing that he has been taken to a mansion prepared for him in the
church triumphant at the right hand of God, where pain and sorrow, suf-
fering or death can never more trouble."
It was the practice of the church to act as mediator between members
and even between churches and help settle their disputes before the days
of Recorder's or District courts. Therefore, it became the practice of the
church to turn out members for various reasons - among those being for
the use of profane language, dancing, idolatry, drinking, gambling, covet-
ousness, playing billiards, or missing three services without good reason
. . . " and the like as found in Galatians, 5th Chapter."
The last "turning out" was as late as regular church conference in
December, 1921 when a member was asked to leave the church for viola-
tion of the seventh commandment. In 1915, a woman v>as turned out be-
cause the conference found she "was out of fellowship with the church
and refused to affiliate with the church." A male member was turned out
for owning a pool table.
In 1870 the records show that one member asked for his letter be-
cause he "couldn't get along with another member of the church and re-
fused to associate with him." The church called the two together, helped
them patch up their differences and both remained in good standing. To be
reinstated after being turned out, the person had to ask forgiveness at a
church conference and admit he had been wrong.
Strict attendance rules were the order of the day and in 1872 it was
ordered that any member failing to attend the regular church conference
was to send his excuse or attend at the next conference and render it him-
self, and if he failed to attend the second time and render his excuse then
the church would send for him, and deal with him even to exclusion if
necessary. Any female member absenting or staying away from the public
worship for six months was liable to censure by the church and "sent for
to know the cause."
At the June 1, 1878 church conference, two questions were pre-
sented: Can a church compel its members to attend the conference on
a week day — and can a church compel its members to attend divine ser-
vices on Sunday? After some discussion, the answer was in the affirmative
and afterwards the clerk was required to call the roll of all male members
and make a report of all absentees.
To deter gossip and idle talk, the conference of December, 1872,
adopted the following: "That all matters of the business pertaining to the
church shall not be made public, or spoken of before the world lest sin-
ners should stumble over the infirmities of the Saints and the cause of
God be dishonored."
The temperance question had brought about some ill will among
Baptists during this era and caused tempers to flare. It was on February
2, 1881 that the following resolution was read and adopted:
"The Baptist Church numbering 202 members and the congregation
worshipping with said church desiring to promote the public welfare in
every legitimate way possible and being convinced that the use of alcohol
and drinks is the worst form of evil against which the gospel has to con-
tend now adopt the following —
"Resolved: first, that the prohibition or temperance movement has
nothing to do with party politics but that it is strictly a moral and religious
question. We as a church claim the right of petition and therefore re-
spectfully urge upon our Representatives in the present Legislature, Hon.
Jasper Stowe, Senator, and Hon. J. Y. Hamrick, representative of Cleve-
land County, to use their influence in securing the passage of a strictly
prohibitory liquor law for the state of N. C. without submitting it to the
popular vote, Resolved; second, that in case of failure to pass such a law
that the present prohibition for the town of Shelby be left unrepealed as
we greatly prefer local prohibition to no prohibition. Resolved: third, that
a copy of this proceeding be spread upon our church record book and that
copy be also sent both to our senator and representative with the earnest
prayer that they do all in their borders of our state."
In regular conference on September 29, 1909, the following resolu-
tion against dancing was, after prolonged discussion, adopted by a vote
of 79 for and five against; "Resolved, that inasmuch as dancing is re-
garded by the church as out of harmony with the teachings of the Scrip-
tures, and as opposed to the spirit of Christianity, and withal, as injurious
to the persons participating in it, and hurtful to the influence of the
church, any member who engages in dancing shall by that act forfeit
membership in this church." The resolution was "discussed and spoken
to" by C. A. Jenkins, Rev. C. J. Woodson, Brethern William Archer, A. H.
Webb, George L. English, M. N. Hamrick, H. D. Wilson, J. W. Hopper,
J. C. Beam, J. S. Wray and J. H. Quinn.
At a called conference on October 20, 1909 the pastor and deacons
offered the following resolutions which were adopted by the conference
after a lengthy discussion:
1 ) Resolved, that this church will expect each member to contribute
steadily to its support, according to his ability, as God has prospered him.
Failure to use a part of one's means to support the church will subject
the offender to discipline, but in the judgment of the church this resolu-
tion does not apply to persons who are unable to contribute.
2) Resolved, that this church will contribute steadily to the objects
of benevolence approved of, and supported by the Association to which
the church belongs.
3) Resolved, that the habitual use of intoxicating drinks as a bever-
age, and also the manufacture and sale of the same, for such a use are
contrary to Christian morality, and the person so using, making or selling,
are subject to the discipline of the church.
4) Resolved, that all members whose lives are so conspiciously world-
ly and whose conduct is so clearly unchristian or to bring reproach on the
(church) cause of Christ, and even to discredit their regeneration, shall
be subject to discipline of the church.
5) Resolved, that the church condemns with great emphasis the prac-
tice of members attending theatres or any place of low amusement so in-
consistent with a christian profession, that this resolution in no way shall
condemn lectures, musicals or any clean and uplifting entertainment.
6) Resolved, that any member who is found guilty of dishonesty,
gambling (whether by dice, cards, games of chance or otherwise) or fails
to make due efforts to meet his just debts, shall be subject to the discipline
of the church.
7) Resolved, that card playing involving money or prizes, such as
progressive euchre, and bridge or other games of cards played for gain,
shall be considered as gambling and such shall subject the offender to
the discipline of the church.
8) Resolved, that all members are earnestly requested not to provide
for, take part in, or by any means encourage card playing, even when
there are no stakes, but in all consistent ways to discourage the same, as
harmful to Godliness in their associations and tendancies.
9) Resolved, that any member found guilty of profane swearing shall
be subject to the discipline of the Church.
10) Resolved, that any member found guilty of immorality shall for-
feit membership, and be excluded as soon as proof is shown.
1 1 ) Resolved, that no member shall refuse to be on speaking terms
with any other member. That members feeling agrieved shall seek recon-
ciliation according to our Lord's instruction in Matthew 18: 15-17. That
in case of failure on the part of the offended member to pursue the course
laid down in the aforesaid Scripture the church shall take the necessary
steps towards reconciliation.
12) Resolved, that any member who habitually neglects the services
of the church, without just cause, shali be subject to discipline.
. In a special conference on November 29, 191 1, O. M. Mull offered
a resolution letting up somewhat on the severity of the rule regarding
dancing and his new resolution was adopted in a 23 to 2 vote that "any
member who engages in dancing shall be subject to the discipline of this
church." The former rule ordered anyone who engaged in dancing to
forfeit his membership.
Also adopted at the same conference was: "Resolved that in cases
of un-christian conduct, where we have no rule of discipline and the of-
fending member shall thereunder be subject to the discipline of the
church; and that all rules for discipline must be based upon the Bible."
The value of the church property in 1900 was listed at $7,000. The
total contributions in 1897 were $1,061 with the year 1900 a more af-
fluent year, apparently, since in that year the church gave $60 to foreign
missions and pledged $25 to the Baptist Orphanage. Church records in
1876 reveal that members were "canvassed" for missions after a goal
had been set for $50.
In regular conference on March 3, 1897 a system for raising money
for church expenses was adopted consisting of small printed slips on which
each member was requested to sign an agreement to pay a certain amount
each week. A committee appointed to circulate the slips and to secure the
amounts was composed of J. A. L. Wray, Dr. Victor McBrayer, C. M. Lat-
timore and E. Y. Webb.
On November 6, 1897 in a Wednesday night business session, it was
voted to devote certain months to raise pledges: November would be for
Orphanages; December, State Missions, February, Foreign Missions;
March, Home Missions; June, Education; and August, Ministerial Relief.
A resolution in church conference on September 1, 1897 resolved
that members of the church were not eligible for letters of dismission to
join another church until pledges for current expenses were met. Also, the
pastor, Rev. R. F. Tredway, entered a resolution stating: "God in his mercy
has set aside one day out of seven for man to rest and worship him. This
day is abused by the world and the church by Sunday driving, visiting,
neglect of worship and the running of Sunday excursions." He begged
his members to refrain from and be against these practices.
In July of 1902 the church found it necessary to erect a fence (strand
of wire) around the church yard in order to keep out stray cows and horses.
In that same year the first street lights were placed in front of the church.
It was not until the year 1916 that the streets in front of the church were
paved, this being accomplished during the term of Mayor T. W. Hamrick,
a jeweler, who led in the issuance of a $40,000 bond issue for further
paving of streets. Deacons recommended on May 11, 1927 that streets
on the south and east sides of the church be paved.
Curbing around the church had already been accomplished as early
as January, 1 S80 under a committee composed of J. C. Beam, A. Green
and D. B. F. Suttle. At a call meeting on August 30, 1908, it was decided
to pave the sidewalks of the church property as per agreement offered
by the town to pay half the expense.
The first church building, a wooden structure painted white with a
seating capacity of 200 and an additional 50 in the balcony, sufficed
for approximately forty years after which it was decided f o build a com-
pletely new edifice. This second building was completed in 1889 at a
total cost of $6,000. This building was not destined for long use, partially
because of extremely poor construction. It is noted in the records that the
windows did nor fit, the chimney did not draw properly and other construc-
tion details left much to be desired. Trouble concerning adequate heat
in the winter is mentioned often in the minutes with committees frequently
appointed to see that smoke is stopped or the heater inspected. Collec-
tions were often taken to heat the church.
By the year 1900 the second church building, barely 10 years old,
had become a real problem. Minutes of the July 4, 1900 conference
heard a committee report that with two more registers the church could
be made comfortable. On November 7, 1900 the conference decided "not
to repair the generator at present and use the lamp." Finally, on May 14,
1905 the committee on church building reported and recommended a
church to cost no less than $15,000 be built provided that amount of
money could be raised by subscription. Thus the momentum for a third
church building was begun although it was about five years later before
actual construction got underway.
The third building for First Baptist Church (renamed in 1908 from
Shelby Baptist Church) was erected in 1910-1 1. Both the church audi-
torium and the Sunday School wing were on the site of the present audi-
torium. A sliding panel was used to separate the two divisions and several
rooms in the basement were also utilized as Sunday School rooms. During
construction of this building, members worshipped in the auditorium of
the Shelby Graded School and the Court House.
The new building was voted on at a November 14, 1909 conference
when the following committee was appointed to solicit funds and serve
as a building committee: J. L. Webb, chairman; O. M. Mull, secretary;
E. Y.Webb, C. C. Blanton, George Blanton, M. N. Hamrick, L. S. Hamnck.
B. T. Falls, H. D. Wilson, Marion Putnam, J L. Suttle, A. H. Webb, J. J.
McMurry, M. A. Grigg, E. M. Beam, A. P. Weathers, J. T. Bowman, W. B.
Nix, T. D. Lattimore, J. H. Quinn, J. R. Dover, Rev. C. A. Jenkins, Paul
Webb and George R. English. An active sub-committee assisting in so-
liciting funds was headed by Miss Selma Webb.
In a church conference January 10, 1910, a resolution was adopted
to proceed with the building and announcement was made from the com-
mittee that $28,350 had been raised toward its construction.
Special timbers were required for construction of the present audi-
torium. The large overhead beams, sleepers and sills had to be cut from
Second Church building (1889-1910) showing first parsonage at left.
special trees that were extra large. These special trees were found and cut
from the land of C. C. Hamrick and sawed by J. A. Wilson.
First service held in the third church building was on June 25, 1911.
The church's tall spires, thin windows, soaring arches and buttresses give
it a Gothic air though architects quibble over whether it's French, Eng-
fish or Italian Gothic. The mighty church, however, has characteristics
of all three.
General contract for the building went to W. Lee Harbin of Lexington
for $25,885 and architects were Wheeler and Stern of Charlotte, who were
paid $1,250. Pews were purchased from American Seating Company of
Chicago at $2,200; heating, $1,300 from American Machine and Manu-
facturing Company of Charlotte; lighting, $477 from Home and Brannon
of Philadelphia; pipe organ from M. P. Moeller of Hagerstown, Md.,
plumbing, $100 from J. G. Dudley; carpeting, $600, from Parker-Gardner
of Charlotte. J. Gilmer Korner of Kernersville was awarded the contract
for decorating the church walls, parlor and pastor's study at $800.
Cost of this building was approximately $30,000 and the stained
glass windows in the auditorium were bought for $1,300 from George
Hardy Payne of Patterson, N. J.
The pipe organ was first used on September 6, 1911 and was installed
at a cost of $2,500 with Charles C. Blanton of Shelby and Andrew Car-
negie, a great promoter of learning and philanthropist of New York, each
paying one-half of the installation cost.
The first notice of ushers being elected was on June 30, 1909 when
the following were elected for two-year terms; Charles W. Washburn,
Logan McBrayer, S. A. McMurry, Fuller Hamrick, Dewitt Quinn, Ben
Suttle, Willie McBrayer and John Nix. S. A. McMurry was named chair-
man. Earlier minutes noted election of a chief usher only.
1928 BUILDING PROGRAM
The church outgrew the auditorium and educational equipment from
the 1910-11 construction and in 1928 another building program was
launched. A committee of 100 was named to proceed with building plans
for an educational building and remodeling of the church auditorium.
After Dr. Zeno Wall announced on January 1, 1928 that Charles C.
Blanton would chairman the building committee and Forest Eskridge
would head the building fund, he delivered a powerful sermon on "Going
J. A. Gardner & Co. of Charlotte was awarded the building contract at
$69,430 with the heating contract going to Charles W. Christian for
$3,444. Hugh White was the architect. Actual cost of the educational
building came to $84,167.74; equipment, $6,043; and cost of remodeling
and enlarging the auditorium, $42,801.33.
On Easter Sunday, March 31, 1929, the congregation began worship-
ping in the new buildings with 1,203 attending classes in the new educa-
tional building and Dr. Zeno Wall delivering his message "Christ's Resur-
rection Message" to an approximated audience of over 1,200 in the new
The church auditorium was expanded to 65 by 120 feet and was said
at the time to be the largest church auditorium on a single floor among
the Baptist churches of North Carolina.
On June 13, 1943, dedicatory services were held in the beautiful
church plant which had again undergone renovation and extensive redecor-
ation. Dr. Charles H. Durham preached the dedicatory service and at the
evening hour the fund note was burned. A revival the following week over
which Dr. Durham presided brought 40 additions to the church.
The church plant at this time represented a total cost of $225,000
and had the reputation of being one of the strongest and most progressive
churches in North Carolina.
In 1956 the church auditorium was air conditioned at the cost of
$22,000 and further remodeling and repair came to an additional
$74,718.50. This latest renovation included a new roof, baptistry and
paneling, wiring, carpet, furniture repair, air conditioning of offices, heat
change and plastering. The stained glass windows were repaired at another
cost of $2,500.
Because of the church's large auditorium, which has a seating ca-
pacity of around 1 ,050 with room for additional chairs, many special meet-
ings have been held here throughout the years. For many years the bacca-
laureate sermon for Shelby High School's graduating classes was delivered
NEW EDUCATIONAL BUILDING
Webb Chapel and the new educational building were dedicated on
October 25, 1953, with Dr. Zeno Wall bringing the message in a 3 p.m.
ceremony following the cornerstone laying. Others on the program were
the Rev, C. C. Crow and the Rev. John W. Suttle.
Webb Chapel is an example of true craftsmanship and has served the church for
small weddings, funerals and midweek prayer services. The chapel was a memorial
given by Mrs. O. Max Gardner and her family to her great-grandfather, Rev. J. M.
Webb, first pastor.
Mrs. O. Max Gardner and her four children, the late J W. Gardner
and family, Mrs. N. E. Burgess and family, Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Gardner,
Mr. and Mrs. 0. Max Gardner, Jr. and family, gave the sum of $25,000
for building Webb chapel which honors their illustrious ancestor who was
first pastor of the church. They also donated the electronic organ and
pews for the chapel.
Property on which the chapel and educational building stand was
acquired for $47,500 on September 12, 1949 by deed to First Baptist
Church recorded in Bool'. 6-F on page 397. Irregular in shape, it fronts
1 32 1 2 feet on Campbell Street and 1 88 3 4 feet on North Washington and
was known as the Wellmon property, a site formerly used by circuses and
travelling shows. This building accommodates an additional 800 people in
Sunday School and provides for a nursery, beginner and adult depart-
ments. On completion of this unit the church held adequate space for
2,100 people in Sunday School.
Overseeing the construction and planning for the new building were
Lee B. Weathers, chairman; 0. Max Gardner, Jr., secretary; O. M. Mull,
Wilbur Wilson, Worth Branton, Laura Cornwell, Max Washburn, V. W.
Breeze, C. M. King, A. A. Powell, Mrs. George Carpenter, Mrs. Rush
Stroup and Mrs. 0. Max Gardner, Sr. A goal of $300,000 was sought for
the project with Fields Young, Jr. serving as chairman; C. Rush Hamrick,
treasurer; Mary Sue Thompson, secretary; Lowery Austell and Pans Yel-
ton, associate chairmen.
In May, 1952, contracts were awarded A. A, Ramsey & Son at
$220,000 for the new unit; heating and plumbing, J. G. Dudley, Jr., Co.,
$28,764; electrical contract to Bronson Electric Co., $8,260.50.
"Debt Free in '53" become a reality when the church raised $37,000
on November 30, 1952 in a Sunday service to complete pledges and gifts
needed to pay for the building which was under construction.
In the period when the fund was begun in 1950 until the service just
mentioned, the church had raised enough money to pay for the new Leath
home at a cost of $22,000; the lot on which the new building was being
constructed for $47,500, and the new education plant itself at $280,000.
Not to be overlooked was the fact that the church budget of $1 06,000 wQj
unanimously adopted on the same Sunday when the final payment was
A few months later $25,000 was borrowed for furnishings, with a
special "Church Love Offering" on the morning of the dedication being
taken to pay for all but $5,000 of this amount.
The canllonic chimes were given by the Earle A. Hamrick family in
memory of Mr Hamnck's father, the Rev. G. P. Hamrick, a former
pastor, and Mrs. Hamrick. They were dedicated on November 1 1, 1945.
Among other of the many gifts of the Hamrick family have been the
silver communion service and the church bulletin board.
The lovely English made chandeliers in the sanctuary were given in
1953 by Spencer and Martha Eskndge Love (now Mrs. Nathan Ayers) in
memory of the latter's father, Charles L. Eskridge.
The painting "Christ in Gethsemane" on the north wall of the church
sanctuary to the right of the pulpit was given by Mr. and Mrs. 0. M. Mull
when the auditorium was last enlarged in April, 1943.
Seaton A. Washburn, who died in July, 1947, in his will left $500 to
the church which was matched by each of his sons, Charles, George and
Max Washburn. The resulting fund of $2,000 was loaned to worthy mini-
sterial students from Cleveland County and the church appointed John P.
Mull, Wilbur Wilson and F. O. Champion to administer the fund.
In January, 1935, Mrs. A. P. Weathers planted shrubbery around the
church in memory of her husband.
Need for a parsonage was early evident, but it was 1905 when the
first one was built north of the present auditorium where the church offices
and the primary department are now located. The parcel of land was
bought from C. C. Roberts for $750. Contract for building the parsonage
was $1,700 with outside work $126.80. Insurance and interest on the
building was $34.20 and the electric light fixtures were purchased for
The second parsonage was constructed at 405 West Marion Street in
1924 at a cost of $18,358 with the Reverend R. L. Lemons being its first
occupant. The lot was purchased a year earlier for the sum of $5,000. This
parsonage was sold in November, 1968 for $20,000 to Mrs. C. L. Southard
following the resignation of Dr. Joseph T. McClain as pastor.
The house for Roland Leath, educational director and later associate
pastor, was purchased February 21, 1950, the deed recorded in Book 6-H
at page 387. The lot fronts 100 feet on Worthington Street and is 195
feet deep and was purchased from Lowery Austell and Worth Branton at
$1 ,500. The residence was erected by A. A. Ramsey and Sons for approxi-
mately $17,500 with a room being added in 1956 at a cost of $2,200.
The Baptist Young Peoples Union (BYPU) was first organized in the
church in 1912 by E. A. Ruppe and fourteen years later, in August of 1928,
the first adult union was formed with Horace Easom organizer and John
A. Liles president.
Women deaconesses were first elected in 1921. Three men and two
women were elected each year for a total board of 1 5 members. Miss Selma
Webb, Mrs. G. P. Hamrick, Mrs. S. A. McMurry, Mrs. C. J. Woodson, Mrs.
C. A. Doggett, Mrs. Minnie Hull, Mrs. W. L. Packard, Mrs. M. A. Spangler,
Mrs. Robert Doggett, Mrs. Rush Stroup, Mrs. B. T. Falls, Miss Bertha Bos-
tick, Miss Kate Webb, Mrs. B. M. Jarrett, Mrs. Bea Suttle Morris, Miss
Laura Cornwell and Mrs. J. D. Eskridge were among those serving in
the few years before the practice was discontinued.
It was also in 1921 that the first library appropriation was made in
the amount of $500 with Miss Lucille Nix serving as first librarian. During
the pastorate of Dr. Harlan Harris (1948-54) the church library was
established and the Sunday School Board sent a librarian to Shelby to
teach a course in library science. The new library was dedicated Sunday,
June. 21, 1953. Previous to this time the different departments had books
and a librarian kept records of them.
Among those who have served as librarians have been Mrs. Howard
Rollins, Mrs. Robert Stone, Miss Selma Webb, Miss Aurthine Wells, Miss
Pat Hopper, Mrs. Edwin Spangler, Mrs. Fred Swift and Mrs. A. V. Nolan.
Women are first referred to in conference minutes in February, 1880
when three women were named to help solicit subscriptions for the pastor,
one of the three being Sue Love. Prior to this, the men of the church evi-
dently handled all business. Named to help with a reception at the same
conference were Sisters E. E. Brevard, Lizzie Love and M. M. Durham.
FIRST CHURCH WEDDING
The first white frame church building was the scene on May 28,
1851 of the first big church wedding with bridesmaids and groomsmen
in Shelby and, of course, created quite a bit of local interest among the
less than 400 townspeople. The ceremony united Susan Ann Love, daugh-
ter of James and Susan Ann Put-
nam Love, and Dr. William Perry
Andrews, Cleveland County's
first surgeon. The Rev. Wade Hill
was the officiating minister and
those who "stood up" with the
couple at the wedding included,
with their spouses, the following:
Jane Blanton, who married the
Rev. George Milton Webb; Betsy
Sallie Love, sister of the bride
who married Peter Alexander and
later Hosea Hallman; Anony-
mous Quinn, who married Ellen
Irvin; Harve D. K. Cabaniss, who
married Aurelia Otterson; Cath-
arine Andrews, sister of the
groom, who married Albert
Thompson of Rutherford County;
and James Andrews, brother of
the bridegroom, who married Ma-
ria Melton of Rutherford County.
The modern generation will
enjoy the names bestowed on the
Dr. and Mrs. Wm. P. Andrews
children of this marriage, namely, Salola McClintock, Quintina Quilliana
(who married Beck Quinn), Kansas Love (who married Judge James L.
Webb), Eulalia Veltasa (who married Travis Davenport), Samuel Osborne
(who married Emma Hamrick) , and Flabanica Anifesto Andrews, who
During Ku Klux Klan activities, Salola McClintock Andrews was ac-
cused of an act he denied doing but found it advisable to leave the state
and went to Arkansas where he died in 1 873. Dr. Andrews went to Arkan-
sas to bring back the body of his son and inter him in the Shelby cemetery
and while there he ate some pecans, the first he had ever seen. He brought
several of the nuts back with him and planted them in the yard of his
home on South Washington Street, where the D. W. Royster family re-
sides, and today two of the pecan trees still bear nuts and are huge trees.
Dr. Andrews continued his practice until a few years before his death
in 1903 but death from tuberculosis claimed Mrs. Andrews several years
CHURCH BUDGETS, MISSIONS
In 1923 the church adopted its first budget, $9,560 and in 1924 the
amount was increased to $1 1,060. By 1925 the budget was $13,790 and
in 1 926 it was more than doubled with an amount set at $30,000. The best
year financially for the church was the year 1967-68 when total gifts
reached $286,623.02 and total expenditures were $252,183, of which
$129,420 was for local expense and $122,763 for missions. A unified
budget was adopted in the fall of 1936 which cut out all special offerings.
Broken down by decades to show church enrollment, Sunday School
enrollment, and total contributions at First Baptist, it is also interesting to
note at the same time the population of Shelby and Cleveland County in
the same years. In 1880 church enrollment was 202 with Sunday School
1 70 and total contributions $1,585.76. The population of Shelby was 990;
Cleveland County, 16,574.
In 1900 - church enrollment was 338, Sunday School 235 and total
contributions, $1,691.10. Shelby had 1,394 residents, Cleveland County
In 1910 - church enrollment, 440; Sunday School, 316; and total
contributions, $14,129.06. Shelby had 3,127 residents and Cleveland
In 1920 - church membership had reached 702; Sunday School, 624,
and total contributions, $15,467.90. Shelby's population was 3,609, Cleve-
land County, 34,270.
In 1930 - church membership, 1,304; Sunday School, 1,407, total
contributions, $33,836. Shelby residents numbered 10,789, Cleveland
In 1940 - church membership, 2,117; Sunday School, 1,637; total
contributions, $41,132.06. Shelby residents numbered 14,037; Cleveland
In 1950 - church enrollment was 2,463; Sunday School, 1,797; total
contributions, $1 16,637.27. Shelby had 15,508 residents; Cleveland Coun-
ty, 64, 316.
In 1960 - church enrollment was 2,339; Sunday School, 2,225; total
contributions, $241,439. Shelby's population was 17,698; Cleveland
Total receipts for the 1967-68 church year amounted to $286,623.02
with $1 29,420 going to local expense and $122,763 to missions. The latest
Shelby interim census in 1965 showed a decline, 16,941, and the county
population grew to 69,372.
Seven Baptist colleges and universities, five orphanages, five homes
for the aging, five Assemblies and two hospitals are supported through the
Co-operative Program Fund. The two hospitals include Baptist Hospital in
Winston-Salem and the Southern Baptist Hospital in New Orleans, La.
Orphanages are the Baptist Orphanage in Winston-Salem, Greer Home in
Chapel Hill, Kennedy Home in Kinston, Odum Home in Pembroke, Wall
Home in Wallburg, and Mills Home in Thomasville. A First Baptist mem-
ber, the late Mrs. C. C. McMurry, Sr. was one of the first five children re-
ceived at Mills Home when it was founded in 1885.
The five homes for the aging include Rest Haven and Hayes Home in
Winston-Salem, the Albemarle Home, the Baptist Home in Yanceyville and
the Hamilton Home. The Baptist Assemblies include the Baptist Confer-
ence at Fruitland, North Carolina Baptist Assembly at Southport, Camp
Carraway RA Camp, Ridgecrest Assembly and the Glorietta, New Mexico
Educational units under the program include Gardner-Webb College,
Wake Forest University, Mars Hill College, Meredith College, Campbell
College, Chowan College and Wingate College.
All of the institutions listed were established through Cooperative
Funds but are for the most part self-supporting.
Mission money is divided by missions, educational and benevolent
causes sponsored by the Baptist State Convention and Southern Baptist
Convention. A breakdown in the past year's contributions shows the follow-
ing: $7,000 to special foreign mission projects (the Foreign Mission Board
suggests special projects from which the church may choose); $1,000
toward the salaries of seven (7) foreign missionaries for a total of $7,000;
Lottie Moon offering, $16,300; Cooperative Program, $47,400; Baptist
Hospital, $1,750; Baptist Orphanages, $2,350; American Bible Society,
$250; Gideons, $300; advanced fund (for various local church projects),
$1,500; Associational missions, $2,000; radio broadcasts, $1,850; person-
al ministries (aid to individual families), $2,750; Homes for the Aging,
$1,000; Gardner-Webb College, $14,000; Home Missions project (select
a church that is struggling in a pioneer area) , $2,000.
Missionary funds were first mentioned in 1819 at a session of the
Broad River Association when a public collection was taken for missionary
purposes. Elder Drury Dobbins was appointed by the body to preach a
missionary sermon before the body at its next meeting for the furtherance
of missionary objects.
A year-end report by church treasurer J. F. Ledford on December 31 ,
1927 offered the following statement: total receipts $13,044.73 with 390
having paid pledges in full; 150 paid pledges in part; 68 paid nothing on
pledge; 1 13 paid without pledge; 300 made no pledge and paid nothing!
Beginning June 1 1 and continuing through June 18, 1922, a program
of exercises was observed in celebration of the 75th anniversary of the
church. On Sunday, June 1 1 , an address by 0. Max Gardner was heard at
1 1 a.m. with the 8 p.m. address by Dr. W. D. Hubbard of Greensboro, Ala.;
June 12, church night with "The History of the Church" given by James
L. Webb and the sermon, "The Church in the Community and Association"
by the Rev. J. W. Suttle; June 13, Sunday School night featured "The
History of the Sunday School" by J. R. Dover.
Former Pastor's night was observed June 14 when J. H. Quinn recog-
nized "Our Former Pastors" and the sermon was delivered by the Rev. L.
W. Swope of Richmond, Va. June 15 was laymen's night with a man's
fellowship supper and talk on "The Departments of the Church" by B. T.
Falls and sermon, "The Layman's Opportunity" by Dr. W. R. Cullom of
Wake Forest; June 1 6, Missionary night with Mrs. S. A. McMurry speaking
on "The Work of Our Women" and the Rev. L. R. Pruett of Charlotte on
"Taking the South for Christ"; June 18, consecration day with Dr. Charles
E. Maddry of Raleigh speaking on "Our Present World Opportunity".
The First Baptist Church has always been interested in missions Miss
Attie Bostick (Mrs. T. J. League), G. P. Bostick and Wade Bostick, daugh-
ter and sons of Jane Suttle and Samuel E. Bostick, were members of the
Concord Baptist Church near Forest City during their youth but later
moved their membership to Shelby First. Together they served a total of
1 10 years as missionaries to China.
G. P. and Wade Bostick went to China as missionaries in 1900 and
remained in the Mission field for 43 years, G. P. Bostick having been bur-
ied in China. Mrs. Attie Bostick League, buried in her dark silk embroid-
ered Chinese robe and holding a well-worn Bible in her hands, died at age
89 on May 7, 1 965. She also went to China in 1 900 but, unlike her broth-
ers, was caught up in World War II and served her last two years in a
Japanese concentration camp in occupied China.
When she arrived in Shelby in December, 1943, after a 77-day trip
from China she said "I can't tell you how glad I am to be home but it was
very sad leaving the Chinese. If I could have continued my work with them
I wouldn't have come home."
After her internment in the Japanese camp, the Chinese people
sneaked food over the wall to her and after two years she was allowed to
come home on the Gripsholm, being one of the first released because of
her age, which was 68 at that time.
Her voyage home covered 21,880 miles over the 77-day period and
after crossing the equator four times. "Miss Attie" had read the Bible
through 91 times. She married T. J. League, a former missionary, at age
Miss Bertha Bostick (Mrs. W. C. Bostick) was the daughter of G. P.
Bostick and a long-time member of our church, having served as superin-
tendent of one of the junior departments for many years and church org-
amst for a short time. She was born in Shantung Province, China and
spent her childhood there. She died November 26, 1965.
A C. Dixon went out from the church to a dedicated ministry. Others
have been Roy Newton, Frank Garver, Charles H. Durham, Lewis Ear'e
Hancock, Rev. Douglas Eades, Albert Propst, Dr. Eugene Poston, Rev. L.
M. Kanipe, Joe Roberts, Rev. W. E. Williamson, Ma I lory McSwain, Wood-
row Wall, Rev. Z Miller Freeman Rev. Leon Hollingsworth and Alfred
More recently Miss Laura Cornwell served eight years as principal
of the elementary division of the Hawaii Baptist Academy, the church
dedicating the August 3, 1952 service to her as she prepared to leave
for her work. While there the Church gave approximately $10,000 to
the school which was used for books, visual aids, equipment and ad-
ditional building which aided in the school's becoming accredited. Miss
Flossie Grigg spent the 1957-58 school year with Miss Cornwell and
taught the first grade at her school.
Jim and Amanda Hardin spent two years in Hawaii as student mis-
sionaries, returning in 1968. They were the second couple to be appointed
to the US-2 program by the Home Mission Board, a program for college
graduates who are willing to serve two years on some mission field. Jim
is currently serving with the Army medics in Korea and Amanda returned
to Honolulu where she is doing laboratory work until he completes his
On November 30, 1958, Marion D. DuBose of Batesville Baptist
Church of Batesville, Indiana was ordained at First Baptist, the Rev.
DuBose's great-grandfather, the Rev. George M. Webb having been or-
dained in this church and his great-great-grandfather, the Rev. James M.
Webb, having served as first pastor.
FAMED DIXON FAMILY
The Rev. Amzi Clarence Dixon, a boyhood member of First Baptist
who became one of the greatest preachers of his time, and a son of the
Rev. Thomas Dixon, pastor of the church, was called to the pastorate of
a Baptist Church in Asheville During his ministry there he held a
revival in Clay County There was but one convert throughout the revival
but thar one was George W. Truetr.
Dr. Truett was one of the greatest Baptists of all times, having lived
most of his life in Texas although a native of Clay County. Credited with
saving Baylor University in its early days, he was pastor of First Baptist
Church of Dallas, Texas, largest Baptist church in the world; president of
the Southern Baptist and Texas Baptist Conventions and president of the
Baptist World Alliance.
In June, 1942, Dr. Truett held a revival in Shelby, preaching at
the church in the morning and to enormous crowds in the evenings at
the Armory. This was next to the last revival he ever held and at the fol-
lowing one, in Atlanta, he became ill and had to go home Thirty-one
persons were added to the church roll during his local revival.
Another of Rev. Tom Dixon's sons, Tom Dixon, Jr., was probably the
most colorful and dramatic individual Cleveland county has produced,
being a lawyer, preacher, actor, playwright, novelist and motion picture
producer. His first book, The Leopard Spots, was a tremendous success and
was followed by The Clansman which was produced on the stage and
screen as The Birth of a Nation in the first million-dollar movie ever pro-
duced. His books, stage plays and film brought him fame and fortune
throughout the country, although he died a pauper as the result of poor
Frank Dixon, third son of the Rev. Tom Dixon, was also a dynamic
preacher and one of the foremost lecturers of America. The two Dixon
daughters inherited the same gifts of writing and speech as their brothers.
Mrs. Addie Dixon Thacker having contributed to many religious publi-
cations and secular magazines while Mrs. Delia Dixon Carroll became
the first woman physician in North Carolina. Dr. Carroll was physician at
Meredith College for 35 years.
REVIVALS BRING ADDITIONS
A great many eminent Baptist preachers have filled the pulpit
through the years during revivals and special services. Among them
have been Dr. George W. Truett of First Baptist Church, Dallas Texas;
Dr. M. E. Dodd, First Baptist Church, Shreveport, La.; Dr. W. F. Powell,
First Baptist Church, Nashville, Tenn,; Dr. Duke McCall, president of
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary; Dr. L. P. Leavell, president of
New Orleans Baptist Seminary; Dr. Ralph Herring, First Baptist Church,
Winston-Salem; Dr. C. C. Warren, First Baptist Church, Charlotte; Dr.
Ellis Fuller, First Baptist Church, Atlanta, Ga.; Dr. Finley Gibson, Walnut
Street Baptist, Louisville, Ky.
Perhaps the most outstanding revival in the history of the church
was held during the depression days of. the 1930s. The church took a
religious census and held 161 cottage prayer services in various homes
of the community. These services in the homes were followed by a series
of revival services in the church with Dr. Zeno Wall, pastor, doing the
preaching and Horace Easom leading the singing assisted by three choirs.
Two hundred and seventeen (217) people united with the church during
this revival period.
In June, 1927, Dr. L. R. Scarborough held an open air revival and
during the two-week meeting, 81 ministers were recognized as visitors,
every church in the Kings Mountain Association cooperated and people
came from adjoining counties and Associations as far east as Raleigh and
as far west as Asheville. Seventy-four came for baptism and 43 by letter.
A free will offering of $756.50 was presented to Dr. Scarborough.
Evangelist Billy Sunday preached to an overflowing crowd at the
church in a visit in 1924. In 1936 and again in 1950 the church mem-
bership was inspired by the Rev. Chester Swor of Mississippi, a young
evangelist who had been crippled in youth by polio. In June, 1 937, ninety-
one (91 ) persons were added to the church roll during a revival led by
Dr. Finley Gibson.
DR. WALL CALLED
Stormy days subsided and the church has been united since the com-
ing in 1925 of Dr. Zeno Wall as pastor. Before coming to Shelby, Dr.
Wall received an anonymous letter warning him not to go to Shelby be-
cause the members of the church there ran off their ministers. The
average tenure of ministry before Dr. Wall's coming was three years with
the shortest term of any pastor being that of the Rev. J. A. White who
served from March 15, 1880 to August 6, 1880, less than five months.
When asked how he planned to bring the church membership back
together when he assumed the pastorate, after the church's not so har-
monious times, Dr. Wall is said to have casually replied "We will become
united through Christian love."
The church membership at the beginning of Dr. Wall's ministry in
1925 was 763. During his pastorate of twenty-two years there were 3,579
members added to the church roll. The biggest number of additions in
any one year was 254 in 1 932 which was a depression year.
Tent revivals were popular in this era and on one occasion Dr. Wall
and Rev. Rush Padgett conducted a highly successful three-week tent
revival beginning May 23, 1926 under a large tent on South LaFayette
Street. On June 13, the last night of the preaching series, "a special
prayer for rain was answered and bountiful crops resulted."
On Wednesday evening, December 17, 1947, Dr. Wall informed the
church he had been elected to the general superintendency of the N. G.
Baptist Orphanage and would move to Thomasville soon. Phrasing his
announcement, "The Lord is opening a new door for us and is saying
'enter,' " he told the prayer service congregation that he and Mrs. Wall
would come back in a few years, build a little home and retire in his
beloved Shelby. He preached his last sermon as pastor on Sunday, January
25, 1948, using as his subject "The Triumphant Christ."
Although Dr. Wall's long ministry of 22 years was fruitful and tl.e
church realized some of its greatest achievements, his successor, Harlan
Harris, probably initiated more programs of lasting emphasis on the con-
gregation in his five years as pastor than any other before or after him.
Extremely popular with the young people, he endeared many through
his Young Life Program which continues today and through which many
young people have been won to Christ. He also brought the first dedi-
cation service for small children to the church in December, 1948, with
nine children and their parents present for the first service. This service,
however, was discontinued after his ministry even though it had been well
received by young married couples.
It was also under the Rev. Harris' pastorate that the weekly Informer
was begun, deacons inaugurated their monthly visitation program (April,
1949), the church auditorium was redecorated, the first of weekly even-
ing broadcasts over WOHS-FM (September 4, 1949) was begun, the new
educational building was built and paid for, and a residence was built
for Roland Leath, educational and music director. The Fisherman's Club
was first organized during his ministry and a church library was estab-
Rev. Harris resigned November 30, 1953 to accept a call to First Bap-
tist Church of Plainview, Texas.
Dr and Mrs. Wall returned to Shelby in August, 1950 and it was on
September 16, 1951 that Dr. Wall was elected pastor emeritus of the
church, a post he held until his death on September 12, 1967. Dr. and
Mrs. Wall were honored in a special service by the church on November
Beginning October, 1958, the church paid Dr. Wall $100 each month
as pastor emeritus, presenting him first with a check for $600 which was
retroactive six months. On receipt of his check he immediately turned
over $60 as his tithe.
The North Carolina State Baptist Convention has met four times in
the church — in 1875, 1890, 1913 and 1929. The church has furnished
two presidents of the State Convention: Dr. Wall and the Rev. Needham
B. Cobb, who was eighth pastor of this church.
A few weeks prior to the November, 1929 State Baptist Convention
session in Shelby, a disastrous fire had completely destroyed the Cleve-
land Springs hotel where many of the delegates were to be assigned. Tall
columns of the famed hotel stand on the site east of Shelby today, con-
tinuing to remind Clevelanders of the resort which drew patrons from
many states to seek the healthful sulphur and lithia waters from springs
on the hotel grounds. Citizens of all denominations cooperated with the
Baptists by opening their homes to more than 500 of the 1,000 delegates
who attended while an improvised cafe was provided by the Woman's
Missionary Society of the church to augment the other eating places in
VACATION BIBLE SCHOOL
On completion of expanded facilities following the 1928-29 building
program, First Baptist conducted its first Vacation Bible School, a new
program not only for our church but a new program in this area.
The first Bible school enrolled 425 for a three-week session in the
summer of 1929, those participating coming from all denominations al-
though the program was designed primarily for this church. Defined as
"a happy time with spiritual interest that will cause the child to love the
church," today's Vacation Bible Schools continue to attract as many as
400 children with approximately 100 adult and youth workers directing
activities. Those participating in what is now an annual one-week session
include children from three-year old beginners to 14-year teenagers, al-
though records reveal that the Bible School's greatest appeal is among
the age eight and under. A typical day's program includes assembly in
the main sanctuary at 8:30 a.m. after which the children go to their de-
partments where lessons are done in their Bible workbooks, scripture is
memorized, character stories told, handicraft and creative projects are
Miss Ruth Moss, a graduate of Limestone College,, entered upon her
duties January 1, 1935, as church secretary to post church books and
enlist members to give regularly and systematically to the support of the
church, becoming the first to hold the newly created full-time position as
church secretary. Later married to C. B. Easterling, she is now private
secretary to I. D. Blumenthal of Radiator Specialty Company in Charlotte.
Succeeding Mrs. Easterling on December 5, 1939, was Miss Mabel
Ruth Harrell of Edenton, now Mrs. John Senterfitt, Jr. of Ocala, Fla. Mrs.
Senterfitt has been teaching high school English for the past few years.
Miss Beverly Clark (Mrs. O. V. Hamrick, Jr.) succeeded Miss Harrell
in September 1941, continuing in her duties through 1946.
Miss Mary Sue Thompson has served capably and efficiently as sec-
retary since 1 947.
The church sponsored a kindergarten beginning in the fall of 1958
and was directed by Miss Flossie Grigg with Mrs. Nora Cornwell Harris
assisting. The kindergarten continued for three years and Miss Laura
Cornwell joined Miss Grigg and Mrs. Harris for the third year of opera-
tion. Hours of the project were 8:30 to 11 :30 a.m., Mondays through
WORLD WAR II HEROES
During World War 1 1 ( 1 941 -45) many members of the First Baptist
Church and its congregation answered the call to patriotic duty and served
in all branches of the country's service. Nine of those heroes failed to re-
turn, giving their lives for their country.
In memory of the fallen nine heroes, the ginkgo trees planted on the
west side of the church serve as a constant reminder of their sacrifice.
These trees were planted in a dedicatory service on December 7, 1947.
Those who lost their lives were: Herbert Branton, George Loris Dover,
Grady E. Dover, Elvis Hamrick, Earl R. Hicks, Jr., Elmer Propst, Garnet
Tolbert, Hassell Wall and Earl Yarborough.
On Wednesday evening, June 7, 1944, the day after the Allies in-
vaded Normandy and France, our people came together at the hour of
prayer around 700 strong with President Hoyt Blackwell of Mars Hill Col-
lege delivering the message. The extraordinary thing about the attendance
was that the church membership understood the meeting would follow the
invasion and they came without prior notice or reminder.
It was recorded that "This was a mountain top experience in the
history of our church - one that we can never forget." At the time the
church had 252 members in the service and an effort was made to get
two at the hour of prayer for every serviceman away. The goal, therefore,
was 504 but over 700 came. Dr. Wall and Director of Education and Music
Horace Easom rejoiced over the evidence of concern.
Although 31 Cleveland County soldiers paid the supreme sacrifice
of the approximately 700 who served in World War I (1917-19), no mem-
ber of the church was a casualty. The casualty list for World War 1 1 in the
county numbered 192 out of 6,504 courageous men and women who
On Sunday, May 26, 1946 the church paid tribute to the 340 mem-
bers of the church who answered the call to the colors during World War
II. Special services were conducted by the pastor, Dr. Zeno Wall, whose
topic was "A Grateful Man" and a special tribute was given to the nine who
paid the supreme sacrifice. All service men and their families were invited
to a reception given by the church on Friday evening, June 7, 1 946 in their
A Union Memorial Service for those who lost their lives in World
Wars I and II was held in the church on Sunday evening, November 19,
1946 under sponsorship of the Legion Auxiliary. All churches in the com-
It was a practice of the church during World War II to fete service-
men who were in town over the weekend at Sunday dinner at one of the
local eating places.
At the time of this printing there had been no casualties among
church members in the Korean or Vietnam conflicts.
Cleveland County furnished 2,035 troops when the county population
was only 12,384 during the Civil War, 1861-65, these troops comprising
14 companies and 18 Captains.
Among the Confederate soldiers who were members of First Baptist
Church at some time were W. S. Alexander, Capt. J. D. Andrews, William
Archer, T. Kennedy Barnett, J. Calvin Beam, Capt. W. Posey Beam, S. E.
Bostic, William Cabaniss, Marcus L. Carroll, Capt. William S. Corbett,
William Dellinger, Cpl. Minor W. Doggett, Cpl. L. N. Durham, R. J. Dur-
ham, R. S. Durham, Harrison Eskridge, Lt. J. Zemri Falls, Capt. Oliver P.
Gardner, J. Mack Gillespie r Marshall Newton Hamrick, Sidney Hamrick,
Thomas Hamrick, Phillip Hoke, Major Jesse Jenkins, J. H. Kendrick, Lt.
Thomas D. Lattimore, Lt. Ben F. Logan, T. M. Love, William P. Love, Sgt.
Robert B. McBrayer, G. R. Moore, L. A. Parker, Wiley S. Pruett, J. Randall,
Noah Ross, Adam Spake, Charles Beattie Suttle, D. B. F. Suttle, Lt. Dobb
D. Suttle, John W. Sullivan, David C. Webb, Lorenzo Dow Webb, John S.
Wray, J. Alexander Wray, William A. Wray, George W. Young. All were
privates except where rank was indicated.
SPANISH AMERICAN VETERANS
Cleveland County also furnished more than 100 men in the Spanish
American war of 1898, most of these serving in Company G, First North
Carolina Volunteers. Those who served from our church included Col. J.
T. Gardner, Hugh Logan, Thomas W. Mettagg and Upton S. Alexander.
The First Baptist Church sponsored the Shelby Female College which,
according to the history of the Kings Mountain Association, was being
erected in 1878 and followed the Roberts Female Seminary conceived in
1863 during Rev. Tillman Gaines' pastorate (1863-64). Largely through
the efforts of Dr. W. A. Nelson, pastor from 1880-1883, with the coope-
ration of Elder R. D. Mallary, who served as the college's president for
several years, the school got off to a good beginning. Minutes of the Kings
Mountain Association in 1882 announced that "the Shelby Baptist Church
had a first-class female college in operation." The college was under the
management of Elder R. D. Mallary. Mallary succeeded Dr. Nelson as
church pastor in 1883 and later was president of Shorter College of Rome,
Because of the financial burden of supporting the college, the in-
stitution was not destined to last long and in 1885 Associational minutes
record that the "Shelby Church and other churches and individuals have
supported the female college for three years and now the committee asks
that the Association adopt it as their own daughter." Rev. Mallary re-
signed in 1887 and the college was not mentioned in the reports of the
Association after 1888.
As early as 1874 the Association asked for greater interest in educa-
tion and the following schools were listed as in operation: one in Shelby
"that is in every way worthy of your patron, Elder W. W. Gwin, principal;
secondly, Bridges' Academy, which asks a liberal share of your patronage;
thirdly, Burnt Chimneys, which calls for her share." Also, the Association
asked all efforts to endow Wake Forest College, noting: "Rushing students
into the pulpit unprepared for the work is the leading cause of errors being
made by our ministers. It is an obstacle which impeded the progress of
Still earlier, in 1867, the Broad River Association had asked churches
to raise a permanent endowment for Furman University to educate young
men for the ministry. The Logan history reads: "Our Baptist people with-
in the bounds of the Broad River Association had, at that time, only be-
gan to appreciate the advantages and blessings resulting from ministerial
education. Indeed a great number of the old fathers held that human
learning acquired at Theological schools was not at all necessary in the
qualification of a minister of the Gospel."
The N. C. Baptists opened their own female university at Raleigh, the
Baptist Female University, in September, 1899, changing the name to the
Baptist University for Women in 1905 and to Meredith College in 1909.
The church has a history of aid to Boiling Springs High School, later
Boiling Springs College and now Gardner-Webb College. The School had
its beginning at the 1903 Kings Mountain Association meeting although
the ground - breaking ceremony at the school site was not until early in
the spring of 1907. In July, 1907, J. D. Huggins was chosen principal of
the school and authorized to select a faculty.
In a resolution adopted October 18, 1908, members of First Baptist
were asked to assume separately and individually such financial assistance
as each may have felt to Boiling Springs High School. The church itself
had been asked previously to assist financially but the latter resolution was
In March, 1921, the church agreed to pay the amount of $10 per
member to Boiling Springs High School to meet incidental expenses of the
school and throughout the years the church paid tuitions of deserving
ministerial students to attend the school.
Dr. Zeno Wall, at the Association meeting in 1926, recommended
that the school become a junior college in the scholastic year 1927-28, it
having become evident that the school could not compete with the tax-
supported state high school system. The fall of 1929 saw the school open
for the first time with one grade above the high school level.
The beginning, then, of Boiling Springs Junior College and the Great
Depression were simultaneous. Economy became a necessity and churches
were asked to include the fledgling college in their budgets. One church
went beyond that call when First Baptist of Shelby allowed its pastor, Dr.
Wall, to also serve as the college's president following the resignation early
in 1930 of James B. Davis. Dr. Wall accepted the presidency on May 5,
1930 and continued in his dual role as pastor-president until March, 1932
. . . occupying his college position without pay.
Contributions were made regularly to the school from its beginning by
the Kings Mountain, Sandy Run and Gaston Associations, the latter until
1931. However, when the college sought accreditation from the North
Carolina Department of Public Instruction through the N. C. College Con-
ference, the news was that a lot of money would be needed. The trustees
managed to hurdle financial barriers in many critical periods during the de-
pression and it was not until 1941 that big plans were laid to raise money.
They turned to Horace Easom, director of religious education and music
at First Baptist and it was through his meticulous, calculating planning
that the college was able to get on its feet.
Easom turned to First Baptist members and recruited Mai Spongier to
help him in a $1 00,000 campaign with A. W. McMurry to act as chairman
of the steering committee and C. Rush Hamrick to be his associate chair-
man. Early in the summer of 1942, following an earlier gift of $1,000,
former Governor O. Max Gardner gave the college a gift of $10,000 to
make available 25 scholarships to young men and women in the area -
and it was then that he began to pour his money and devote his energies
and time along with others to guide and strengthen the college. June 15,
1942, the college name was changed to Gardner- Webb College, honoring
the name of its benefactor and his wife, Mrs. Fay Webb Gardner, and their
An ambitious campaign was launched in the fall of 1943 with Horace
Easom and Mai Spongier again elected co-chairmen, except this time they
chose Mrs. Rush Stroup to serve with them. Guy H. Roberts was named
secretary and treasurer of what was known as the Memorial Fund En-
largement Campaign, an effort that was to eventually raise $750,000.
First Baptist came into the picture strong on May 5, 1947 when the
deacons recommended that the church raise $50,000 to be divided equally
between Gardner-Webb and Wake Forest. This offering was received on
In 1947 the Baptist State Convention accepted Gardner-Webb into
the Baptist family of colleges - on condition that a $250,000 endowment
fund be realized. Again, through the talents of Horace Easom and Ben C.
Fisher, the fund was subscribed and President Phil Elliott was able to
announce to the convention in November, 1947 that the one-quarter mil-
lion dollars for endowment, plus the three-quarters of a million to be
spent on the college plant had been raised.
The college then became the responsibility of the N. C. State Baptist
Convention, passing from the Kings Mountain and Sandy Run Associations
to the Convention which would thereafter allot a portion of its educational
funds to the support of the college and would approve its trustees. The
property - the buildings, equipment and campus - continue to be owned
jointly by the two Associations.
First Baptist went to bat again for the local college in 1959-60 when
a fund-raising campaign for $550,000 was undertaken with Paris Yelton
serving as general chairman and O. Max Gardner, Jr., honorary chairman.
Young Gardner at the time was confined to bed with multiple sclerosis, a
disease which was to claim his life shortly afterwards (Nov. 10, 1961 ).
R. Patrick Spongier has served as national general chairman of the
"Decade of Advance to Assure the Extra Dimension" initiated in 1964 to
raise $1,125,000. To date $2,722,954.76 has been raised. Others from our
church who took leadership areas in the campaign were: Robert R. Forney,
national leadership gifts chairman; Hoyt Bailey, area co-chairman; C Rush
Hamrick, Jr., Howard Rollins and J. L. Suttle, Jr., special gifts; Lloyd Bost,
First Baptist members have been generous in their gifts for the erec-
tion of buildings and today the campus is dotted with edifices bearing
their names. From the Gardner family have come the James Webb Gard-
ner Memorial Dormitory (known as Decker Hall), the Webb Administra-
tion Building and the O. hAax Gardner Memorial Fine Arts Building. Stroup
Dormitory is a gift of Mrs. Rush Stroup; the John R. Dover Memorial Li-
brary, a gift of the families of the late industrialist; the Charles I. Dover
campus center named in honor of Charles I. Dover; Bost Physical Education
Building and swimming pool in honor of L. C. Bost and in memory of
Jean Bost Gardner, from the family of L. C. Bost; the Ernest W. Spangler
Memorial Stadium in memory of E. W. Soangler and in honor of Mrs.
Verna Patrick Spangler by R. Patrick and Earl Spangler; the S. A. Wash-
burn building which was first used as a library; the S. S. Royster Memorial
Hospital, gift of the families of Ralph and D. W. Royster; the V. F. Ham-
rick field house in memory of L. S. Hamrick and in honor of V. F. Hamrick.
Also, the Lutz-Yelton Hall, made possible by the families of Mr. and
Mrs. J. Ray Lutz, Mr. and Mrs. Paris Yelton, Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Lutz,
Mr. and Mrs. F. O. Champion. Mr. and Mrs. Robert H. Lutz, Mr. and Mrs.
Ray Webb Lutz, Mr. and Mrs. H. Joe Hamrick, Mr. and Mrs. Jack L. Lutz,
Dr. and Mrs. Richard F. Bowling, Robert W. Yelton, Charles W. Mauney,
Mr. and Mrs. Gary H. Roberts, Mr. and Mrs. H. Vincent Carpenter, Don
L. Yelton, Mr. and Mrs. William D. Lutz, Mr. and Mrs. J. P. Henderson
and hAr. and Mrs. W. A. Pernell.
Other gifts include the Suttle Tennis Courts, donated by Mr. and Mrs
J. L. Suttle, Jr.; the Chemistry lecture room by Mr. and Mrs. Earl Mea-
cham; College Post Office by Jack Ramsey in memory of his father, A. A.
Ramsey; Dr. and Mrs. Charles G. Lampley, Jr., naming of a faculty office;
endowed scholarships by the D. W. Royster family, by Thomas Hamrick
and Roland Hamrick, Jr., and the George Blanton family.
Completed in 1968 on the new entrance to the campus was
the Suttle-Wall Tower, a memorial to Dr. Zeno Wall and Joseph Linton
Suttle, given by Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Suttle, Jr. and Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Lutz.
On Christian Education day each year at the church, members may
designate their special offerings to any other college under the Cooperative
program but the remainder goes to Gardner- Webb. The 1968 special of-
fering was $14,000 to the local college.
Gardner-Webb begins its third academic year in the fall of '69 and
the first graduates of the four-year institution will receive degrees in
Gardner-Webb's board of trustees and board of advisors voted unani-
mously in a joint session in May, 1969 to enter a capital fund campaign
early in the year 1970 to put over a successful four-year program.
Dr. Eugene Poston, a former member of First Baptist, was named
president of Gardner-Webb in 1961 after having served for two years as
head of the college's Department of Religion. Graduate of Shelby High
School, he is also a graduate, of Gardner-Webb and Wake Forest Univer-
sity and his post-graduate study included his bachelor's, master's and
doctorate degrees in theology from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
Before going into college work Dr. Poston served in pastorates in
Kentucky, Georgia and North Carolina between the years 1943 and 1958
and taught in the seminary extension program in Wilmington for two
years while serving as pastor of Wallace Baptist Church. Active in the
Scouting program since age 12, he attained the Eagle rank and has serv-
ed as a Scoutmaster, in the adult leadership program and is currently
director of church relations in the Piedmont Scout Council. Also, in
addition to planning and directing the God and Country Awards program
he conducts the summer chaplain program at Schiele Boy Scout Reserva-
Among those from our. church who have served on the Gardner-Webb
board of trustees include: Lloyd C. Bost, Mrs. C. Robert Doggett, Charles
I. Dover, J. R. Dover, Jr., Horace Easom, James L. Eskridge, B. T. Falls,
J. D. Fitz, Rev. Z. Miiler Freeman, J. W. Gardner, Honorable O. Max
Gardner, Mrs. O. Max Gardner, O. Max Gardner, Jr., Ralph W. Gardner,
A. V. Hamrick, C. Rush Hamrick, Earle A. Hamrick, Julian W. Hamrick,
Dr. T. G. Hamrick, J. Ollie Harris, Maurice Hendrick, L. S. Hamrick, S. H.
Hamrick, Rev. C. A. Jenkins, A. W. McMurry, R. L. Weathers, A. C.
Lovelace, Wyan Washburn.
Also, W. Hill Hudson, J. Y. Irvin, Rev. John E. Lawrence, Mrs. S. A.
McMurry, O. M. Mull, Dr. Hubert S. Plaster, Aaron B. Quinn, J. H. Quinn,
Guy H. Roberts, Howard Rollins, D. W. Royster, Mai A. Spongier, R. Pat-
rick Spangler, Mrs. Rush Stroup, J. L. Suttle, Jr., Mrs. John Wacaster, Dr.
Zeno Wall, George Washburn, Lee B. Weathers, Judge E. Y. Webb, Miss
Selma Webb, Mrs. Paris L. Yelton and Carlos Young.
First of the Baptist Colleges was Wake Forest Institute before it
became Wake Forest College and then University. The school dates back
to August 28, 1832 when the Convention purchased 615 acres of land
for $2,000 in the little town of Wake Forest, chosen for its central location
and general convenience to all Baptists over the state. Samuel Wait be-
came its first president when classes began in 1834 and since that date it
has been the dignified liberal arts, law, medical and religious school of
the Baptists. The campus was moved to Winston-Salem after the Z. Smith
Reynolds Foundation offered in 1946 the sum of $350,000 annually in
income and perpetuity to the college, this amount increased in 1955 to
$500,000 annually. The first session on the new campus was the summer
session of June, 1 956 and the first regular fall session followed on Septem-
ber 1 1, 1956. The Reynolds family has given several challenge gifts and
other gifts since.
O. M. Mull, Sunday School superintendent at First Baptist for many
years, teacher of the O. M. Mull Bible Class from 1934 for more than 20
years, and one of the church stalwarts
for more than 50 years, played a drama-
tic role in the establishment of the Bow-
man Gray School of Medicine at Wake
Forest and the University's subsequent
move from Wake Forest to Winston-Sal-
em. A portrait of Mull, who graduated
Magna Cum Laude from Wake Forest in
1902 and received his L.L.B. in 1903,
hangs in the Bowman Gray School of
While serving in the state legislature
in 1937, Mull was appointed a member of
the committee to investigate and report
on the advisability of the state establish-
ing a four-year, degree granting medical
school. At that time the state was emerg-
ing from the financial depression and pan-
ic of the early 1930s and state officials
advised it was not practical for the state
to finance a state medical school at that
O. M. Mull time.
Mull requested the committee to give him a month to find funds for
the school and it was then he contacted Robert M. Haynes of Winston-
Salem who suggested the Bowman Gray Foundation be contacted. Foun-
dation trustees were impressed but stipulated the medical school must
be located in Winston-Salem, a point the legislative committee turned
down in favor of locating the facility in Chapel Hill. Mull then turned
to Dr Thurmon Kitchen. Wake Forest president, and Dr. C. C. Carpenter,
dean of its medical school, and in a conference on August 2, 1939
between the three and James A. Gray, Bowman Gray, Jr. and Gordon
Gray it was arranged that financial resources of the Bowman Gray Foun-
dation would be made available for the Wake Forest Medical School which
would be moved to Winston-Salem and expanded into a four-year medical
school. The medical school moved and began operation in Winston-Salem
Mull then led the way for obtaining a part or all of the income from
the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation for Wake Forest College, the income
at that time going to the Health Department of the State. The Baptist
State Convention meeting in Greensboro in July, 1946 approved the
Foundation support and move to Winston-Salem. Mull was elected chair-
man of the planning and building committee which oversaw the initial
erection of 14 buildings, costing more than $20 million. An O. M. Mull
research scholarship is given by the Reynolds family.
In early days churches recommended members to branches of higher
learning, particularly those who wanted to enter the ministry. A typical
recommendation came during a prayer meeting at First Baptist on August
9, 1905 when T. F. Limerick asked for a recommendation to the Educa-
tional Board of Wake Forest College. Granted, O. M. Mull, J. H. Quinn
and C. C. Roberts were appointed to draft the recommendation and it was
submitted and approved at the August 23 meeting as follows: "This certi-
fies that brother Frank Limerick is a member of the Shelby Baptist Church
in good standing and held by us in high esteem, and believing him to have
been called of God to the work of the gospel ministry we hereby give him
our entire and cordial approbation in the improvement of his gifts by
preaching the gospel as providence may afford him an opportunity, pray-
ing the great head of the church to endow him with all needful grace and
crown his labors with abundant success." On entering Wake Forest, Lim-
erick changed to law and served as a judge until his death.
As a matter of interest, it may be noted here that Shelby's first
college graduates, known as the "Four Horsemen", were all members
of First Baptist Church. They were George Blanton, banker and industrial-
ist; Rev. Charles Durham, distinguished Baptist minister; E. Y. Webb,
Congressman and Federal Judge; and Dr. E. B. Lattimore, physician, all
members of the 1893 graduating class at Wake Forest College.
Several members of First Baptist have served on boards of trustees
of the various Baptist Schools in addition to Gardner-Webb. Those who
have served on the Wake Forest board include: Jesse Jenkins, 1874-
1889; E. Y. Webb, 1897-1946; C. Rush Hamrick,1941 -45 and 1961-64;
O. M. Mull, 1942-43, 1946-49, 1953-56, 1958-61; Horace Easom,
1947-50; Dr. John Hamrick, 1951-54 and 1967-70; Mrs. Rush Stroup,
1954-57; O. V. Hamrick, January to November, 1960; and Mrs. Earl
Four have served on the Mars Hill board of trustees, namely M. W.
Hamrick, 1917-23; H. Fields Young, 1928-36; Mrs. Rush Stroup,
1936-48; Rev. John Lawrence, 1960-64.
Serving on the Meredith College board have been: O. Max Gardner,
Jr., 1946-50; and Henry B. Edwards, 1937-40 and 1942-45. _
H. Fields Young, Jr. is serving a six-year term, 1964-70, on the
board of Wingate College and Carlos Young is a member of the board,
1967-72, of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary.
Among those who have served on the board of Baptist Hospital in
Winston-Salem were Dr. Zeno Wall, 1923-31; O. hAax Gardner, 1926;
0. M. Mull, 1939-44; and C. Rush Hamrick, 1945-59.
Between June 15-22, 1947, First Baptist celebrated its 100th anni-
versary with a "Religious Festival" when church membership showed more
than 2,500; Sunday School enrollment was 1,600; Training Union enroll-
ment, 350; WMU, about 600; and offerings over the previous year,
A centennial celebration committee appointed by Dr. Wall included
W. L. Angel, chairman of the board of deacons; O. M. Mull, chairman of
the finance committee; George Blanton, chairman of the board of trustees;
Mrs. Fred Swift, president of WMU; and Judge E. Y. Webb, grandson of
the first pastor of the church.
An attractive program numbering 24 pages outlined the centennial
celebration and contained many pictures of church officials and organi-
zations. Program personalities included Dr. Ellis A. Fuller, president of the
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary; Mrs. J. M. Dawson of Washington,
D. C; Dr. M. T. Rankin, secretary of the Foreign Mission Board; Dr. J.
B. Lawrence, secretary of the Home Mission Board; Dr. W. F. Powell,
pastor of First Baptist Church of Nashville, Tenn.; Dr. Louie D. Newton,
pastor of Druid Hills Baptist Church of Atlanta and president of the South-
ern Baptist Convention; Dr. Duke K. McCall, secretary of the Southern
Baptist Convention; Dr. Charles H. Durham, Baptist leader and former
member; and Dr. Sankey L. Blanton, dean of the School of Religion of
Wake Forest University.
BULLETINS - MICROFILMING
The church news bulletin, The Informer, was first sent to every family
in the church on February 24, 1949, and has been published weekly since
Many valuable minutes, early church rolls, biographies of pastors
and various other articles of the church relating information up to 1963
were microfilmed in October, 1963 and placed in the information center
at Dover Memorial Library at Gardner-Webb College. This central infor-
mation center is for persons seeking historical information about the Kings
Mountain Baptist Association and its 70 churches as well as serving a
valuable service to churches for safekeeping of their valuable records.
The Biblical Recorder was the only religious paper in the South that
continued publication during the Civil War and now continues to speak
for Southern Baptists. Editor during the Civil War was J. D. Hufham, who
later became pastor of this church.
Founded June 29, 1835, The Recorder was first edited by Thomas
Meredith, for whom Meredith College is named. The pamphlet has been
a constant source of religious refreshment to the Baptists of North Caro-
In February, 1969, the church voted to send The Recorder to each
family, college student and to each serviceman.
A First Baptist pastor, Rev. T. R. Gaines, had the distinction of
editing the first church paper published in North Carolina in 1865. En-
titled "The Baptist Church and Sunday School Messenger", the pamphlet,
published monthly, was devoted to the Baptist cause and Sabbath School
interests but lasted only six months for lack of patronage.
In 1881 a committee from the Kings Mountain Association recom-
mended the Biblical Recorder as the medium best calculated to defend the
Baptist faith and practices as a denomination and requested that the Re-
corder be placed with every family in the Association.
On January 15, 1964, Rev. John Lawrence presented a request from
the Cleveland Association of Governmental Officials (CAGO) in which
this local body sought to apply for funds from the North Carolina Fund to
establish a program of experimentation in improving conditions of the less
fortunate citizens of this area. This was one of the first anti-poverty
agencies in the state and a forerunner of other federal anti-poverty pro-
grams to be implemented in the county. The request for endorsement of
this program was approved.
Rev. Lawrence also reported that the Human Relations Council, of
which he was chairman, was arranging an integrated worship service for
the evening of February 9, 1964, Race Relations Sunday throughout
America, and that the Cleveland County Ministerial Association had voted
the worship service be held that night. The First Baptist auditorium was
offered for the service, which was to become the first annual Community
Worship Service in which all denominations participated. Dr. F. Eppling
Reinartz, president of the Lutheran Theological Seminary in Columbia,
S. C, was guest minister. The meeting was fully integrated with one lay-
man estimating the audience was 65 percent white and 35 percent Negro.
Feeling a definite need for church membership training, the consti-
tution and bylaws were changed in April, 1964. Those coming upon pro-
fession of faith as candidates for baptism are required to attend four
classes in which they will be instructed in the doctrines of the church and
informed as to the various organizational and stewardship opportunities.
Those coming from a church of another denomination, if that denomina-
tion practices a form of baptism other than immersion, are requested to
attend the classes and instructions and on completion will be approved
for membership and immersion. If immersion is practiced or if the person
comes from a Baptist Church in the Southern Baptist Convention, he will
be invited to attend the classes and will be received or baptised as the
case renders itself. Those coming from a Baptist Church not affiliated
with the Southern Baptist Convention or those coming for reinstatement
are requested to attend the four classes and instruction.
In addition to carrying on extension work at the local hospital and at
the county home before it was closed in 1967, First Baptist has aided in
the organization of many new churches. Among these are Second Baptist,
Highland, King's Chapel (now Churchill Drive), Westview, Calvary and
The church gave $5,007.43 to Elizabeth Baptist Church after it was
burned in December, 1954 and has given to many other churches, among
them, in addition to those already mentioned, being Ramseur Baptist
Church, Ellis Memorial Baptist, Pleasant Ridge, Putnam Memorial, Light
Oak, Midview Baptist, Washington Baptist, Macedonia Baptist, Fruitland,
Mull's Chapel, and others.
The church had purchased on March 1 1, 1901 for the sum of $75 a
lot located "in the Southwest square of the town of Shelby" from Shelby
Cotton Mill on which a Baptist Chapel was erected. When the Second
Baptist Church organization was underway the First Baptist Church on
October 14, 1908 offered to lease the chapel for the term of one year and
church members were invited to participate in the organization of the
Second Baptist on Sunday, October 18, 1908. On February, 1909, First
Baptist voted that the chapel building be donated to the new church,
granting permission to move it to the new site selected by the church. On
April 21, 1909 the church instructed T. D. Lattimore, M. N. Hamrick and
J. S. Wray, deacons, to sell to Shelby Cotton Mill for the sum of $75 the
vacant lot from which the chapel had been moved.
With a history for helping others, minutes show that in May, 1927,
the church sent several boxes of clothing and supplies to flood sufferers in
the Mississippi valley and the following month sent two more boxes and
$90. White Christmas is an annual event and many indigent families in
the community benefit from this effort to collect food.
In 1954, deacons voted to have two deacons visit the sick and two
visit new members each month. At the same time, they raised the monthly
pay to Baptist orphanages to $100 monthly and brought the welfare fund
up to $100 per month.
Although the church had practiced many years ago keeping its mem-
bership roll active, the custom had not been followed for some time until
January 1 1, 1956 when 133 names were stricken from the roll of non-
resident members who had not attended in five years. This practice con-
tinues today when the list is reviewed once a year in accordance with the
Of the 32 ministers who have served as pastors of First Baptist
Church, many had followed other occupations prior to becoming servants
of the Lord. Church records reveal that their diversified occupations had
included legislators, educators, teachers, newspaper editors and publishers,
clerk of court, lawyer, college presidents, farmers, missionaries and ath-
letes. Only one bachelor pastor has ever been called by the church; one
other had been a Catholic priest and was a German by birth.
J. M. Webb 1847-1849
M. C. Barnette 1850, 1866-1870
Wade Hill 1851, 1860, 1872-75
A. J. Cansler 1853-1856
Thomas Dixon 1857-1859
E. A. Crawley 1861-63, 1864-65
T. R. Gaines
Needham B. Cobb
A. L. Stough
J. A. White
W. A. Nelson
R. D. Mallary 1883,
W. B. Bussey
W. H. Strickland
J. M. McManaway
G. P. Hamrick
J. L. Sproles 1892-1894
J. D. Hufham 1894-1896
R. F. Tredway 1897 1902
W. D. Hubbard 1903-1904
M. E. Parrish 1904-1908
C. A. Jenkins 1908-191 1
1863-1864 L. W. Swope 1912-1916
1870-1872 Lee M. White 1917-1918
1875-1879 J. Marcus Kester 1919-1922
1880 Robert L. Lemons 1923-1925
1880-1883 Zeno Wall 1925-1948
1885, 1887 Harlan Harris 1948-1953
1884-1885 John E. Lawrence 1954-1964
1885-1887 Forrest Feezor- Interim 1 964-1 965
1887-1890 Joseph T. McClain 1965-1968
1890-1892 Gene L. Watterson 1969-
Fourteen of the pastors were natives of North Carolina, five of South
Carolina, two of Virginia, two of Alabama and one each from Georgia,
West Virginia, Tennessee, Mississippi, Missouri, Oregon, England, Ger-
many and Oklahoma.
REV. C. O. GREENE
First Baptist congregations have come to love the Rev. C. 0. Greene
as he has served as supply pastor in the pulpit many times, more recently
since the resignation of Dr. Joe McClain in October, 1968 until his suc-
cessor was named. Rev. Greene has served as Superintendent of Missions
in the Kings Mountain Association for nearly 10 years and prior to his
present position was pastor for four years of Stough Memorial Baptist
Church (named for former pastor, A. L. Stough) in Pineville; seven years
as pastor of Gary Baptist Church; and held pastorates in Cleveland County
at New Bethel, Double Shoals and Lawndale Baptist Churches.
50 and 60-YEAR MEMBERSHIPS
Many in today's congregations hold long-time memberships in the
church. Among those with 60 or more years as members are Miss Ollie
Hamrick (who heads the list with 78 years), Mrs. E. B. Lattimore, Mrs.
Paul Webb, Mrs. Mayme Wray Webb, Mrs. Nelson Lattimore, Miss Agnes
McBrayer, V. F. Hamrick, Mrs. George Blanton, Sr., Mrs. Zeb Mauney,
Miss Ruby McBrayer, Mrs. Dewitt Quinn, Mrs. Pansy B. Fetzer, Mrs. Olan
Hamrick, Miss Lottie May Hendrick, A. V. Hamrick, Miss Lucille Nix, Mrs.
Grady Lovelace, George Washburn, Mrs. D. W. Royster, Harry Woodson,
Miss Flossie Grigg, Mrs. Charles Eskridge, Sr., Mrs. Maggie Alexander
and Miss Mary Nelson Moore.
Among those whose memberships span 50 years are Mrs. J. W. Bran-
ton, Mrs. P. F. Grigg, Mrs. Rush Hamrick, Sr., Cline Hendrick, Mrs. Fred
Costner, Willis McMurry, Mrs. O. V. Hamrick, Sr., Perry Sellers, Miss Lucy
Hamrick, Hackett Wilson, Miss Avie Weathers, Mrs. Tom Moore, Miss
Bessie McBrayer, Mrs. Helen Casstevens, Tilden Falls, Mrs. C. Oren Ham-
rick, Mrs. Hubbard Hamrick, Mrs. Maurice Weathers, J. G. Dudley, Jr.,
Mrs. Jap Suttle, Mrs. Cecil Gilliatt, Mrs. Gerald Morgan, Mrs. Charles
Austell, Miss Laura Cornwell, Mrs. A. V. Nolan, Mrs. Paul Hawkins,
Mrs. Clyde Moore, Mrs. A. H. Morgan, Carlos Hopper, Alton Hopper, Mrs.
George Carpenter, Ben Ely Hendrick, Mrs. Earl Meacham, J. Ray Lutz, Mrs.
Hopson Austell, Lloyd Lutz, Holly Eskridge, Mrs. Eva Newman, Earle A.
Hamrick, Mrs. Earle A. Hamrick, C. Oren Hamrick, Mrs. Penry Owen, B.
F. Spangler, Mrs. Plato Grigg.
Also, Mrs. W. B. Metcalf, Mrs. Clarence Newman, Mrs. J. M. Hall,
Mrs. Erma Grayson, Miss Ruth Mundy, R. Hubbard Hamrick, Mrs. J. W.
Suttle, Tom Moore, Mrs. Lloyd Lutz, Mrs. Worth Branton, Charles R.
Eskridge and Mrs. Jean Thompson.
During the pastorate of Dr. Zeno Wall the practice of church suppers
was begun and has continued. It was Dr. Wall's belief that "good fellow-
ship always prevailed around a table" and he often remarked that he
rejoiced with his "flock" at the Sunday and Wednesday evening suppers.
Sunday suppers were discontinued in 1966 but Wednesday suppers con-
tinue to be held from September through May, or during the school
months. Five women have served as church hostesses, namely Mrs. Raye
(L. J.) Baley, Mrs. Grady Lovelace, Mrs. B. M. Jarrett, Mrs. Plato Grigg
and Mrs. L. P. Williams.
Beginning with the first pastor, Rev. James Milton Webb, who serv-
ed as a Representative in the N. C. General Assembly, First Baptist has
furnished many statesmen and politicians. James L. Webb was a district
solicitor for 12 years, superior court judge for 36 years and state senator
1883-85 and 1887-89. E. Y. Webb was a member of the N. C. Senate,
1900, U. S. Congressman for 17 years and Federal judge for 28 years;
Odus M. Mull served six regular and two special terms between 1907
and 1941 in the N. C. House of Representatives and was Speaker of the
House in 1 941 ; O. Max Gardner was a State Senator, 1910-16 and Presi-
dent pro tern in 1915, Lieutenant Governor, 1916-20, Governor of North
Carolina, 1928-32, and appointed by President Harry Truman to be the
U.S. representative at the Court of St. James although he died February
6, 1947, a few hours before he was to sail for London; B. T. Falls, mem-
ber of the N. C. House of Representatives, 1924-28; Lee B. Weathers,
N. C. Senator, 1943-51; Henry B. Edwards, N. C. House of Representa-
tives, 1931-32; Ralph W. Gardner, N. C. Senate, 1939-41; C. C. Horn,
N. C. House, 1945-46; B. T. Falls, Jr., six terms in the N. C. House
between 1943 and 1957, Superior Court solicitor, 1957-65, and appointed
Superior Court judge in July, 1965.
Many members and former members of First Baptist have been tap-
ped for community honors. When Van H. Ramsey, the church's minister
of music, was named recipient of the Distinguished Service Award by the
Shelby Jaycees for outstanding service rendered during the year 1968, he
became the eighteenth member of the church to receive that honor out
of the total 28 recipients. Others have been L. J. (Bill) Baley, Jr., '43;
C. Rush Hamrick, Jr., '47; Walter Fanning, '48; Carlos Young, '49; John
Ed Davis, '51; Harlan Harris, '52; J. L. Wilkie, '53; J. A. West, '54;
Charles Heath, '57; Max Butler, '58; F. DeLane Davis, '59; Dr. Robert
Litton, '60; Ronald Hawkins, '61; Ronald Austell, '62; Jim Horn, '64;
Roddey Eaves, '65; John Brock, '66.
Of the thirty-three men honored by the Shelby Lions Club as "Citi-
zens of The Year," nineteen have been members of the church. They are:
Harry Woodson, '37; Lee B. Weathers, '38; O. M. Mull, '40; Dr. T. B.
Mitchell, '42; O. Max Gardner, '43; J. R. Dover, Jr., '45; J' Lowery Aus-
tell, '48; Cecil L. Gilliatt, '52; Dr. H. S. Plaster, '53; Mai A. Spongier, Sr.,
'57; Harold Love, '59; Lloyd C. Bost, '60; Horace Easom, '61; R. Patrick
Spangler, '63; J. L. Suttle, Jr., '64; Dr. Avery W. McMurry, '66; Hoyt
Q. Bailey, '67; C. Rush Hamrick, Jr., '68, and Earl W. Spangler, '69.
"Shelby's Woman of the Year" Honors awarded by the Shelby Busi-
ness and Professional Women's Club have been bestowed on twelve mem-
bers out of a total of twenty-one recipients: Miss Selma Webb, '48; Mrs.
Cecil Gilliatt, '51; Mrs. George M. Carpenter, '52; Mrs. Rush Stroup, '54;
Mrs. L. W. Short, '55; Mrs. E. V. Moore, '56; Mrs. B. M. Jarrett, '60;
Mrs. O. N\ax Gardner, Sr., '61; Mrs. Griffin P. Smith, '62; Mrs. C. Rush
Hamrick, Jr., '63; Mrs. Roy Propst, '66; and Mrs. Harold W. Causby, '68.
In 1965 the Shelby Business and Professional Woman's Club began
awarding the "Young Career Woman of the Year," this honor going to
Miss Ann Yarborough in 1967.
Pastor John Lawrence went to Paraguay, South America to work with
the Evangelistic Crusade in October, 1959 and the Rev. Roland Leath,
who was ordained by Dr. Forrest C. Feezor on December 16, 1964, parti-
cipated in a simultaneous revival crusade in September, 1963, in Conti-
nental Europe on invitation of the Foregn Mission Board.
LATEST LAND PURCHASES
On July 20, 1964, by deed recorded in Book 10-0 on page 486, the
First Baptist Church acquired for the sum of $18,000 a tract of land
fronting 50!/2 feet on North Washington Street and 1 10 feet on Sumter
Street on which had been located the Shelby Creamery. Later, on Janu-
ary 1, 1968, the church acquired the Clyde Short property fronting 64.75
feet on Sumter Street and 64.8 feet on Dale Street, the church now owning
the entire block on which the facilities are located, plus the parking lot on
Sumter and North LaFayette. The Short property was purchased for the
sum of $60,000.
Two lots on North LaFayette Street just north of West Sumter Street
were acquired by the church on March 18, 1960 for $62,500 and are re-
corded in Book 8-R on page 457, Book 8-R on page 485, and Book 8-R
on page 461. The property fronts 125 feet on North LaFayette Street
and 130 feet on West Sumter Street. Originally acquired for a youth
building, the lot was later paved and metered in co-operation with the
city, which made capital improvements of around $7,000. This indebted-
ness is to be retired monthly by revenue from the parking meters,, the
lease to run 15 years with a provision of its being terminated by either
party by a 60 days notification in writing. At the end of 1 5 years the
church would own the improvement and meters.
Plans for a youth activities building to be located on the site of the
Short property at an estimated cost of $51 5,000 were presented in August,
1968, but were suspended two months later. C. L. Vaughn Associates was
paid $9,075 for the plans.
In all, eight parcels of land have been bought for the church. All
deeds are recorded in the office of the Register of Deeds office in the
Court House annex.
BAPTISTS DATE BACK TO 1727
The first Baptist church ever "planted" in North Carolina was organ-
ized in Chowan in 1727; the second in 1743; and the third in 1755, ac-
cording to the Kings Mountain Association history. The Baptists could
do little in this state until after American independence and by 1784,
only 42 churches had been established with 3,200 members and 47 min-
isters. Records of 1877 boasted of 1,442 churches, 793 ministers and
over 1 37,000 members.
The first Baptist church to be organized in what is now Cleveland
County was Sandy Run at Mooresboro, established in 1788, secondly,
Zion Baptist Church in 1816; and Zoar Baptist which was formed in
At the time of publication (summer, 1969), the First Baptist Church
with 2,225 members ranked sixth in size among the 3,456 Baptist churches
in North Carolina, falling in place behind Greensboro First, Charlotte First,
Asheville First, Green Street in High Point and Prichard Memorial in Char-
lotte. The number of Baptists in this state has reached 1,007,194 and is
the third largest state in the Southern Baptist Convention. Shelby's First
Baptist ranks second in Foreign Missions; fifth in Training Unon; fourth
in Sunday School attendance; and first in Brotherhood.
Unprecedented changes and innovations have been witnessed by the
First Baptist Church congregations in the past few years and even the
past few months as astronauts walk in space and succeed in landing on the
moon . . . indeed, a far cry from the days of 1847 when our 25 valiant
pioneers kindled a spiritual flame that has shared its warmth with people
of this area and with those of remote lands through the mission field.
From this vantage peak of our 122nd anniversary, we behold a progres-
sive panorama of achievements and exploits which has enriched the lives
of all . . . but it is from the peak also that the need for Christian character
and righteousness of life may be re-emphasized, not only as we review
the past, but as we consider the future.
On the reverse side of a dollar bill at the apex of the pyramid in the
seal is a Latin inscription which means "He (God) has favored our under-
takings." Just as that was what the founders of this nation believed and
affirmed, it is also our affirmation as we read through the aged and fad-
ing pages of the history of this church.
For sure, the First Baptist Church's reputation for being one of the
state's mightiest churches remains secure and unchallenged.
Auditorium of the second church before it was completely finished on Christmas
Eve, 1889 at wedding of William Hackett Blanton and Delia Hamrick, parents of
Mrs. Pansy Blanton Fetzer. The church was overflowing for the elaborate wedding,
first to take place in the church and at which Rev. f. M. McManaway presided. A
reception followed at the Commercial Hotel. Members of the wedding party were
(not all pictured): Addie Lynch (Mrs. Will Dameron) , Dora Hamrick (Mrs. W. H.
lennings), Ollie McBrayer (Mrs. S. S. Royster), lulia Wilson (Mrs. |. D. Andrews),
Fannie Wray (Mrs. fohn Hudson). Hattie Kendrick, Kitty Andrews, Emma Suttle,
Clco Gardner (Mrs. Tom Robinson), Hattie Lattimore (Mrs. W. B. Nix); H. De-
catur Wibon. W. C. Corbett, S. S. Rovster. J. F. Ware. C. C. Gidnev, Hill Blanton,
lames Wilson, Dr. I. A. Harrill. W. B. Wray, B. E. Hamrick.
' t/r t
Miss Ollie Hamrick has the
longest membership at First
Baptist Church, 78 years, and is
the church's oldest member at
■** »^*- 1
Three sisters and three brothers have attained 50-year memberships at First Baptist.
Seated are, left to right: Mrs. Clyde Moore, Mrs. Carl Newman and Mrs. C. Rush
Hamrick. Standing: R. Hubbard Hamrick, A. V. Hamrick and V. F. Hamrick.
>> J- * (D
J " CO .« , - N
. CD <5 s-h to tU
j» J M-< CO
S u c • S
+- 1 ° £ ra
CO .h O i
X 03 . CO • CO .2
The church has always furnished both a theme and a patron for
music and First Baptist Church has a right to be humbly proud of this
queen of the Arts which has inspired its congregations through the years.
Good sacred music has enriched the worship of this church through its
expanding years to the point that it is now tradition — a reputation that
has come about through dedicated, consecrated musicians.
Because several of the ministers of music have also served in the
dual capacity of directors of religious education, these two departments
are combined in the church history.
Paid directors of music began in the year 1912 and since that date,
ten persons have dedicated their talents in that position.
E. A. (Ezra) Ruppe served the church as minister of music during
two periods - October 15, 1912, for 11 months, and August 25, 1920 for
one year. It may be noted here that the church ordered Ruppe licensed
to preach on September 8, 1920.
Harry M. Pippin served as the second minister of music, beginning
on August 24, 1924 and serving until October 1, 1927, the church being
without a paid director from September, 1913 until August of 1920.
J. O. Reynolds, who also served as assistant pastor, directed the
music from November 20, 1927 until May, 1928.
Horace Easom, director of religious education and minister of music,
served from August 5, 1928 to September 1, 1934 and again from August
1, 1936 to June 1, 1947.
Harold C. Seefeldt was music director from November, 1934 until
the spring of 1 936.
Mr. and Mrs. Joe D. Hamrick came to the church in July, 1947 and
directed the program of music until December, 1949.
Roland M. Leath served as educational director and music director
from January 1, 1950 until January, 1966. Mr. Leath served as director
of all the choirs and the Male Chorus until 1961 when Miss Carole Pear-
son, youth director, became director of the Girls' Ensemble and Mrs.
Blake McWhirter took over the junior choir.
John Bascom Ward came to the church on January 23, 1966 and
served until October 27, 1966 as music director.
Van H. Ramsey joined the church staff as minister of music in Jan-
uary, 1967 and continues in that role today.
Only one person has served solely as director of religious education
and that was Miss Lucille Welch, whose short term began January 5, 1 949
and continued until August 18, 1949. Harlan Harris, who assumed his
duties as assistant pastor and educational director in January, 1948,
continued until April 4, 1948 when he became pastor, succeeding Dr.
Zeno Wall who had resigned to become superintendent of the Baptist
Children's Home in Thomasville.
MRS. H. S. PLASTER, Organist
In one of the longest and most dedicated periods of service in the
history of First Baptist Church, Mrs. Hubert S. Plaster has been at the
organ to help the church attain the heights in the musical realm where
it stands at present. C. Rush Hamrick, chairman of the music committee,
recommended Mrs. Plaster, then Miss Ruth Howie, for church organist
on February 16, 1927 and she has served since that date with exception of
a period in the early 1 940's when she suffered an attack of pernicious
anemia. She has been one of the all-time greats as an accompanist and
Mrs. H. S. Plaster . . . organist for 42 years.
musician and has gained the respect and admiration of all who know and
work with her.
Dr. Zeno Wall, under whose ministry she has served the longest,
said of Mrs. Plaster "She was the outstanding organist in my 50 years in
the ministry" and he referred constantly to her faithfulness and to her
wonderful Christian spirit.
In a special "Queen For a Night" program on February 25, 1965
when her church associates and friends tributed her service, Dr. Eugene
Poston, president of Gardner-Webb College where she was an organ
instructor, noted that her influence is not only felt locally, but around the
world since some of her college students who have studied under her in
the music department there are now serving in places throughout the
world. Mr. Leath praised her excellence of musicianship, "surpassed only
by her marvelous spirit of cooperation and understanding."
Reared in Abbeville, S. C, Mrs. Plaster was the oldest daughter in
a family of seven children, one of whom was Thomas Dry Howie, the
famed "Major of St. Lo" in World War II. She began piano lessons at
eight years of age and remembers her first triumph when she learned to
play "A Little Ray of Sunshine." Playing the piano for church services at
age 10, by age 14 she played the pipe organ in tine new church there
before she had had formal organ training. Later she studied under Dr.
Orlando Mansfield at Brenau College Conservatory in Gainesville, Go.,
completing work for a Bachelor's degree in pipe organ and piano, after
which she did graduate work in pubic school music and piano at the
University of Wisconsin and later took education courses at the University
of North Carolina and at Catawba College.
After teaching elementary school and piano in Abbeville for a period,
Mrs. Plaster came to Shelby on invitation to teach here by Superintendent
I. C. Griffin whom she had met at Chapel Hill. Arriving in 1925, she was
music teacher for the city system in addition to teaching at South Shelby
elementary school for four years and at LaFayette School for four and
She and Dr. Plaster, a dentist, were married in 1927, Dr. Plaster a
musician in his own right, being a violinist and a member of the church
choir. Their only daughter, Vicki, has a lovely soprano voice and sang with
the church choir until her schooling interrupted. Vicki, now Mrs. Leland
David Whitelock, Jr., graduated from the University of Maryland School
of Medicine and after interning at the Public Health Hospital in Balti-
more, joined the private practice of an older physician in Norfolk, Va..
where she continues her practice at present. Her husband, also a doctor,
is head of the Department of Opthamology in Public Health Hospital in
Norfolk. They are parents of three daughters, Elizabeth, Lilliann Plaster
and Susan Ruth.
In addition to playing for regular church services and functions, Mrs.
Plaster has provided music for hundreds of weddings and funerals during
her 42-year tenure at First Baptist. She taught organ at Gardner-Webb
from 1953 until 1966, on which she commented: "College teaching is
the mosf rewarding thing I have ever done. It's such a joy to be able to
guide a person in the exciting adventure of music."
Remaining with Mrs. Plaster is her mother's precept that musical
talent is a gift from God. No one will argue that she has wrapped her
gift in charm and dignity and shared it with all who would partake.
Serving as church organists prior to Mrs. Plaster were Mrs. W. B. Nix,
first to be mentioned in available church records; in rapid succession Mrs.
W. L. Carroll, Miss Cora Barnett and Mrs. R. F. Tredway; Mrs. H. T.
Hudson, who was the first to perform at the pipe organ on September 6,
191 1; Mrs. J. L. Suttle; Mrs. Lee M. White; Mrs. Dewitt Quinn, who was
choir director and organist at a salary of $10 per month; Miss Bertha
Bostick; Miss Mary Helen Lattimore (now Mrs. Heath Pemberton); Miss
Mary Adelaide Roberts (Mrs. Charles Austell); Miss Eugenia Holland
(Mrs. Charles Wall, Jr.) ; Mrs. A. Pitt Beam; Miss Bertie Lee Suttle (Mrs.
Joe T. Cabaniss) .
It is recorded that after preaching services on July 10, 1904, the
church treasurer was ordered to pay $2.50 for music for the choir.
On April 5, 1908, a conference was called and it was recommended
that the church pay the organist and choir director $5 per month. By 1912
the salaries were raised to $10 per month and again in 1919 the amount
was set at $20 a month.
In the regular conference of January 1921, a resolution was adopted
"that singing and music are so vital to the worship program that the
church will heartily cooperate with Ruppe in any movement for improve-
ment." The first music committee was appointed immediately afterwards
whose duty was to find at least 50 persons among the membership who
would agree to take training for a period of six months and to assist Ruppe
with his work. The committee selected was composed of Forrest Eskridge,
Paul Webb, C. B. Suttle, Jr., Mrs. O. Max Gardner and Mrs. Dewitt Quinn.
Since 1927 the choir has been robed in beige crepe donated by
Cleveland Cloth Mill and made by seamstresses of the church; black
tailored robes with red satin stoles; black and white robes of light weight
silk for summer; and the present white silk with green satin stoles.
When the church building was enlarged during 1928-29, the choir
space was enlarged, the organ was renovated and the vox humana stop
and organ chimes added. Space for the choir was enlarged to seat 40 from
the original space for 19, and the organ console was moved to the floor
of the auditorium from its original place in the center of the choir where
a mirror hung over it to allow the organist to watch the congregation and
Five hymnals have been used since 1912: namely, The Baptist
Hymnal and Praise Book, Hymns of Faith, Modern Hymnal, The Broadman
Hymnal (given by Mrs. Rush Stroup) , and now the Baptist Hymnal, latest
hymnal of the Southern Baptists and considered the best Baptist hymnal
of all. These are bound in brown with gilt lettering to match the walnut
decor of the sanctuary.
Through the years the music directors have collected many standard
beautiful anthems and cantatas. Mr. Easom collected from the older
school such music as The Sanctus by Gounod and The Gloria from Mozart's
Twelfth Mass, as well as the Messiah and other fine cantatas. Others have
added many numbers from later composers.
Singers from all ages are heard in the regular services at First Baptist
and on special occasions when full musical programs are enjoyed. The
development of music appreciation not only by the choirs but by the con-
gregation as a whole has shown a steady growth. No music is too difficult
for the choirs to sing and to enjoy, nor is any number too simple to use if
the poem and music present some divine truth. As an example, the church
choir has sung Handel's Messiah, both Easter and Christmas parts, sev-
eral times. They also love Stainer's numbers or some cantata such as
DuBois' "Seven Last Words".
The music library of the church contains 1,210 individual anthems,
making it one of the largest and most complete libraries of any church.
In addition, there are collections containing hundreds of anthems and
the library also possesses some of the great cantatas and oratorios, all we!l
filed and catalogued. Recently the library was expanded to include a
growing and usable library of recordings numbering 120 long-playing
albums for various church functions or for listening to great church music.
The library also contains 21 film strips and recordings for music theory
instruction and music appreciation.
The choir room, provided in 1953 was the first room ever given to
the music department and prior to that time choir members robed in the
halls where the robe cabinet was placed. Also, practice was held in any
convenient place. In 1962, the church purchased a Steinway piano for
the practice of the choirs and today the large and adequate room is prob-
ably the most used room in the church.
Pianos are placed in all departments where needed. The Gardner
family gave from their home the fine Miller Grand piano which is placed
in the drawing room of the church where many happy young couples have
their wedding receptions. The Gardner family also gave an electric Con-
sonata organ for Webb Chapel. For many years a grand piano was in the
sanctuary which had been given by Mai Spangler, Sr. and J. L. Suttle, Jr.
in honor of Mrs. Ethel Spangler and Mrs. Joe L. Suttle, Sr.
The Moeller organ in the sanctuary was given by Andrew Carnegie
and C. C. Blanton in 191 1 and because the church has taken proper care
of this instrument, today it is a beautifully toned organ functioning in
every way. The church has had a treasure in this instrument for 58 years.
There have been two expensive major repairs in these years but with some
addition in tone structure the organ would be entirely in the class of ex-
cellent small (two-manual) organs of today.
It was during Mr. Easom's office that First Baptist had the largest
combined choir, 175 voices, of any other Baptist Church in the state.
One service that the music department rendered for many years was
that of furnishing music with a male or mixed quartet at funerals over
the county in various churches since few churches had directors of music
before the 1950's. This service was practiced for approximately 25 years
from the early 1 930's through the late 1 950's and, with Mrs. Plaster as
accompanist, the original quartet was composed of C. Rush Hamrick,
E. B. Hill, Mai Spongier and Horace Easom. The quartet sang at more
than 3,000 funerals during that time.
A women's quartet which also sang at funerals and on invitation
throughout the county was composed of Mrs. Bea Suttle Morris, Mrs. A. C.
Farmer, Mrs. B. M. Jarrett and Mrs. Grady Lovelace. One or two of this
group often filled in for members of the male quartet when needed.
SERVICE IN CHOIR
Many musicians have given many
years of loving service to the choir,
among them (prior to the present choir)
being Mrs. Ben Suttle (now Mrs. R. W.
Morris', Mr. and Mrs. Grady Lovelace,
Mrs. D. W. Royster, Mrs. Ralph Royster,
Mrs. Mildred Hamrick Suttle (now Mrs.
McMurry Wilkins), Mr. and Mrs. Audie
Powell, Dr. and Mrs. B. M. Jarret, E. B.
Hill, Mai Spangler, Sr., and C. Rush
Hamrick, Sr., the latter having the long-
est record (over 50 years) as a choir
singer and one of the most beloved of
any musician in the church. His fine
bass voice was heard through many years
in sacred song throughout this entire
area before his death on June 2, 1964.
C. Rush Hamrick
Others who have rendered many years of service in the choir through
the past have included Mrs. L. P. Holland, Miss Selma Webb, Miss Amos
Willis, Hatcher Webb, Miss Bertha Bostick, Miss Egberta North, Tom and
Josh Lattimore, Miss Lura Smith, Mrs. Luther Ingle, Mrs. Minnie Eddins
Roberts Carpenter, Mrs. Mary Adelaide Roberts Austell, Mrs. Flossie Grice
Moore, George Dover, Griffin P. Smith, Mrs. John McArthur, Reid Misen-
heimer, L. J. (Billl Baley, Mrs. J. F. Abernathy, Dick Howerton, Miss
Marianna King, Mr. and Mrs. J. A. Liles, Hub Panther, Mrs. H. A. Davis,
Mrs. Zeno Wall, Mrs. A. C. Farmer, Mrs. Roy Price, Mrs. L W. Short, J. G.
Garrett, Joe Beckham, Lyman Martin, Mrs. Ruby Pate, Mrs. Joe Laugh-
ridge, Howard Gold, Mrs. Carl Martin, Matilda Jenks, Barbara Elam,
Woodrow Wall, Mrs. Jean Thompson, Mrs. Enos Beam, Miss Louise Led-
ford, Mrs. Mae Lattimore Adams, Mrs. Bobby Eskridge, Datha H. Spang-
ler and Z. Miller Freeman.
Outstanding service is now being rendered in the church by "The
Generation," which was first organized as The Girls Ensemble in 1952
by Roland Leath and later became The Sextet. The group is composed of
from six to eight young ladies of high school age whose voices blend almost
perfectly in sacred or modern music.
In early 1968 the name and purpose of The Sextet was changed.
Calling themselves now "The Generation," it was decided to take the
message of Christ and the church into civic clubs and other public secu-
lar affairs throughout the county. With this addition in purpose the
group sang 65 concerts in 14 months throughout the length and breadth
of this state and into other states, in addition to regular participation in
the worship services of First Baptist. This group is recorded on a long
playing recording. Members of The Generation are Kathy Panther, Debbie
Rogers, Susan McDonald, Carol Smith, Gwen Bissette, Jo Ann Yates, Patty
McBrayer and Connie Clark.
"THE GENERATION": left to right, Debbie Rogers, Kathy Panther, Patty McBray-
er, Susan MacDonald, Carol Smith, Gwen Bissette, foAnn Yates.
YOUNG PEOPLES CHOIR
Ramsey's "Good News" choir, composed entirely of young members
of First Baptist Church and numbering around 120, and the "Sing Out
For Freedom" choir, composed of voices from all denominations, have been
widely accepted in this area and continue to be heard by capacity au-
diences in demand performances.
The "Sing Out for Freedom" choir has an enrollment of 214 of which
140 are from First Baptist and the remaining 74 from other denominations
numbering 22 churches in Shelby and Cleveland county. Another unique
feature of this choir is that it is an integral part of the music program in
that it rehearses weekly, being the largest choir known in North Carolina
which meets for weekly rehearsals throughout the year except summer.
Performance of the two choirs include personal testimonies as well as
inspirational singing and it is agreed that this type of musical organization
has been one of the most acceptable in the history of the church. Record-
ings of these choirs have been made available to the membership and to
A singing group of boys of senior high school age was organized in
March, 1969, which is comparable to The Generation and to the Boy's
Octette which performed in 1962. The name of this group is The Revela-
tion and its members include Chris Hudson, Tim Martin, and Bobby Caus-
by. Linda Hamrick is pianist.
Twelve choirs are active today under the direction of Van Ramsey.
They include: Beginners, two Primary, Junior, Junior High, Senior High,
Adult, Men's, Young People's Singout, The Generation, Junior High Triple
Trio choirs and The Revelation.
The two Primary choirs are directed by Mrs. Van H. Ramsey and Mrs.
In the spring of 1967 the Adult choir premiered in North Carolina a
cantata by Mary Caldwell entitled "Of Time and Eternity."
Rehearsals began February 6, 1969 for a new program by the
church's singing young people, "A Better Life." All grades seven through
12 were invited to participate as in the "Sing Out" and "Good News"
A five-state tour was made in August of this year in which 45 young
singers participated with Ramsey as their leader, the tour route planned
along the Gulf of Mexico. In 1967 a similar group toured the midwest
and in the summer of 1968 the tour included Georgia and Florida.
One of the highlights of the youthful singing groups came on July 21 ,
1966 when 37 youths composing the Chapel Choir and five adults from
First Baptist boarded a chartered bus for the metropolitan area of New
York City on a 10-day home mission project. They worked directly in
eight churches in and around New York City in an attempt to win souls to
Christ through choir concerts, vacation Bible school work, telephone sur-
veys and personal witness. Their field was a rich one since it was esti-
mated that 16 million persons lived in the area covered by the Southern
Baptist metropolitan area work and approximately one-half of that popu-
lation was thought to never attend church.
Music played a large part in the mission effort with choir concerts
given in Immanuel Baptist Church in Colonial Heights, Va., and in First
Polish Baptist Church in Brooklyn in addition to furnishing music in the
major churches of the mission.
Accompanists who have served with various choirs include Mrs.
Newlin Schenck, Mrs. John Kester, Mrs. Richard Murphy, Miss Elaine
Harris, Mrs. Oscar Stuart, Mrs. Julian Hamrick, Jo Ann Yates, Patty Mc-
Brayer, Mrs. Bill Silver, Mrs. Jim Wilson, Carol Smith, Linda Hamrick
and Sarah Sullivan.
Alfred Washburn, son of Mr. and Mrs. Max Washburn, studied piano
£ >i^i N to C
— O ;• C-C'
3 O ~ ~ ~ • —
Q/ Of* £ NT -5 « ^
Z 3. - _>
and became interested in organ and church music while a member of
this church. Mrs. Plaster encouraged his interest in the organ and he went
into formal organ training and religious work. He is currently minister of
music at Terry Parker Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Fla., leaving this
church to accept the position as editor of beginner and primary music
materials at the Sunday School Board but stayed only six months before
being called to return to this church.
E. A. RUPPE
The first choir director and educational director, E. A. Ruppe, was a
native of Ohio and after graduating from Moody Bible Institute in Chicago
was song leader and choir director for traveling evangelists. During his
first term of service with First Baptist he was instrumental in starting the
BYPU (now BTU). After leaving Shelby he lived in Dodge City, Kansas
for several years. Never strong physically, he had almost a lifetime fight
against tuberculosis and was a patient and assistant chaplain in Kansas
State Sanatorium at Norton, Kansas from 1939 until his death in March,
The Kan-San, publication of the Kansas State Sanatorium, in its
May-June, 1962 issue paid tribute to Mr. Ruppe, who had spent 23 years
in the institution where he called on patients, distributed religious litera-
ture, read scripture to those who requested it, wrote letters for those who
were unable to write for themselves and performed many other duties
in a religious leadership. He managed the sanatorium's greenhouse for
four years and worked as a spiritual counselor, becoming in July, 1955
the institution's chaplain. He was ordained a minister in the Missionary
Church Association on December 18, 1955. He left the sanatorium to
return to his home and family in California in June, 1956, but return-
ed to the sanatorium in April, 1957 for reasons of health and served as
assistant chaplain until his death.
Mrs. Ruppe died January 22, 1967 in California.
HARRY M. PIPPIN
Harry M. Pippin was a native of Ozark, Ala., and graduate of the
Bible Institute of New Orleans. He also worked with some of the leading
Southern Baptist evangelist ministers as song director. While in evange-
listic work he suffered an injury which forced him to give up these duties
and he entered the business world, conducting a successful grocery busi-
ness while engaging in church work on the side. He died in Augusta, Ga.,
February 16, 1957.
Horace Easom, native North Carolinian from Smithfield in Johnston
County, has become synonomous with Baptist work over the state. Serving
this church as music and education director for a total of 17 years, he is
the son of James H. and Mary Parrish Easom.
Educated at Buies Creek Academy (now Campbell College), Wake
Forest College and New York School of Music and Arts, he served in
World War I and afterwards became director of education and music at
Southside Church in Wilmington in 1921. Other churches in which he
served in the same capacity are First Baptist of Asheville; First Baptist of
Dallas, Texas; and Buffalo Baptist near Shelby. Between 1947 and 1952
he led the Wake Forest Enlargement Campaign to raise $2 million through
the state's Baptist churches and afterwards was the state's first Brother-
hood secretary, and secretary of the Baptist Foundation.
Easom retired in 1958 but promptly became director of public re-
lations for Union Trust Company in Shelby. He has been a member of the
Wake Forest College Board of Trustees, the Gardner-Webb College Board
of Trustees, and the Advisory Committee for Gardner- Webb. He also
served as campaign chairman for the enlargement and development of
Gardner-Webb, which was known at the time as Boiling Springs Junior
He has directed music for the State Convention, the State Evangelistic
Conference and for several Baptist assemblies. He has also served as
Moderator for the Kings Mountain Baptist Association and is one of the
Christian Laymen's Witnessing Organization. A civic-minded individual,
he was named "Man of the Year" in 1961 by the Shelby Lions Club; serv-
ed as Lieutenant Governor of Division One for Carolina Kiwanis; chaplain
for the American Legion Post No. 82. He is currently executive director
of the Cleveland County United Fund, Inc., a post he has held since July
In 1926 he married Margaret Stevens of Clinton, N. C. and they have
a daughter, Margaret (Mrs. Robert Litton), and three grandchildren. One
son, Horace Easom, Jr., died in infancy.
Harold Seefeldt, education and music director between Mr. Easom's
terms, became superintendent of the Arkansas Baptist Children's Home
in Brinkley, Arkansas after leaving Shelby and retired from that position
MR. AND MRS. JOE D. HAMRICK
Mr. and Mrs. Joe D. Hamrick came to Shelby from Winston-Salem,
Mr. Hamrick coming to serve as administrator of Cleveland Memorial
Hospital although he had been a school man and band director. While
residing here, Mr. Hamrick directed music at First Baptist and Mrs. Ham-
rick, the former Elizabeth Tavis of Winston-Salem, directed the music at
Central Methodist Church, the two working together in the field of music.
The Shelby Choral Club was organized by the two with Mr. Hamrick
serving as director of the 100 voices, Mrs. Hamrick singing the solo con-
tralto parts and Mrs. Robert Gidney the soprano solos. Tenor and bass
guest soloists were invited to join the group at special performances. The
group lacked leadership after Mr. and Mrs. Hamrick returned to Winston-
Salem in December, 1949 and disbanded soon afterwards.
Mr. Hamrick was a native of Rutherford County and a tenor while
Mrs. Hamrick, a graduate of Westminster Choir School, was an outstand-
ing contralto and toured with the Westminster Choir in Europe. They had
three children, Jeannie, Lynn and Dow. Mr. Hamrick died not too long
after they returned to Winston-Salem.
Roland Leath, native Texan, was educated at Ottawa University,
Ottawa, Kansas; North Texas Agricultural College in Arlington, Texas;
Mary-Hardin Baylor College in Belton, Texas; Texas Christian University
in Fort Worth; Southwestern Theological Seminary at Fort Worth and Fort
Worth Conservatory of Music. Following high school he traveled through
the west and midwest with an evangelistic team, entering the fulltime work
of religious education and music in 1934. Before coming to Shelby's First
Baptist, he served at First Baptist in Little Rock, Arkansas; First Baptist
in Temple, Texas; Travis Avenue Baptist and Rosen Heights Baptist in
Fort Worth; and First Baptist in Paris, Texas. He was ordained to preach
December 16, 1964, and became assistant pastor of the church on August
An accomplished pianist, Rev. Leath has aided in the music field at
Ridgecrest and Caswell Baptist Assemblies; has been active in Training
Union programs and in all religious affairs of Gardner-Webb College and
in Cleveland County. Under his leadership the Sunday School enrollment
increased from 1 ,63 1 to over 2,200 and Training Union enrollment tripled;
the adult Sunday School enrollment was graded and he spearheaded the
organization of additional departments. He has also been active in the
Baptist State Convention, serving two terms on the N. C. General Board
and secretary for the Commission on Higher Education for the board.
He served as president of the eighth district for the Training Union
Department of North Carolina during the years 1956-61, and as president
of the North Carolina Educational Directors' Conference of the Baptist
State Convention in 1961-1962.
In February, 1955 the Sunday School Board of the Southern Baptist
Convention invited Rev. Leath to participate in an enlargement campaign
among the newly organized Southern Baptist churches of the greater Los
Angeles area and he served in a teaching and organizational capacity in
the Norwalk Southern Baptist Church of Los Angeles, Calif.
Rev. Leath set up the Cherub Choir for ages four and five; the Carol
Choir for ages six through eight; the Crusader Choir for Junior boys; the
Concord Choir for junior girls; the chapel choir for Intermediates; Girls'
Ensemble; the Male Chorus; and Senior Choir. In September, 1963 he
participated in a Revival Crusade in Europe, directing choirs and congre-
gational singing in the English-speaking Calvary Baptist Church in Augs-
burg, Germany and Temple Baptist Church of Ludwigsburg, Germany.
Married to the former Lois Hall of Fort Worth, Texas in 1936, they
have three children: Mrs. Suzanne Hamner, Mrs. Janet Hood and Marcus
John Ward was the son of a Baptist minister and a native of Okla-
homa. Graduate of Oklahoma Baptist University in Shawnee, Okla., where
he studied voice and directing, he also served with the U. S. Navy from
1942-1945, directing the ship's choir at the Naval Training Center in
Norman, Okla., and also on the USS Cascade. He received his Master of
Religious Education degree from Southwestern Baptist Theological Semi-
nary in Fort Worth.
Before coming to Shelby, Ward served as Minister of music and edu-
cation at Immanuel Baptist in Shawnee, Okla.; First Baptist in Lawton,
Okla., Beverly Hills and Ross Avenue Baptist in Dallas, Texas; First Baptist
in Seminole, Okla., First Baptist in Sherman, Texas and First Baptist in
Plainview, Texas. He left Shelby to go with First Baptist in San Antonio,
Texas in October, 1966.
After Mr. Ward came to Shelby, the choir room was remodeled and
the choir loft was enlarged by removing one section of paneling which
provided four risers. Over 500 members enrolled in music programs during
Van Ramsey, native of Valdese and son of a church musician, began
directing music in his home church ct the age of 16, succeeding his father.
A graduate of Mars Hill College in 1960 and of Lenoir-Rhyne in 1962, he
served Beverly Hills Baptist Church in Asheville as minister of music while
at Mars Hill and while at Lenoir-Rhyne he served the Mt. Home Baptist
Church in Morganton in the same capacity.
In 1963 he went to College Avenue Baptist Church in Lenoir and the
church went on record as commissioning him a Minister of the Gospel to
serve in the area of church music. It was from this church he came to
Shelby's First Baptist in January, 1967.
Ramsey has elevated the church's reputation for good music. In ap-
preciation for his work in the community with young people of all denomi-
nations who have been a part of his "Sing Out For Freedom" and "Good
News" choirs and have developed themselves spiritually under his guid-
ance, Ramsey was named the "Young Man of the Year" for 1968 by the
Shelby Jaycees, a coveted honor.
In another tribute to his talents and good work, Ramsey and The
Generation were invited to sing before a joint session of the North Carolina
General Assembly at Raleigh on January 30, 1969.
Members of the adult choir at present, many having rendered many
years of faithful service, include:
Mrs. Marvin Baugham, Lloyd Bost, Mrs. Lloyd Bost, Miss Linda Bu-
chanan, Miss Lois Buice, Robert Cabaniss, Lewis Cantrell, F. 0. Champion,
Mrs. Mel Doughty, Jimmy Frazier, Boyce T. Freeman, Mrs. Tom Graham,
Mrs. A. V. Hamrick, Jr., Mrs. O. V. Hamnck, Jr., C. J Hill, Mrs. Jesse T.
Holden, Mrs. Joe Hood, Mrs. Dan Hughes, Mrs. Mickey LeCroy, Mrs.
William Lowery, Mrs. Robert Lutz.
Also, Dr. Blake McWhirter, Mrs. Blake McWhirter, Dr. H. S. Plaster,
Mrs. Van H. Ramsey, Charles Reid, Mrs. Bill Rogers, David Spongier, Mel
Spongier, Jr., Mrs. Ralph Sullivan, Mrs. Fred Swift, Mac Wells, Mrs. J. A.
West, Mrs. L. P. Williams, Mrs. Irvin Willis, Paul Wilson, Mrs. Paul
Wilson, Miss Ann Yarbrough.
OF THE SUNDAY SCHOOL
"Study to show yourself approved unto God" had stirred in the minds
of zealous Shelby Baptists for some time before a formal Sunday School
organization began to evolve. The granting of the following resolution
by the Kings Mountain Baptist Association in 1864 established permis-
sion and impetus for the real beginning:
"Resolved, That ... we will appoint Elder G. M. Webb to
preach to and organize Sabbath Schools in all the churches
he may be able to, and collect whatever funds he can for ser-
vices rendered, and report the result of his operations to the
next session of the Association."
The Shelby Baptist Church at that time was being pastored by Till-
man R. Gaines, who had been serving the church since September 1,
1863. That Pastor Gaines was interested in the furthering of knowledge
is evidenced by the fact that he had in 1863 organized the Roberts Fe-
male Seminary, later known as the Shelby Female Seminary. As pastor,
he stood ready to support and to assist in Sunday School organization
in every way.
The actual organization began in 1864 under the leadership of G. M.
Webb, son of J. M. Webb who had served the Shelby Baptist Church as its
G. M. Webb was born on November 14, 1831, in Rutherford County
and had been licensed to preach at Concord Baptist Church in that
county in 1863. He was, therefore, serving as pastor of the Concord
Baptist Church at the time of the adoption of the Kings Mountain
Association's Resolution of 1864 pertaining to Sabbath Schools.
G. M. Webb was able and resourceful like his father. He preached
for 38 years, his pastorates covering four states in which he served over
40 churches and baptized 1,400 converts in the Baptist church. He was
present at the organization of the Kings Mountain Association and
missed only two meetings after its organization, serving as Moderator
and Clerk. He was acclaimed the "best type of country preacher - a
stout-hearted champion of his Master," and he filled the pulpit many
times at First Baptist.
Married to Prise i I la J. Blanton, they were parents of five children:
E. Yates and James L. Webb of Shelby, both federal judges and illus-
trious citizens; Charles S. Webb, cotton broker and mayor of Greenville,
ILLUSTRIOUS WEBB FAMILY— left to right, Judge E. Y. Webb, Charles
Webb, Rev. George Milton Webb, George M. Webb, Jr., Mrs. Edna Webb
Darwin, fudge J. L. Webb.
S. C, who gave $25,000 to Furman University for an infirmary as a
memorial to his father and grandfather; George Milton Webb, Jr., prom-
inent businessman engaged in the sale of real estate and insurance in
Birmingham, Ala., who married Margaret Blanton, daughter of Mr. and
Mrs. Burwell H. Blanton and sister of C. C. and George Blanton; and
Edna, who married John A. Darwin and who was the mother of Mrs. Mar-
ion DuBose whose son, Marion D. DuBose of Batesville Baptist Church of
Batesville, Indiana was ordained at First Baptist in 1958.
G. M. Webb was a powerful man physically and it is related of him
that when at age 75 he could not only wrestle with his sons, but could
throw any of them' He walked down the Washington Monument in the
national capitol when past three score and ten.
The beginning of the Sabbath schools was laborious but sure. The
church at that time was having preaching services only once a month
but Sunday School was designed to meet weekly. The planning of the
course of study, topics and references was accomplished by local people
since no books or literature or planned lessons were available to them.
Only the Bible was used in the first teachings with discussions of
certain desired verses or chapters. Some of the better Bible students of
the church were teachers in classes that contained the entire family
members, including children.
Earliest records from the date of organization are found in the
Association minutes of 1880. At that time T. D. Lattimore was Sunday
School Superintendent. He reported a total of six officers, sixteen teachers
and one hundred and seventy "scholars." Average attendance of that year
was one hundred and thirty persons which would constitute an approxi-
mate attendance of 76 per cent of the members. Sunday School contri-
butions totaled $176.74 in comparison to a total church contribution of
The next superintendent recorded in the Association minutes was
E. Y. Webb, who served in that capacity from 1897 until 1903 when he
began a 17-year tenure as United States Congressman. The church then
elected C. C. Roberts as superintendent.
EARLY ROLL LIST
Minutes of Shelby Baptist Sunday school as of January 7, 1883 gave
the following roll list: W. A. Nelson, pastor; T. D. Lattimore, superin-
tendent; J. G. Webb, assistant superintendent; J. S. Wray, treasurer; W.
W. Green, assistant treasurer; C. S. Webb, librarian; J. W. Sullivan, sec-
retary. Teachers were: J. J. Webb, R. McBrayer, Mrs. P. J. King, Mrs.
W. P. Love, Miss E. A. Draugh, Mrs. T. W. Love, Miss Ida Mallory, Miss
Anna Mallory, Miss Docia Wray, Miss Laura Wray, Mrs. T. N. Ivy, Miss
Lola Milner, Miss Mary Devane, Mrs. M. J. Mallory, Prof. P. J. King,
E. H. Wright, Miss Blanch Nelson.
Sunday School superintendents who have served and their years
of service are:
T. D. Lattimore 1880-1899 J. C. Newton 1923
E. Y. Webb 1900-1903 John P. Mull 1924-1925
C. C. Roberts 1904-1905 A. C. Lovelace 1926
0. M. Mull 1906 B. T. Falls 1927-1929
George Blanton 1907-1912 Horace Easom 1930-1933
J.R.Moore 1913-1915 M. A. Spongier 1934-1935
J. R. Dover 1916-1919 Horace Easom 1936-1947
J. J. Lattimore 1920-1922 Wilbur Wilson 1947-1953
Roland Leath 1954-1969
Up until the year 1904, the beginner and primary aged children had
attended classes of their parents. Mrs. George L. English separated the
beginners and primaries and for the first time the children were taught
by methods appropriate for their age level with pictures and stories aiding
their understanding. This was the beginning of grading by ages in Sunday
Growth comparisons show that five years after 1880 the Sunday
School enrollment had jumped to approximately 350 and by 1910 this
figure had reached five hundred (500>. Upon occupation of the educa-
tional addition to the building, records reveal a milestone in growth gains
for the year 1929 as the enrollment jumped to approximately 1,300.
For a period before the educational building was occupied, classes
met in the old red brick building with white columns on West Marion
street which was originally the Shelby high school before it housed the
seventh graders and before construction of the new junior high addition.
The new Sunday school rooms were dedicated on Easter Sunday,
March 31, 1929 with the school reporting an attendance of 1,083 for
that Sunday. The Sunday school of 1929 was graded by age for all classes
up through the Young People's Department. Continuing to climb in
numbers, by 1 948 a total enrollment of 1,637 was reached.
The largest number ever present any Sunday in Sunday school up
to this time was during a revival April 15, 1934 when there were 1,583
Between January 23-28, 1949, the North Carolina State Sunday
School clinic was held in the church, the clinic sponsored jointly by the
Sunday School Department of the Baptist State Convention of North
Carolina, Sunday School department of the Baptist Sunday School Board
in Nashville and churches in the Kings Mountain Association.
Only once has Sunday school been interrupted. Because of the polio
epidemic in the summer of 1948 classes were suspended in August and
did not reconvene in the church until October. Children were quarantined
from all public gatherings during that time but Sunday school lessons
were broadcast over radio stations each Sunday morning until the polio
ban was lifted on October 2, 194S. All churches observed "Children's
Day" the first Sunday they returned.
The new educational building which was dedicated on October 25,
1953, offered further room for growth and expansion. By this time the
Sunday school had been comoletely graded by age from the youngest to
the oldest classes.
Records do not show when the first printed materials were available
for use in planning and teaching lessons. However, by January of 1866
some literature was published regularly for it was then that Elder Tillman
R. Gaines began editing and publishing the Baptist Church and Sunday
School Messenger, which was printed periodicallv at the Shelby Book and
Job Office. Pastor Games' material was only published for six months.
Literature was later available through the Baptist Sunday School
Board of the Southern Baptist Convention and thus Southern Baptist
literature was finally furnished for all of the First Baptist Church organ-
Minutes of the church dated March 4, 1903 read that "a teacher's
meeting also for benefit of Sunday School has been instituted to meet on
every Wednesday night after prayer meeting The ladies society having
made request to place a new memorial window over the church door,
upon motion their request was granted, the same being a present to Mrs.
W. B. Nix by a manufacturing company and at her request becomes the
property of the church."
Through the years the Sunday school program has been greatly en-
couraged and guided by the various educational directors, youth workers
and assistants who have been employed by First Baptist Church: E. A.
Ruppe, H. M. Pippin, H. C. Seefeldt, Horace Easom, Roland Leath, James
Sides, Carole Pearson and Mel Doughty. All have been valuable to the
Roland Leath of Fort Worth, Texas, joined the church staff on Jan-
uary 1, 1950 to serve as Educational Director and Music Director and
has served as Sunday school superintendent for the majority of those
years. Prior to his administration, the Sunday school council meetings
had been held in monthly dinner sessions with the weekly officers and
teachers meetings held just prior to prayer meetings. Mr. Leath saw the
need for weekly supper planning meetings and for a thorough cognizance
on the part of the people as to the structure of the Sunday school, the
importance of visitation and the need for real Bible study.
He has stressed the value of training and study courses and accredi-
tation as a means to promote better work toward the effectiveness of the
Sunday school. The organization has realized a remarkable growth under
the leadership of Mr. Leath, together with first the assistance of Youth
Director James Sides and then of Youth Director Carole Pearson before
Mr. Doughty came to the church in 1967.
In March, 1966, a new means of taking the church to the people
was devised through the loan of a portable classroom large enough to
accommodate about 25 people. Conceived in discussions between Dr.
Joseph McClain, Mr. Leath and the church staff, the Sunday school
classroom was located on a vacant lot at the intersection of East Suttle and
East Sumter Streets and services were planned for each Sunday morning.
Miss Pearson was in charge of music and teaching of younger children
and Mr. and Mrs. Harold Causby were on duty to teach older groups. The
venture attracted several persons in the beginning but was discontinued
after several months.
JOHN MULL CLASS - pictured in 1962, left to right: Carr Mull, Ralph
Turner, Bonnie Elliott, Robert Doggett, Ben Shytle, Will Spangler, Marvin
Hall, W. A. Dunlap, John Wacaster, Clark D. Harrill, Paul Wilson and
Several classes in the Sunday school have been named for dedicated
church men and teachers. The Gardner and Newton classes are not in
existence at this time but were named for 0. Max Gardner and J. C.
Newton. Others that are now being taught and for whom they are named
include: Morgan - O. Z. Morgan; Mull - O. M. Mull; Mull - John P. Mull;
Johnson - George Johnson; Angel - W. L. Angel; Spangler - J. Edwin
Spongier; Lawrence - Rev. John E. Lawrence; Zeno Wall - Dr. Zeno Wall;
Laura - Laura Cornwell.
TAUGHT OVER 50 YEARS
Mrs. D. W. Royster, who has taught the Nursery Class of three-year-
olds for 50 years and who previously taught in the primary grades in
Sunday school for three or four years, holds the active record for greatest
number of teaching years among today's
teaching staff. However, probably the
longest record in total number of years
for work on the Sunday School staff is
held by Mrs. Lollie Mae Lattimore who
was superintendent of the Cradle Roll
for 20 years and taught an additional
40 years or more to accrue at least 60
years of service.
Mrs. Royster observed 50 years
with the class of three-year-olds in June,
1969, recalling that she began teaching
that class in 1919 when she was married
and when Mrs. C. J. Woodson was a
teacher. She also recalled that among
her first little students were J. L. Suttle,
Jr., Gerald and Charles McBrayer and
Caroline Blanton Thayer.
Mrs. D. W. Royster
Holding the perfect attendance record at First Baptist is R. Hubbard
Hamrick who has attended each Sunday for 31 years. Elbert Costner,
Boyce Freeman and Judy Hoyle have 18 years of perfect attendance and
others include: Mrs. Elbert Costner, 16 years; Fred Swift, 15 years;
Robert Causby and David Causby, 12 years; Joseph M. Wright, Susan
Martin and Patty McBrayer, 10 years; Max Daves, Jack Caudill, Edwin
Speagle and Mrs. Boyce Freeman, nine years; Sarah Speagle, Marvin
Baugham, Libby Allen and Mrs. A. L. Moss, eight years; Donald Costner,
seven years; Joe Yates, Jo Anne Yates, Stanley Martin, Bill Sherman,
Charles Swift, Jen Ann Mauney, six years; David Poston, Sandra Martin,
Robin Mintz and Susan Swift, five years.
Others who held perfect attendance records for a period in recent
years include: Worth Branton, 16 years; Betty Sue Wilson Cook, 15 years;
Ernest Bailey, 14 years; George Southard and Roscoe Morgan, 13 years;
Frankie Bailey and Troy Bailey, 12 years; Jimmy Bailey, 11 years; Zeb
Beam, 10 years: Perry Sellers, eight years; Betsy Hope Lee, Debbie Hoyle,
Mrs. Hubbard Hamrick and Clair Lohr, six years; Mrs. Delane Davis, five
CLASSES - DEPARTMENTS
Sunday School classes and departments today are as follows:
Adult: four departments, 27 classes.
Married Young People: one department, two classes.
Career Young People: one class.
College Young People: one class.
High School Young People: 10 classes.
Intermediates: two departments, 12 classes.
Juniors: two departments, 13 classes.
Primaries: two departments.
Beginners: four departments.
Nurseries: six departments.
Ranking fourth in the state in Sunday school attendance, there are
a total of 1,883 members on the roll with average attendance at 1,050.
General officers in 1968-69 include: Sunday school superintendent,
Roland Leath; associate superintendent, Carlos Young; minister of music,
Van H. Ramsey; minister of youth, Mel Doughty; substitute teachers,
Joe Wright; associate, A. C. Farmer; secretary, B. S. Greene; literature,
Frank Blanton; substitute teacher, Mrs. George Carpenter; visual aids,
W. D. Kiser; iibrarian, Mrs. A. V. Nolan.
Mrs. John Ed Davis, Jr. is superintendent of the Extension Division.
Serving under her as superintendents are Mrs. Willis McMurry, Mrs. C.
C. McMurry, Jr., Mrs. Harvey Mincey and W. A. Dunlap.
NURSERY for the youngest children is located in the educational building. Fifteen
beds accommodate infants who are cared for here to allow parents to attend regular
services. Germicidal lamps, kitchenette and necessary accessories are provided.
LADIES LOUNGE is the scene of wedding receptions, special meetings, luncheons
and social gatherings. Located in the educational building, this room was dedicated
in memory of Mr. and Mrs. A. P. Weathers by their children, Lee B. Weathers, Mrs.
H. Dixon Smith and J. Flay Weathers.
WOMAN'S MISSIONARY UNION
As in all histories, there must be a beginning date for the account
of the W. M. U. of the First Baptist Church of Shelby. Available infor-
mation shows that in 1889, just one year after the Southwide W. M. U.
was organized in Richmond, Virginia, the state office in Raleigh, North
Carolina, reported that the First Baptist Church of Shelby gave $60 for
foreign missions. This amount may seem small, but for that day it was
In 1891, with the Reverend G. P. Hamnck as pastor, this church
(with 283 members! and the. W. M. U. sent $34.65 to missions.
Perhaps to show the beginning of pledges for mission work, it is
recorded in the associational minutes that in 1893 Mrs. G. P. Hamrick
pledged $1.00 for state missions at the associational meeting and the
First Baptist Church pledged $31.00. It is well to note that this is the
first recorded gift to state missions.
There evidently was a decline in the church between 1 893 and 1 896,
for the membership on the latter date was 200 and only $12.00 was
given to missions of any kind.
Then came a step in the right direction, for in 1897 a Sunbeam
Band was reported.
No definite information for 1898 is available but the Southern
Baptist report of that year says, "Women were being recognized and
were giving liberally to missions."
In 1900 the church climbed back to the 1889 record and, according
to the Association records, this church again pledged $60 to foreign
missions with the W. M. U. pledging $5 and the Young Ladies $10. This
is the first mention of Y. W. A. gifts.
"Firsts" are always important and in 1902, Mrs. A. E. Harrison is
listed as the first president of the society. The membership was 23 and
the total gift was $28.54. Following Mrs. Harrison was Mrs. George
English, who served as president in 1904.
Woman's work was now coming into prominence as revealed in the
Associational report of 1905 which called for a report on woman's work
to be made at the next session. The records show that Mrs. W. B. Nix
was president in 1927-1928, and it is probable that 1929 was the year
that Mrs. T. W. Hamrick served in this capacity. Although no president
is named in 1930, the W. M. S. gave $3,028 that year, so surely there
was good leadership.
The significant event of the term of Mrs. J. A. Liles, 1931 and
1932, was the organizing of the McMillan Circle.
During her extended term of office, Mrs. Rush Stroup, 1933-1938,
accomplished much for the growth of the W. M. U. In 1934 the W. M. S.
entertained the Associational W. M. U. meeting with Miss Kathleen Mal-
lory as the guest speaker. Also an outstanding event of Mrs. Stroup's
term was the W. M. S. celebration of its golden jubilee year in 1938.
In 1939 Mrs. B. M. Jarrett was president with things moving at an
In 1940 Mrs. Rush Stroup returned as president and served through
1945. During this period there were a number of significant changes.
Among these, the circles were redivided to enable more women to know
each other; the Heck Circle was re-activated; the Vena Aguillard Circle
was formed; the first Business Women's Circle in the association was
formed; and in 1945, the W. M. S. was host to the Royal Ambassadors
of the Hickory Division.
It was while Mrs. Fred Swift, 1946-1948, was president that the
women of the Association helped raise funds for the president's home at
Gardner-Webb College. Mrs. Rush Stroup led the women of the First
Baptist Church to give $1,000 for this project. Also during this period
the First Baptist Church celebrated its centennial, 1947, with Mrs. J. M.
Dawson of Texas and Washington, D. C , as one of the capable speakers.
In 1947 the Business Women's circle was organized.
Because Miss Attie Bostick was for so many years a faithful mis-
sionary in China, it will be of interest to note that the W. M. S. gave
her a shower before her marriage to Mr. T. J. League in 1947.
"Like mother, like daughter" — Mrs. George Carpenter, daughter of
a former president, Mrs. W. J Roberts, became president in 1949 and
served through 1950. Among the events of this period was the forming
of the first morning circle, the Frances Eskridge Roberts Circle. Also the
Kathleen Mallory Circle was organized, and in 1950 the Hickory Region-
al Meeting was held in this church.
While Mrs. Lowery Austell was president, 1951-1952, the time of
circle and general meetings was reversed and the Young People's work
was reorganized. A memorable event was a visit to the society by Miss
Ina Belle Coleman in 1952.
A significant change was made in the by-laws of the W. M. S.
while Mrs. Cecil GMIiatt was serving as president, 1953-1954. "No
woman may be president unless she has first served on the executive
board, and no president may serve more than two years."
While Mrs. John Wilkms was president, 1955-1956, the Laura Corn-
well Circle was organized.
Mrs. Alton Hopper succeeded Mrs. Wilkins and served in 1957-1958.
During this time one new circle was organized, the Hickory Region held
its leadership conference here in 1958, and the W. M. S. received an
The next president was Mrs. John Ed Davis who served in 1959 and
1960. During her term of service, Royal Service and the young people's
magazines were put in the church budget. Another important accom-
plishment was the change from one to two general meetings each month
to meet the needs of the women who work each day. During both years
the society was rated as an Advanced Society.
It was under the leadership of Mrs. Pans Yelton, 1961-1962, that
the society adopted the "B" plan. This means that there are two com-
plete sets of officers — one for the day circles and one for the night circles.
In 1963-64, Mrs. Harold Causby was W. M. U. President. During
this term the Baptist Jubilee was celebrated with a combined program
honoring the pastor, the Reverend John Lawrence, and a Jubilee gath-
ering of all W. M. U. organizations. A day long prayer retreat was held
one year. Both years the Day W. M. U. received an honor award and
the Night W. M. S. an advanced award.
Mrs. Lloyd Bost was installed as the 1964-65 W. M. U. president on
September 8, 1964 and during her term the W. M. U. Kings Mountain
Associational meeting was held in the church in April, 1965.
Miss Laura Cornwell was president for the 1967-68 year and dur-
ing her term of office mission emphasis for foreign and home missions
was stressed through churchwide offerings and study course. Intercessory
prayer was also encouraged and promoted through the Kathleen Mallory
Circle. Also, Day and Night WMS Societies achieved honor ratings.
PRESIDENTS OF WOMAN'S MISSIONARY UNION
Mrs. Rush Stroup 1933-1938
Mrs. B. M. Jarrett 1939
Mrs. Rush Stroup 1940-1945
Mrs. Fred Swift 1946-1948
Mrs. George Carpenter 1949-1950
Mrs. Lowery Austell 1951-1952
Mrs. Cecil Gilliatt 1953-1954
Mrs. John Wilkins 1955-1956
Mrs. Alton Hopper 1957-1958
Mrs John Ed Davis 1959-1960
Mrs. Paris Yelton 1961-1962
Mrs. Harold Causby 1 963- 1 964
Mrs. Lloyd Bost 1965-1966
Miss Laura Cornwell 1967-1968
Strong winds of change blew through the Woman's Missionary
Union in the fall of 1968 as the Southern Baptist Convention inaugu-
rated a new plan of organization for its women's work.
Following this plan, the W. M. U. of First Baptist Church was re-
organized under the direction of a W. M. U. Council. The council con-
sists of the W. M. U. director, associate director, secretary-treasurer
and age level leaders, i.e. W. M. U. director, Y. W. A. director, G. A.
director and Sunbeam director. This council is charged with the overall
A. E. Harrison
C. J. Woodson
L. W. Swope
W. H. Blanton
W. J. Roberts
S. A. McMurry
J. R. Dover
W. B. Nix
T. W. Hamnck
J. A. Liles
direction of the program of the W. M. U.
The W. M. (J. director and associate director work with the pastor,
church staff and leaders of other church organizations on the church
council while age level directors work with leaders of the groups in their
age level organizations. Each Woman's Missionary Society has a presi-
dent, secretary, and a study chairman, prayer chairman and activity
chairman. Each chairman oversees the organization and work of W. M. S.
groups within her specific field of interest.
Separate study groups are organized for current mission study, mis-
sion books, missionary round tables and study of the missionary message
of the Bible. Prayer groups include those who meet for the study and
practice of intercessory prayer, and a telephone group engaging in
prayer for specific needs. Mission action groups are organized to render
specific missionary effort on a long range basis. Several of these have
been formed to work with groups such as handicapped students, special
education classes, the Boy's Club, mental health and well-baby clinics.
The organizational chart for the W. M. U. of First Baptist is now
W. M. U. officers for the year 1968-69 are:
W. M. U. Director: Mrs. J. A. West
W. M. U. Associate Director: Mrs. Mickey LeCroy
W. M. U. Secretary-treasurer: Mrs. Crawley Cash
W. M. S. Director: Mrs. Newlin Schenck
Y. W. A. Director: Mrs. Robert Lee Eskridge
G. A. Director: Mrs. Nelson Causby
Sunbeam Director: Mrs. James Beard
Day W. M. S. officers for 1968-69 are: president, Mrs. Gerald
Osborne; secretary, Mrs. Charles Senn; study chairman, Mrs. Harold
Causby; mission action chairman, Mrs. Lloyd Bost; prayer chairman,
Mrs. W. L. Angel.
Night W. M. S. officers include: president, Mrs. Horace Steadman;
secretary, Miss Lois Buice; study chairman, Mrs. C. Robert Doggett;
mission action chairman, Mrs. J. Carlyle Smith; prayer chairman, Mrs.
A. Vason Hamrick, Jr.
Officers are now elected for one-year terms. Women in the W. M. S.
choose the group of which they wish to be a part and each group elects
its own group leader.
In carrying out its purpose of encouraging missions through edu-
cation and participation, the W.M.U. has several special churchwide
events during the year. The first week of December and the first week of
March are set aside as weeks of prayer for foreign and home missions
respectively. The Lottie Moon offering goal for foreign missions is $13,-
500 and the Annie Armstrong offering goal for home missions is $6,500
for the current year.
The Woman's Missionary Union has as its purpose the encourage-
ment of missions through education and participation. The adult division
consists of two Woman's Missionary Societies, one for those women who
find it convenient to meet during the day, the other meeting in the
evening. Each W.M.S. has groups of women whose primary interest is
Bible study, prayer, or mission action in the community. Groups meet
monthly and there is a monthly general meeting of each society at which
programs concerning home and foreign missions are presented.
The Youth Division includes beginner and primary Sunbeam Bands,
Girls Auxiliaries for girls ages nine through 15, and the Young Woman's
Auxiliary for girls ages 16 to 25. These organizations attempt to educate
young people about the world, its people and its needs and to challenge
them to world concern. Young people study about missions and parti-
cipate in missions in ways appropriate to their age and experience.
Although all youth divisions are active, the G.A.s have received par-
ticular attention in the last few years. Lynne Davis, daughter of Mr. and
Mrs. John Ed Davis, was the first to attain the rank of Queen Regent in
1962 and since then her two sisters have also attained the rank: Jan
Davis in 1965 and Patty Davis in 1967. Queens Regent in 1965 also
included Kathy Daves and Lynn Miller; 1966 — Patty McBrayer; 1967 —
Joe Ann Yates; 1968 — Gwen Bissette, Pat Chamberlain, Susan Ham-
rick, Carol Mattero, Lou Ann Seism and Susan Swift.
2 >-" e « .« *-" «
£ 5, g « - ~ ^
C pj £. S - » J
E J- o
rilE B* § .•<
vO O -t "~^ CD
en e ,q o --
E ^ ~ cU ,
^ C U « > © 5-,
^ ?s >s y j? => >
* g =-- .=
o.e »\S £■>:;§ £
„ ca "J o i. a t;
■ -oO=^ o ar
r- ^_. >-> r-
3v^ J >»« « 3
-n~2 ^ — ft- ci o
> ._ "O _2 ca i — i
C^ •— D — CO »r.
O- — C3 _ 1 " CJ —>
= < — « ^J= o
r - ^ — o mj>-
o - 5. 6 = t; IE ^ <
O 2* «,"§ • go
U <s> V .E .'-> « ji - 1
' 4= o i ~
Full-time youth directors have been employed at First Baptist since
June 1, 1 95S when the Rev. James B. Sides began this new ministry
among the church's young people. Previous to the Rev. Sides joining the
church staff, part-time youth work had been shared by church personnel.
In addition to the Rev. Sides, who served until August 23, 1959,
others who have been full-time youth directors have been Miss Carole
Pearson (July, 1960 - December, 1966) and Melvyn Lee Doughty who
entered his duties on May 22, 1967.
Combining the job of young people's worker and assistant music
director was Miss Betty Purcell (Mrs. James F. McSwain) who came to
First Baptist on September 5, 1948 from First Church in Orlando, Fla.,
thus wearing the very first title as young people's director. She continued
in her dual role until January 22, 1949 after which she was assistant
to the church secretary for a short time. Miss Purcell, who brought her
merimba to Shelby and played it on numerous occasions, was a native of
Glenville, Ga., and studied at Georgia State College for Women at Mill-
The specific purpose of the youth ministry is to develop a yearly
program of activities to aid in the religious-social development of the
youth of the church. Among the activities and features involved in the
work of youth directors are the annual youth camp, Baptist Youth World
Conference, youth council, conferences and retreats, drama, afterglows,
spotlighting youth in regular services, banquets, etc.
Rev. and Mrs. Roland Leath and Rev. Sides supervised and directed
a group of forty-three young people and four adult counselors to the
fifth Baptist Youth World Conference in Toronto, Canada in the summer
In 1968, Mel Doughty supervised seven delegates who attended the
Baptist World Youth Conference in Berne, Switzerland. Delegates included
Bob and David Causby, Richard Chamberlain, Sherry Weaver, Kathy
Rogers, Kathie Royster and Suzie Connor. Adult chaperones were Mr.
and Mrs. Harold Causby and Mrs. Doughty.
Youth Week is observed annually in special activities at the church
when young people assume places of responsibility during Sunday School,
Training Union and both worship services. A climax of Youth Week
generally is a drama presented at the closing Sunday night service.
The church hosted the annual North Carolina State Training Union
Youth Convention April 29 through May 1, 1966 with young people from
over the state coming to Shelby for the three-day session. Theme of the
convention was "Jesus Revealed in Me" and Nathan Porter, associate
secretary for missionary personnel of the Home Mission Board in Atlanta
spoke in two sessions on missions and pressures on youth. John S. McGee,
missionary to Nigeria for 21 years gave an illustrated lecture on Baptist
work in Nigeria to conclude the convention.
In July, 1967 Mr. Doughty began a "Coffee House Ministry" in
quarters in the old Shelby Creamery which had been purchased by the
church. Purpose of the coffee house, named the King of Hearts, was to
reach young people with the Christian message in a manner that appealed
and was relevant to them. The program consisted of folk singing, dramas,
art interpretations, readings, skits, and stunts. Different singing groups
sang and usually the main message came through drama. The coffee
house was moved to the basement of the Clyde Short building in the
summer of 1969 after the creamery building was leveled to provide addi-
Mr. Doughty also started the King's Players drama group in the
church, the group participating in 32 plays with 95 presentations to date.
The drama group, numbering 30, performed in Raleigh, N. C, Richmond,
Va., Washington, D. C. and New York City during the Easter holidays in
1969 when they presented "Every Man". Between August 3 and August
16, 1969, a group of 22 toured 17 states performing the same drama.
The church's youth group, under Mr. Doughty's ministry, sponsored
a retreat at Ridgecrest March 21-23, 1969 when 475 young people parti-
cipated, including 90 from First Baptist. The group is anticipating another
retreat at Ridgecrest.
One new program was instituted in the summer of 1968 when a
junior camp was held at Camp Lurecrest. The group from First Baptist
numbered 100 the first year while 120 attended in the 1969 session.
The Rev. Sides, who was ordained at First Baptist on September 23,
1956, accepted the first youth directorship after having been pastor of
Mull's Chapel Church for almost two
years. He took the job with the under-
standing he would serve only until the
late summer of 1959 at which time he
would begin studies at Southeastern Bap-
tist Theological Seminary. While at the
Seminary he was also pastor of Pine
Ridge Baptist Church in Franklin county
and continued there as pastor for three
years after attending the Seminary. In
1964 he returned to Cleveland County
to pastor Pleasant Grove Baptist Church
and continued his ministry there until
January 1, 1968 when he was called to
First Baptist Church of Wadesboro. Na-
tive of Canton, he is married to the form-
er Anita Hoyle and they have one son.
iss Carole Le Verne Pearson, native of Dermott, Arkansas, accom-
much good work among the youth of the church during her six
years as youth director. Coming to Shelby
July 9, 1960, she had received her B.A.
degree from Ouachita Baptist College in
Arkadelphia, Arkansas in 1958 where
one of her favorite professors, Dr. Joseph
T. McClain, encouraged her to further
her studies in youth work. She later serv-
ed a short time under Dr. McClain's pas-
torate at First Baptist after she received
her Master of Religious Education degree
(1960) at Southwestern Baptist Theo-
logical Seminary in Fort Worth.
Miss Pearson's youth program was
outstanding for weekend revivals, Vaca-
tion Bible Schools, music and drama.
Mel Doughty, native of Mayfield, Ky., succeeded Miss Pearson on
May 22, 1967 after he had worked at Belmont Baptist Church in Roa-
noke, Va. Educated at Murray State University at Murray, Ky., where he
received his B.S. degree, he also received his M.R.E. at Southern Baptist
Theological Seminary in Louisville, Ky. serving two churches while in the
Married to the former Pat Whitthorne of Mayfield, they have two
children, Laura and Pam, and a foster daughter, Pat Shelton.
** 12 n ?r oj —
• C u q -n O
^ E .§ as » u 2 s E
W 5 c <? - S S3 • :r
■ E — ; ** S 4£ i - 13
> M cq en Q Tjj ,P"
!r « t T3 T3 "S m "£
w £ .
£ o E S-g-o | ?5.3.S
The nine stately Japanese ginkgo trees that stand between the First
Baptist Church building and North LaFayette Street, while planted for
another purpose, might well be considered as "living monuments" to
the church Brotherhood
The transplanting of these trees — one for each of nine servicemen
from the First Baptist Church who died for their country during World
War II — was one of the initial, if not the first, projects undertaken
by the Brotherhood after its organization.
In the spring of 1947, about a year and a half after the cessation
of hostilities of World War II, a group of consecrated veterans, many
of whom having had narrow escapes in battle, felt that they wanted to
band themselves together in some kind of organization to promote
the Lord's work.
The result was the establishment of what they called the Veterans
Brotherhood. There were approximately 30 laymen as members.
First president of the group was F. O. (Red) Champion, who later
became the first president of the Brotherhood in the Kings Mountain
Association and, still later, president of
the state brotherhood organization.
Other officers elected were: J. Ollie
Harris, vice-president; Pegram Holland
and Rush Hamrick, Jr., secretaries; and
Harold Reber, treasurer.
In this same year, Horace Easom,
who for several years had served as di-
rector of music and education at the
First Baptist Church, was elected State
Brotherhood Secretary and was asked to
spearhead a campaign to raise one and a
half million dollars through the Baptist
churches of the state for the purpose of
^A relocating and enlarging Wake Forest
.^■1 j College. He was also asked to serve as
/ jgk executive secretary of the Baptist Found-
mk 'flB ation.
F. O. Champion
It was natural that Mr. Easom came back to his own Veterans Broth-
erhood and began encouraging it to take the lead in "beefing up" the
brotherhood program — still in its infancy — in the association. At
that time there were no such men's organizations in the association. . But,
3 £ £ B 3 ^^^
3 «i^« -s
Xt > to *£ >>^
Sx js g £ u .
— u3_s n >-" s v} . 5 u.
^ to '
• to H
** to ^ X b 8« £ >-
W>B fci^ o 3 X O X
U C8 3 X. r" P ** -a.
- " > I §
C . O *j *o . e ■* X ca n
— Ej JJ O — .
x = "^ *t" — *S Jz w *^ •** rh
OC >- ■ X
3 «- u'X\ M ■ « *V „ U
x o to „ m> S «3 — « a
C_J ""i "T 1- t" 4) i. tJJ (jn w
— "O X «
U. 3 2 U "7T,- £ 3 2- c U
■« 3* q ."Sort O.S2
•S J Jx „^'
o. ;. t >*2 P
<*• . — 1 ^ c Cj
i UJ o
. « 3
" a ea
£^x£ 3 £5 -
a) C -a
X u e
> C8 — U J2
u. a 5 c t £ 9
2.--.X gs >>
2 I «$ g-.| ^ x
S !;£•>« -8
£•*** . to es >
•» - T3 u «- *
-- s — —
O £■— *£ 3 wqxx u
>"-2 o £« o ^ "-?£
<-= = 3 -E u-a „*- u§
5 = N -5 0. * H b£ 3 »
Z — . g £ •o v j;<u
just a short while later, there were 48 Brotherhood groups in the Kings
Mountain Association, and the movement was catching on around the
state. And, within the next five or six years, Mr. Easom reported more
than a thousand organizations in North Carolina.
At the outset of this movement, the name of the group was changed
from Veterans Brotherhood simply to First Baptist Brotherhood, and all
male members of the church became eligible for membership.
Simultaneously with the planting of the Japanese ginkgo trees —
which were chosen, perhaps, for two reasons: their slow growth and
because many of the Veterans Brotherhood members had served in the
Far East — the Brotherhood began exploring areas of possible assistance
in the field of missions.
Much of the credit for the steady increase in foreign missions sup-
port that has personified the First Baptist Church of Shelby among
other churches of the state, in recent years, may go to the Brotherhood.
With an objective of sending one medical missionary to Japan, the
Brotherhood found itself contributing to the support of some 1 or 12
missionaries at one time. And one member of the group, personally,
supported a medical missionary to China. At some later date, the
church assumed the financial undergirding and the direction of the
The planting of the trees and the budding mission program were,
however, but two of a number of significant programs initiated and car
ned out by the First Baptist Brotherhood.
Shortly after the coming of Dr. Harlan Harris to the First Baptise
Church, first as assistant pastor and then as pastor, the Fisherman's CluD
was organized within the Brotherhood for the express purpose of visit-
ing in behalf of the church and winning souls for Christ.
Again, much of the credit for the present Baptist Laymen's Witness-
ing Foundation, which has headquarters at Hickory, N. C. and which
schedules and conducts revivals by laymen throughout the Southeast, must
go to the First Baptist Brotherhood of Shelby. This Baptist foundation was
set up as a result of the interest of F. O. Champion during his term
of office as state brotherhood president.
There are other brotherhood projects that have been of immeasur-
able value to the church, one of the more noteworthy of them being the
sponsorship of the Royal Ambassadors. Other projects include the Broth-
erhood Chorus, which sings one Sunday evening in each month; service
in helping the handicapped to attend church services; distribution of
food and other necessities to needy families; and so on.
"Baptist Men's Day" is observed one Sunday annually when lay-
men take over responsible duties in regular services, such as reading
the Scriptures, leading prayers and special music.
The planting of the ginkgo trees, which took place on the sixth
anniversary of the bombing of Pearl Harbor, was only a beginning.
Down through the years, since 1947, a number of other First Bap-
tist laymen have led in a fine way, and the Brotherhood has grown, both
in number and in its effectiveness.
Presidents succeeding "Red" Champion as the first president were:
O. V. Hamrick, Jr., 1948; L. J. (Bill) Baley, 1949; J. Reid Misenheimer,
1950; Mai A. Spongier, Jr., 1951; Jack Ramsey, 1952-53; James Kend-
rick, 1954; J. Lowery Austell, 1955; George V. Byrd, 1956-57; W. B.
Wilder, 1958; James Wright, 1959; J. C. Bissette, 1960-61; Ralph
Blackstock, 1962-63; Paul Wilson, 1964; Glenn Brooks, 1965; George
Hamrick, 1966; Hugh Mauney, 1967; and Lloyd Bost, 1968-69.
The Brotherhood has a membership of approximately 110 members
at present but in 1967 had 214 members enrolled for the largest mem-
bership of any church in the state.
Records reveal that the first Training Union organizations were set
up at First Baptist in the fall of 1912 with E. A. Ruppe, the church's
first paid director of education and music, leading in the organization
which was then called the Baptist Young Peoples Union ... or more
During the years between 1912 and 1929, the BYPU grew to include
seven organizations. While the church was undergoing a renovation and
remodeling program in 1929 services were held in the old Shelby High
School building and while meeting there leaders made definite plans
to enlarge the training program and the name was changed to the
Baptist Training Union. The new name emphasized the new purpose
of training adults as well as young people.
As new church facilities were completed and reoccupied, eleven
unions were organized and active, one of which was an adult union led
by J. A. Liles. The entire organization was departmentalized almost
along Sunday School lines and grew very rapidly, in 1963 becoming the
largest Training Union in the state of North Carolina. In fact, the TU
has always been recognized by the state leaders as one of the largest and
has held a reputation for excellence in the Baptist State Convention.
Of interest in the early Training Union period was the forming of
the "Baby Union" when mothers came with their little children and re-
mained in the room while the program was being carried out. Often
there were as many as 50 in the group.
Another attractive feature of the Training Union was that of the
"Closing Assembly" which was held in the church auditorium prior to
the evening service. Large groups attended to enjoy some special fea-
ture which would interpret the purpose of the TU and much time was
spent on preparations for the regular Sunday evening program. An
illustration is that of carrying out a wedding when "Miss Training Union
married Mr. Preaching Attendance."
There are currently three adult departments with eight unions; one
department with three unions for young people; one department with
five unions for intermediates; two departments with eight unions for
juniors; three primary departments; three departments for primaries; and
four nursery departments.
Training Union enrollment stands at 545, which ranks in fifth
position in the state.
Leaders in the BYPU and TU through the years include:
E. A. Ruppe 1912-1913 Wyan Washburn 1935-1936
1920-1921 Horace Easom 1937-1946
H. M. Pippin 1924-1927 Wilbur Wilson 1947-1948
J. 0. Reynolds 1927-1928 L. T. Hamrick 1949-1958
John A. Liles 1928-1929 W. D. Kiser 1959-1963
Horace Easom 1930-1934 J. C. Bissette 1964-1969
RECEIVED CURVED BAR in 1962: seated, Vicki Stallings, Virginia Raynor, Carol
Rollins, Patsy Love, Cathy Smith. Susie Kendrick. Standing, Daria Wilson, Gayle
Baker, Marsha Young, Elizabeth Ann Hamrick, Barbara Wolfe, Toni Strickland,
lane Ann Best, Lynn Spangler.
TU PROGRAM ON MISSIONS in 1963: Jane Spangler, Patty McBrayer, Lee Esk-
ridge, Sue Steadman and Drew Hendricks.
Few churches can boast of its prominence in a nationwide movement
as can the First Baptist Church when relating to the Boy Scout program
for it was one of the church's most stalwart members, Judge E. Y. Webb,
who introduced in the United States Congress the bill which led to the
national charter of Boy Scouts of America.
Judge Webb, who had always been a strong supporter of scouting
and at the time was a Congressman, led on effort before Congress which
was climaxed on June 15, 1916 when both houses granted to the scouts
a national charter. In 1923 Judge Webb headed the organization of the
first Boy Scout troop in Cleveland County which was at Shelby's First
Presbyterian Church. The second Boy Scout troop to be organized was at
First Baptist Church in 1927 with Henry B. Edwards as Scoutmaster and
Dr. H. S. Plaster assistant.
The Piedmont Council was also organized by Judge Webb and was
first comprised of five counties. Today the council involves Scouting in
1 1 counties.
The First Baptist Church troop was formerly called Troop No. 2 when
organized by Edwards and Dr. Plaster in 1927 and has been a continuous
charter since. The two leaders were also active in initiating troops at
Belwood, Dover and Shelby Mill.
In a transition period all over the council, individual troops were
given new numbers and the church troop on a re-registration in February,
1 961 became Troop 101. Since 1 967 the county has been officially known
as the Battleground district of the Piedmont Council.
Scouts in the early troops will no doubt retain fond memories of
their first camping trips which took them to the E. F. McKinney farm on
North LaFayette Street Extension. Mr. McKinney allowed the troop to use
a site at the bend of the river and it was not long before the scouts built
a log cabin about 40 feet long and 35 feet wide which afterwards housed
much of the scouting activities. The scouts gathered at the church on
Friday afternoons, especially in the summer and early fall, and in uniform
marched to the cabin "army style." They worked on their various merit
badges and enjoyed swimming in the river.
Among the first scouts to enjoy the program were Alfred Eskridge,
George Blanton, Jr., Joe and Lyle Thompson, Zeno Wall, Jr., Oakland
Morrison and H. A. Logan, Jr.
In the early years of scouting, the troop put on demonstrations and
participated in competitive events in a roped off portion of the street at
the corner of Marion and Washington. The Cleveland County Fair has
always offered space for Scout exhibits in which the troop has entered.
The opening of Lake Lanier at Tryon in 1927 was simultaneous with
the church's scouting program and enhanced its popularity among the
youngsters. Scoutmaster Edwards accompanied his troop on an encamp-
ment to Lake Lanier the first summer of its operation and it has since
been a regular event. In fact, the first years of scouting in the church
were very active and held much interest among the boys 12 years of age
Later years found the scouting program carried out in the metal
building back of the church, just outside the kitchen. Today scouts meet
in the Clyde Short building where much of the youth program is carried
Scout week is observed annually in February and one service during
the month highlights the Scouting movement. Scouts from the church also
participate in local activities each year when city and county governments
turn ther offices over to them for a day.
Among those from First Baptist who have attained the Eagle rank
are: Mai Spongier, Jr., Alfred Eskridge, Zeno Wall, Jr., George Blanton,
Jr., Edward Washburn, Oakland Morrison, H. A. Logan, Jr., Edwin Spong-
ier, Eugene Poston, Jack Ramsey, Avery W. McMurry, Rush Hamrick, Jr.,
Rush Hamrick, III, Dick Lackey, John A. Wells, David Royster, Dahl
Freeman, Dennis King, Harry L. Nolan, Jr., Bob Yelton, Don Yelton, Ben
Gilliatt, Bryant Wilder, Max Daves, Jr., Charles Nolan, Vance Suttle,
Harry Ramsey, Teddy Booker, Steven Costner, Charles P. Swift and Jimmy
Many persons have been active in the church's scouting program
and devoted many years of service but probably the most enthusiastic and
dedicated tenures have been those of Dr. H. S. Plaster who, since the
formation and chartering of the troop, has served in about every capacity.
Too, he has fulfilled many duties in the Cleveland district, which is now
known as the Battleground district. In addition to his work with the church
troop he has served as president of the Piedmont Council (1965-67);
chairman of the Piedmont Council Health and Safety Committee (1953-
64); and is at present vice president of the Council. He has received
scouting's highest honors: the Scouters Award, the Scoutmaster's Key,
Silver Beaver and Wood Badge.
At impressive ceremonies on February 13, 1968 at the Piedmont
Council Scout Banquet, Dr. Avery W. McMurry and John McMurry re-
ceived the highest honors the Council can confer on adult leadership -
the Silver Beaver Award. This was an unusual event in that never before
had brothers received the award simultaneously.
It is also believed that the church is one of very few which can
boast of having three members who have been awarded the Silver Beaver.
Dr. McMurry has served seven years on the district level, first as vice
chairman and then chairman of the Cleveland District. He is presently
on the advisory committee of the Piedmont Council. He organized and
is chairman of the Medical Explorer Post at Cleveland Memorial Hospital
and in July, 1969 served as Medical officer at the Seventh National Jam-
boree in Farragut, Idaho. John McMurry has worked with Exploring for
10 years and served as advisor to the Explorers in the Council cabinet.
He is presently training chairman for Exploring in the Piedmont Council.
J. Alvin Propst, who organized the Belwood troop in 1928 and was
scoutmaster at First Baptist in the early 1930s, earned 1 10 merit badges
in. his scouting career which spanned 25 years. An Eagle scout, he won
the Scoutmasters Key and was chairman of the Piedmont Council for sev-
ACTIVE SCOUTERS— left to right: James Jordan, Dr. H. S.
Plaster, Dr. A. W. McMurry, John McMurry.
Records of the scouting program at the church have not been kept
in permanent file through the years and it has been difficult to determine
years of service of many leaders. It is believed the names of Scoutmasters
and their terms are as follows:
Henry B. Edwards
J. Alvin Propst
Dr. Wyan Washburn
H. A. Logan, Jr.
J. Alvin Propst
Dr. B. M. Jarrett
Harold W. Causby
Julian W. Hamrick
Robert K. Wilson, Sr.
Dr. Hubert Plaster
Charles A. Horn
Dr. John D. Baker
W. Gerald Osborne
The Cub Scout program was officially chartered November 29, 1953
at First Baptist with R. K. Wilson as leader and Randolph Martin assist-
ant. Wilson, who has been active in scouting many years, continued as
cub leader until 1957 when Ed Young became leader and served for nine
years, until 1966. Young was awarded the Scouter's Key for helping set
up cub packs over the county. David Jay succeeded Young and continues
in his role today as cub leader.
The Girl Scouts were organized at First Baptist in 1944 and chartered
in 1945. Among the first leaders were Miss Carolyn Williams (Mrs. Jim-
my Freeman), Miss Millie Hicks (Mrs. W. J. Jones, Jr.) and Miss Marga-
ret Long (Mrs. Bob Callahan) .
Several girls in the church earned their Curved Bars, the highest
award bestowed, before Girl Scouting was discontinued as a church pro-
First to receive the Curved Bar in June, 1955 were Montrose Mea-
cham and Lynn Blanton.
In February, 1961, under the leadership of Mrs. C. H. Blanton and
Mrs. Jimmy Blanton, the following received the Curved Bar: Jonanna
Allen, Elizabeth Ann Blanton, Cindy Blanton, Rosalind Ramsey, Lynn
Hamrick, Cecilia Butler, Diane White, Judy Jones and Patty Bowers.
Under the leadership of Mrs. Ned Smith and Mrs. John Kendrick,
those who received the Curved Bar in March, 1962 were Jane Ann Best,
Toni Strickland, Lynn Spangler, Patsy Love, Marsha Young, Virginia Ray-
nor, Elizabeth Ann Hamrick, Vickie Stal lings, Susie Kendrick and Cathy
1847 — 1969
REV. JAMES MILTON WEBB
First pastor of First Baptist Church was James Milton
Webb, native of Rutherford County who accepted the pas-
torate on June 19, 1847 and served until December 23,
1849. He was for many years a leading minister of Cleve-
land and Rutherford
counties and also serv-
ed both the Broad Riv-
er and the Green River
Associations as mode-
rator and clerk.
Born October 7,
1 802, he grew to young
manhood on his fath-
er's farm in Rutherford
county, and the first
years of his life were
perhaps no more event-
ful than those of many
other young men of his
day. However, he did
secure an education
above the average for
his day, entering the
ministry in 1833 and
ordained in 1834.
He was elected to
the North Carolina
General Assembly from
Rutherford County at the age of 26 and represented Ruth-
erford County in the N. C. Legislature in the years 1828,
1830 and 1831. In addition to being a legislator and a
minister, he was clerk of superior court of Rutherford Coun-
ty for 16 years, from 1833 to 1848, and a newspaper edi-
tor and publisher.
At one time in Rev. Webb's career he was a news-
paper editor, minister, and clerk of court at the same time.
Twice married, his first wife was Miss Katherine
White and to this union were born thirteen children, ten
sons and three daughters. His second wife was Miss
Nancy Hampton and to this union were born two sons and
The Rev. Webb died April 24, 1854 and was buried
in the garden of his old home and later moved, in June,
1966, to Concord Baptist church in Rutherford county
where he held his first pastorate from 1834 until Decem-
Rev. Webb was the great-grandfather of Shelby's be-
loved Mrs. 0. Max Gardner who died January 16, 1969 at
the age of 83.
REV. M. C. BARNETT
Serving the Shelby Baptist Church in two different
pastorates, the Rev. M. C. Barnett came first on December
31, 1849 and continued until November 30, 1850. He ac-
cepted a second call to the church on January 22, 1866
and remained until De-
cember 31, 1870.
Born May 20, 1818
in Spartanburg County,
S. C, his early educa-
tion was very limited
but by hard work and
constant devotion to his
studies he became one
of the best educated
men of his day. The
Rev. Barnett was or-
dained a Baptist min-
ister in March, 1843 at
Cedar Springs Church,
his home church near
Spartanburg, S. C.
He was married to
Miss Nazareth Lips-
Rev. Barnett died in
Shelby on September
20, 1 872 and was bur-
ied at El Bethel Baptist Church in York County, S. C.
REV. WADE HILL
d srent crimes ~ _ ■ ~ _ z . e t i rst
::'"-- ng uint December :" the
pastorate beoain February 'I "H
_ n 3 nsts
" • : temtiei
Laumty Jury Z : ;
--, — ; _ ~"- _ 'i were
act e ster □ fe h
z a sneer dh r — r :~ :-
an red a area! Jea :~
... _ .
And thou skalt '.::-: the Lard thq 3 ; r2 .. -" :"' £ft -ce
heart tmd with aM thy semi .: .: .. thaUth^ might DetLter-
REV. A. J. CANSLER
A. J. Cansler was born May 26, 1 825 in Lincoln Coun-
ty and was educated in the Lincolnton schools before going
to the University of North Carolina where he studied law,
graduating in the class of 1847.
Rev. Cansler began
the practice of law but
gave it up shortly after
his marriage to Miss
Mary Ann Martin of
Wilkes County, an ac-
complished lady and
devoted christian. He
was converted and
baptized by the Rev.
Wade Hill who influ-
enced him to become
a minister, and was or-
dained to preach in
He was pastor of
Shelby Baptist Church
from January, 1853
until December 31,
He also published
for a short time in Shel-
by "The Carolina In-
telligencer", which was the first or second newspaper pub-
lished in Cleveland County. He moved to the state of
Arkansas and after residing there for a few years died on
February 24, 1872.
Son of Sheriff Henry Cansler of Lincoln county, Rev.
Cansler's diary revealed that he baptised 3,000 persons
during his ministry. He was elected clerk of the Broad
River Association in 1853.
It was said that the Rev. Cansler indulged too freely
in pipe smoking and folks said that the excessive use of
tobacco was an evil. His diary showed that he baptized
around three thousand people during his ministry.
"A good name is rather to be chosen than great riches,
and loving favour rather than silver and gold." Proverbs 22:1
REV. THOMAS DIXON
Thomas Dixon was born December 24, 1820 in what
is now Cherokee County, South Carolina — just across the
state line near Grover and the Kings Mountain Battle-
He was the son of
David and Suzannah
Hambright Dixon and
a grandson of Freder-
ick Hambright, hero of
the Battle of Kings
Mountain. His father
died at on early age,
leaving him to support
his mother and three
younger children o n
the farm. His mother
lived to be one hundred
and four years of age.
At the age of eigh-
teen, he was baptized
at the Antioch Church
near Grover and was
ordained to preach in
1844. In 1848 he mar-
ried Amanda Elizabeth
daughter of Abner Mc-
Afee. To this union
were born three sons and two daughters. . One of the sons,
A. Clarence was a preacher; Tom, Jr. was a lawyer, preach-
er, author (famous for "The Clansman" which was "Birth
of a Nation" on the screen), actor and motion picture di-
rector; and Frank was a preacher and lecturer. Of the
daughters, Delia Dixon Carroll was the first woman doc-
tor in North Carolina and was physician at Meredith Col-
lege. Addie Dixon Thacker was a writer.
The Rev. Dixon fell heir to thirty-two slaves from his
father-in-law and in 1860 he migrated to Little Rock, Ark-
ansas with his slaves where land was cheaper and the agi-
tation over slavery less acute. When slaves were freed,
his slaves left to be on their own also. However, within a
year all had returned and asked him to take them back.
They told him they enjoyed better food, clothes and atten-
tion while they were with him than they had known since
their freedom. Due to the Northern occupation of the
South, it was not possible for him to take them back.
In 1851 the Kings Mountain Association was organiz-
ed and Thomas Dixon was first moderator.
He served as pastor of Shelby First Baptist Church
from January to December, 1857 and from January to De-
In 1881 he served four churches at the same time—
Antioch and Buffalo in South Carolina and Sandy Run and
New Bethel in North Carolina. For his year's work in these
churches he received $100 plus poundings from his church
members. He was pastor of the Buffalo Church for more
than 40 years and of New Prospect Church for 55 years.
He was buried at New Prospect May 1, 1909.
The Rev. Dixon organized twenty Baptist churches,
baptized over 6,000 persons and married more than 5,000
couples. He was never late for any of his services.
DR. E. A. CRAWLEY
A very learned person and widely traveled, Dr. E. A.
Crawley twice served as pastor of Shelby Baptist Church.
His first pastorate began on January 1, 1861 and continu-
ed until February 15, 1863 while his second pastorate was
a very short one — from
September 3, 1864 un-
til January 1, 1865.
Born in England and
brought up in Canada,
Dr. Crawley graduated
from Kings College,
Nova Scotia in 1819.
He gave up the prac-
tice of law in 1 827 and
studied Biblical Inter-
pretation under Profes-
sor Moses Stuart at
Andover, later was or-
dained at Providence,
Rhode Island in 1830.
Brown University hon-
ored him in 1846 with
the Doctor of Divinity
He was pastor of
Granville Street Baptist
Church i n Halifax,
Nova Scotia for thir-
teen years and became president of Acadia College in Nova
Scotia in 1854.
Dr. Crawley came to the United States about 1860
and spent seven years in this country, returning to Canada
in 1 867 to again become president of Acadia College.
He also served as principal of the Roberts Female
Academy in Shelby.
REV. TILLMAN R. GAINES
Born October 27, 1834, Tillman R. Gaines was a na-
tive of Greenville, South Carolina. He attended rural
schools during his youth and was taught to farm until he
was fifteen years old at which time he learned the carriage
making trade at home
in his father's shop,
where he worked until
he was twenty years
Entering F u rm a n
University in 1 854, he
studied literary and
scientific courses, grad-
uating in 1860.
the Rev. Gaines studied
a year at Southern Bap-
tist Theological Semi-
nary, leaving the sem-
inary in the fall of
1861 to volunteer as a
private. He entered
Company A, 16th S. C.
Regiment, and served
about one year as
He became pastor of
Shelby Baptist Church in February, 1 863 and while here or-
ganized "The Shelby Female Academy." Also during his
pastorate here the first Sunday School was organized with
the Rev. G. M. Webb assisting him in 1864.
In his later years he turned his attention from the
ministry to other lines of activity, mostly the editing of re-
ligious papers in South Carolina.
He was married to Miss Julia Ellen Gaffney.
It is recorded that he baptized fifty people during his
ministry as pastor of Shelby Baptist Church.
1 1 1
DR. NEEDHAM B. COBB
Dr. Needham B. Cobb came to Shelby Baptist Church
in January, 1870 and continued his ministry here until De-
cember, 1872, later becoming president of the North Caro-
lina Baptist Convention in which capacity he served from
Born in Jones Coun-
ty, North. Carolina on
February 1, 1836, he
was graduated from the
University of North
Carolina in 1854 and
taught school in Wayne
and Cabarrus Counties
for three years. He
then studied and prac-
ticed law for a few
years before entering
the ministry. He was
a member of the Epis-
copal Church until
1 859 when he became
a Baptist and was or-
dained to preach in
Dr. Cobb was chap-
lain of the 4th N. C.
Regiment during the
Civil War from 1862
until the end of the war. He became corresponding secre-
tary of the Sunday School Board and served as pastor of
Baptist churches at Elizabeth City, N. C, Portsmouth, Va.,
Shelby, Rockingham and Fayetteville.
Dr. Cobb and Dr. J. D. Hufham, both of whom were
to become pastors of Shelby Baptist Church, published The
Daily Record in Raleigh after the Civil War. At one time
Dr. Cobb was state superintendent of the Baptist Sunday
School Board. He was the first person to receive the M. A.
degree at the University of North Carolina in 1856. The
degree of Doctor of Divinity was conferred upon him in
1889 by Judson College and he was aiso the first short-
hand teacher in North Carolina and was known as a his-
torian of his state and his denomination.
Rev. Cobb was the father of Collier Cobb, a child prod-
igy and Kenan Professor of Geology at the University of
North Carolina for 40 years who died at age 72 in 1943.
Rev Cobb's daughter, Lucy M. Cobb, died July 6, 1969 at
age 91 at her home in Chapel Hill She was the author of
A Gift for Penelope, Gaius and Gaius, Jr and The Preach-
REV. A. L STOUGH
A. L Stough was born in Hamburg, Germany on Feb-
ruary 28, 1825 and was educated for the Catholic priest-
hood in Hamburg However, he came to Norfolk, Va , in
1847 and became a Baptist, studying theology under Dr
George W Purefoy for
two years before be-
coming a Baptist
preacher in the Sandy
Creek Association of
Virginia. He was a
chaplain in the Con-
federate Army during
the War Between the
Pastor of Shelby
Baptist Church from
1875 through 1879,
Rev. Stough was a
Baptist preacher for
more than 60 years.
He left Shelby to
preach in Mecklenburg
County until his death
on December 28, 1909.
He is buried in the
cemetery at Flint Hill
Church in York County,
S. C , where he preached for 19 years.
The Stough Memorial Church in Pineville, N. C. was
organized by him in 1903.
''Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your
hearts before him." Psalm 62:8
REV. J. A. WHITE
The Rev. J. A White's pastorate at Shelby Baptist
Church was very short, from March 15, 1 S80 until Au-
gust 26, 1880 and is the shortest on record of this church.
He moved to Shelby as principal of Shelbv High School
and rendered satisfac-
tory service there for
several years, accord-
ing to records, and it
was while he was serv-
ing as principal that
he postered this church.
Born in Winston-
Salem en November 1 ,
1 846, he was educated
at Wake Forest College
and followed both
teaching and preach-
ing careers for about
fifty years. After leav-
ing Shelby he was pas-
tor of the Blacksburg,
S. C. Baptist Church as
well as being principal
of the high school
In 1 892 he moved to
Taylorsville and there
organized the Taylors-
ville Collegiate Institute, now out of existence. In 1898 he
moved to Lenoir where he was principal of the school there
and later taught in the Appalachian Training School at
Boone. He moved to Murphy, taught there, and finally
returned to Taylorsville where he died April 5, 1922.
He was married to Miss Maggie Sharpe of Alexan-
der County, and four of their seven children were born in
Rev. White was the uncle of Rev. Lee McBride White
who was pastor in 1917-18.
"'Keep my commandments, and live: and my law as the
apple of thine eye." Proverbs 1:2
DR. W. A. NELSON
Dr. W. A. Nelson was born in Jefferson County, Ten-
nessee on July 1, 1837 and graduated from Carson-New-
man College in 1 859. He was ordained to preach in 1 860.
Dr. Nelson served as pastor of the Shelby Baptist
Church from August
26, 1880 until Septem-
ber 30, 1883. While
here he was largely in-
strumental in further
promoting the Shelby
Female College which
for a number of years
rendered great service
to the young woman-
hood of this section.
It was during this
pastorate that the
church and Sunday
School first took a de-
cisive step forward, the
secret of Dr. Nelson's
success being that he
found a place for every
member to work and
put the member to
work in that place.
He was at one time
president of Judson
College and held many prominent pastorates after leav-
"And the lord said- unto the servant. Go out into the
highways and hedges, and compel them to come in that my
house may be filled." St. Luke 15:23
"Behold. I stand at the door, and knock: if any man
hear my voice and open the door. I will come in to him.
and will sup with him, and he with me." Revelation 3:20
REV. R. D. MALLARY
t *P sl,0l *'****K.
The Rev. R. D. Mallary served three interim pastor-
ates of Shelby Baptist Church, the first from September 30,
1883 until January 1,
1 884; the second from
September 1 , 1 885 un-
til November 1, 1 885;
and thirdly, from Au-
ust 10, 1887 until No-
vember 15, 1887.
Born in South Caro-
olina and reared in
Georgia, Rev. Mallary
was ordained to the
work of the ministry in
Albany, Ga. He was
also head of the Shelby
Female College for sev-
Before the Civil War
he was connected with
the Georgia Female
College, Madison, Ga.
Following the Civil War
he was head of the Un-
ion Female college at
Eufala, Ala., and for
six years before coming
to Shelby was president
of Shorter College in
"Praise ye the Lord. O give thanks unto the Lord; for
he is good; for his mercy endureth for ever." Psalms 106:1
"A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous ivords
stir up anger. The tongue of the ivise useth knowledge
aright: but the mouth of fools poureth out foolishness." Pro-
REV. W. B. BUSSEY
The Rev. W. B. Bus-
sey, native of Georgia,
served a little less than
two years as pastor of
the Shelby Baptist
Church, resigning to
accept a pastorate in
his native state.
Much of the spirit of
progress manifested by
the church under Dr.
Nelson continued un-
der Rev. Bussey. The
Christ-like spirit of this
faithful servant won
for him the love of all
who knew him.
His pastorate was
from January 1, 1884
until September 2,
Little else is known
or has been recorded of
DR. W. H. STRICKLAND
Dr. W. H. Strickland
served as pastor from
November 1 , 1 885 un-
til June 27, 1887. He
was a man of marked
ability and of learning
but his pastorate was
too short to accomplish
a great deal in church
Very little is known
of his work after leav-
ing this pastorate ex-
cept that he became
of the South Carolina
Home Mission Board.
REV. J. M. McMANAWAY
The Rev. J. M. McManaway was born in Virginia, edu-
cated at Richmond College and at the Southern Baptist
Theological Seminary. He was pastor of churches in Vir-
ginia, Indiana and Kentucky before coming to North Caro-
lina where he served
pastorates at Wilson,
Tarboro and Shelby.
After leaving Shelby he
pastored churches in
Louisiana and Missouri.
It was during his
pastorate at Shelby
Baptist from Novem-
ber 15, 1887 until
June 1, 1890 that the
second building was
erected on the present
church site. He was
in leading the church
to do greater things in
a financial way as well
was considered a good
pastor and Bible
preacher, referring to
scriptures as background for all his propositions. He held
several prominent pastorates after leaving Shelby Baptist
Church but was an invalid for a number of years prior to
his death in 1922 in the state of Virginia.
"Bless the Lord O my soul; and all that is within me,
bless his holy name." Psalm 103:1
"I will praise thee, O Lord, with my whole heart; I will
shew forth all thy marvelous work." Psalm 9:1
REV. G. P. HAMRICK
The carillonic bells in First Baptist Church that are
heard today were dedicated in memory of the Rev. and Mrs.
G. P. Hamrick by their son, Earle A. Hamrick and family
Much of the prog-
ress in the Baptist de-
nomination in this sec-
tion of the Carolinas is
owed to the leadership
of the Rev. Hamrick,
who was pastor of this
church from July 1,
1890 until February 1,
1892. Ordained in Jan-
uary, 1 880 he held pas-
torates in Grover, Boil-
ing Springs, Asheville,
Biltmore, Canton and
Shelby in North Caro-
lina; Buffalo, Pacolet
and Fingerville in South
Rev. Hamrick was
b or n in Cleveland
County near Boiling
Springs on August 23,
1849 and joined the
Boiling Springs church
in 1863. He was educated at Wake Forest College from
which he graduated in 1879, and also graduated from
Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
Rev. Hamrick was married to Miss Sarah (Sallie)
Anthony, also of Cleveland County, on Christmas Day,
1 884. Rev. Hamrick died October 1 5, 1 924 and Mrs. Ham-
rick died in the spring of 1944. Both are buried in Sunset
In addition to the ministry Rev. Hamrick was a suc-
cessful business man and was connected with Limestone
and Hamrick Mills in Gaffney, S. C. He was instrumental
in the organization of Eastside and Dover Baptist churches.
His pastorates spanned a period of forty years.
REV. J. L SPROLES
The Rev. J. L.
Sproles has been First
Baptist Church's only
bachelor pastor and he
served from February
1, 1892 until March 5,
1894 He held many
after leaving the Shel-
A young man cf
striking personality and
a good preacher, the
Rev. Sproles was a
roommate at Southern
B a p t is t Theological
Seminary of the Rev.
John W. Suttle, Bap-
tist minister of Cleve-
land county for 65
years, and he officiated
at the marriage of Mr.
and Mrs. Suttle in
Rev. Sproles was pastor when Miss Ollie Hamrick, the
church's oldest member, was baptised and she has in her
possession a small Testament he gave to her when she was
a member of the Sunday School class he also taught.
Rev. Sproles moved to California shortly after leaving
Shelby and corresponded with Rev. and Mrs. Suttle for a
short while. Nothing has been heard from him since early
"Know ye that the Lord he is God; it is he that hath
made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people and the
sheep of his pasture." Psalm, 100:3
DR. J. D. HUFHAM
Dr. J. D. Hufham was born on May 26, 1834 at Me-
bane, N. C. and received his education in the Mebane
schools and Wake Forest College, from which he graduated
Dr. Hufham was an
active and leading
member of the Baptist
State Convention of
North Carolina and
held many positions of
honor and trust. He
was corresponding sec-
retary of the conven-
tion and editor of the
Biblical Recorder dur-
ing the Civil War years
of 1861-1867. The Bib-
lical Recorder was the
only religious paper in
the south that con-
tinued publication dur-
ing the Civil War.
Dr. Hufham served
this church as pastor
from May 1, 1894 un-
til October 1, 1896.
He died in Mebane on
March 27, 1921.
"The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my
shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my
refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence." 2 Sam-
REV. R. F. TREDWAY
In the six years the Rev. R. F. Tredway pastored first
Baptist Church he greatly endeared himself to the church
and to the people of this community. Beginning his pas-
torate in 1 896, he con-
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ tinued until December,
1902 when he resigned
to become pastor of
Clayton Street Church
in Montgomery, Ala.
Born at Chatham,
Va. on December 25.
1858. Rev. Tredway
was the son of W. M.
Tredway and Rebecca
C. Martin and one his-
torian said "he came
into the world with
some of the best Vir-
ginia blood flowing in
As a mere lad he
was converted and bap-
tized under the preach-
ing of Dr. W. S. Pen-
ick, a lifelong friend.
After his college and
theological course he
was called to some country churches in his native Virginia
where he did faithful and lasting service. In 1894 through
the influence of Dr. Penick he went to Louisiana and ac-
cepted the care of the church at Mansfield and it was here
he met Miss Margaret (Margie! Cunningham, a beautiful,
gifted and consecrated young lady to whom he was mar-
ried in 1897.
Following a most successful pastorate at Mansfield
he was called to our church and after leaving Shelby for
the Montgomery church, he later returned to Mansfield to
do another splendid work as pastor where it was written
that "No man has ever made the empress upon the Mans-
field church and community that this man did."
From Mansfield he went to the First Baptist Church
of Camden, Ark., and here he was in his last pastorate and
did his crowning work as pastor. Later he returned to
Louisiana and was called to the evangelistic work under
the State Mission Board. After a year's successful service
he was called as on evangelist by the Southern Baptist
Home Mission Board and his work here until his death was
eminently satisfactory. In the very last meeting he held in
Alabama, there were more conversions and additions to
the church at which he preached than any other in the
campaign. He returned from this meeting and died a few
days later of pneumonia on January 3. 1913.
DR. W. D. HUBBARD
Dr. W. D. Hubbard came to the Shelby Baptist Church
after resigning his pastorate at Tabernacle Church in Ra-
leigh and served our
church for more than
one year. His pastorate
began on January 1 1 ,
1903 and concluded
on February 14, 1904,
and he accepted the
call with the under-
standing that it would
During his brief min-
istry here, he endeared
himself to every mem-
ber of the church and
to all citizens of Shel-
by. He went from Shel-
by to Troy and then to
Dr. Hubbard preach-
ed the Thanksgiving
and Dedication service
on the 75th anniver-
sary of our church in
"A good man obtaineth a favour of the Lord; but a man
of wicked devices will he condemn," Proverbs 12:2
REV. M. E. PARRISH
The Rev. M. E. Parrish came to Shelby from First Bap-
tist Church in Salisbury and served almost five years, from
February 24, 1904 un-
til November 1, 1908.
He left Shelby to ac-
cept a pastorate at
Portsmouth, Va., where
he served with marked
success until his death
on June 11, 1910.
Rev. Parrish was a
man of marked ability
and enthusiasm and it
is written that he ac-
complished much for
the Master while pas-
tor of this church. He
had the desire to erect
a new building while
he was here but the
church was not ready
to undertake this task.
Rev. Parrish was c
native of Virginia and
graduated from Rich-
mond College with an
M. A. Degree in 1
"Lying lips are abomination to the Lord: but they that
deal truly arre his delight." Proverbs 12:22
"And the lord said unto the servant, Go out into the
highways and hedges, and compel them to come in that my
house may be filled." St. Luke 15:23
REV. CHARLES AUGUSTUS JENKINS
The Rev. Charles Augustus Jenkins pastored First
Baptist Church from 1908 until 1911 and it was during
his pastorate the third church building was conceived and
He was graduated
from the University of
Virginia and it was
while a student at the
University that he left
the High Episcopal
Church and joined the
Baptist Church. This
was considered a dis-
graceful act by his
family but he was or-
dained a Baptist minis-
ter. He met Miss Lily
Cocke while at the Uni-
versity and after they
were married they mov-
ed to North Carolina.
Warsaw, N. C, was
the young preacher's
first pastorate. Other
pastorates i n c lu d e d
Goldsboro, New Bruns-
wick, New Jersey, Ox-
ford, Chapel Hill, New Bern and back to Goldsboro. His
last active pastorate was in Shelby.
The Rev. Jenkins' mother was born Rosalie Carter,
daughter of King Carter of Virginia. It is interesting to
note that King Carter was the grandson of George Wash-
ington's sister, Betty Lewis, who was the wife of Fielding
After retirement, Rev. and Mrs. Jenkins moved to
Clayton, N. C. where their rose garden, grape vineyard,
beautiful lawn and rare vegetables were known and ac-
claimed far and wide. His retirement was short-lived, how-
ever, because he accepted a call to the Mt. Moriah Baptist
Church five miles from Clayton and he later served Zebu-
Ion Baptist Church, twenty-five miles from Clayton. While
standing in this pulpit on April 9, 1922, a messenger ar-
rived to tell him that his wife had suddenly passed away.
Five years later Rev. Jenkins died.
Rev. Jenkins authored several books, among them The
Bride's Return, What Made Me A Baptist, Good Gumption
and Christ On The Phone. He also edited Baptist Doctrines.
LEWIS WALTER SWOPE, D. D. Th. M., B. A.
Rev. L. W. Swope received a call from the First Bap-
tist Church which he accepted in December, 1911 and
served until June, 1916 when he took a leave of absence
to go with the National Guard to Texas where Mexican
Border trouble had
Born August 28,
1878 in Linside, West
Virginia, Rev. Swope
was one of nine chil-
dren of William and
Rebecca Swope. He was
graduated from the
University of West
Virginia and the South-
ern Baptist Theological
Seminary in Louisville,
Ky. His first pastorate
was at Green Bay, Wis-
consin and others fol-
lowed at Newberry, S.
C, McCall, S. C,
Louisburg, N. C. and
then at Shelby.
the National Guard to
Texas, he was com-
missioned captain and
chaplain of the First North Carolina Infantry Regiment in
May, 1915 and later enlisted in the regular army as cap-
tain and chaplain and served until 1918 when he resigned
his commission to accept a call from the church at Boiling
Springs. He served as pastor of this church for two years
and also taught Bible in the Boiling Springs High School
before going to Erwin, Tenn.
The next few years were spent in ministerial work in
churches in Tennessee, West Virginia and North Carolina,
serving New Hope Church at Earl and Elizabeth Church
In 1936 Rev. Swope built a home near Shelby where
he lived until his death on January 25, 1941. He is bur-
ied in Sunset Cemetery in Shelby and two of his children
are buried beside him.
Although six children were born to Rev. and Mrs.
Swope, only three grew to adulthood. Two sons and a
daughter are still living — Dr. Ralph E. Swope and Mrs.
Russell Gwinn of New York City and Paul W. Swope of
Charleston, West Virginia. Mrs. Swope lived in New York
after Rev. Swope's death until she died on June 26, 1963.
In addition to his brilliant "sermonizing," Rev. Swope
was in much demand as a speaker for public occasions.
His memory for faces and names was remarkable and he
rarely forgot anyone whom he had ever met.
DR. LEE McBRIDE WHITE
Dr. Lee McBride White served a short pastorate at
First Baptist beginning in March, 1917 and continuing
until June 15, 1918.
Born August 9, 1887 in Raleigh, Dr. White was
graduated from Wake
Forest College in 1908
and did graduate work
at Cornell University
before going to the
Southern Baptist Sem-
inary. His first pas-
torate was at Monroe,
N. C. and then at Shel-
by, after which he held
pastorates in Chester,
S. C, Kinston, N. C,
Riverside Baptist in
Jacksonville, Fla., and
at the West End Bap-
tist Church in Bir-
While living in Ches-
ter, S. C, twin sons
were born to Dr. and
Mrs. White, both born
spastic paralytics. Since
that time Dr. White
has devoted a great
part of his time to work with handicapped children and he
founded the Lee McBride White School for the Handicap-
ped in Birmingham on November 6, 1936. Daring to lead
the way in this work, Dr. White gave up a secure and bril-
liant career as a Baptist minister to plunge at the age of 50
into the task of schooling afflicted children, particularly
spastic paralytics. Since founding the Lee McBride White
school, over 1,500 children from 28 states have been help-
Dr. White died October 4, 1968 at his home in Bir-
REV. J. MARCUS KESTER
Rev. J. Marcus Kester was called to First Baptist
Church on April 15, 1919 and served until December, 1 922.
From Shelby he went to the Baptist headquarters in Rich-
mond, Va. to serve as secretary of the Foreign Mission
Board, later accepting
a call from the First
Baptist Church in Wil-
mington, N. C. in 1924
where he served until
his death in 1936.
Born April 26, 1887
on a farm in Cleveland
County near Kings
Mountain, he was a son
of John H. Kester and
Margaret Bird Kester.
His earliest known an-
cestor was John G.
Kester, one of the early
German settlers com-
ing south. He attend-
ed the poorly equipped
schools of that day and
was converted in a
meeting held at Beth-
lehem Baptist Church
when he was fifteen
Rev. Kester entered Mars Hill College in the fall of
1908 and graduated three years later, entering Wake For-
est College in September, 1911 from which he was grad-
uated in 1913. He attended the Newton Theological Sem-
inary from 1913-1917 and did special work at Oxford Uni-
versity in England and at Edinburg University in Scotland.
Mrs. Kester lives in Charlotte, N. C. and their 10 chil-
dren, all living, are' five daughters — Gwendolyn, Evelyn,
Kathleen, Carolyn and Marilyn; five sons — Jack, Truett,
Mel, Robert and Howard. There are 40 grandchildren and
DR. ROBERT L LEMMONS
Dr. Robert L. Lemmons was a native of Missouri and
was a graduate of William Jewell College, the Baptist Col-
lege of Missouri, and
the Southern Baptist
He came to First
Baptist Church from
Salisbury on March 1,
1923 and held the pas-
torate here until Sep
tember 1, 1925 when
he resigned to return to
his native state of
Missouri to be with
Mrs. Lemmons' moth-
er, a widow in very
While serving our
church, 136 persons
were united in mem-
Dr. Lemmons return-
ed to this state and
was residing in Char-
lotte when he died on
August 6, 1939. He
and Mrs. Lemmons, who survives, were the parents of one
daughter, Mary Ruth Lemmons.
Rev. Lemmons and his family were the first to occupy
the second parsonage which was built and furnished while
he was pastor. The parsonage was considered to be one of
the finest of its day.
DR. ZENO WALL
Dr. Zeno Wall wrote: "In the spring of 1925 the
Hon. 0. Max Gardner called on me in Goldsboro where I
was serving as pastor of the First Baptist Church, and told
me about your church and its golden opportunities, saying:
'It is a sleeping giant,
and we believe you
could wake it up and
lead it forward to
"He then asked if
I would be willing to
visit this field and see
the people and let them
see and hear me. I
told him I had never
preached a 'sample
sermon' but that I
would visit the church
on August 30, 1925,
as I would be on my
vacation at my fath-
er's home then.
"I came that Sunday
morning and preached
from Luke 14:23 on
"The Compulsion of
Love." You gave my
message a good hear-
ing and one of the deacons came and asked me to go out
with him. Brother J. H. Quinn called the church into
conference and in a short time some of the brethren
came and said: 'Our church gave you a hearty and un-
animous call and we hope and pray that you will ac-
Thus began the pastorate of Dr. Zeno Wall at First
Baptist Church, which was to be the longest in the his-
tory of our church, from October 1, 1925 until January
27, 1948, and the greatest in growth. Membership of
the church grew from 736 to over 2,500 with 1,484 re-
ceived into the church by baptism and 2,095 uniting by
letter. The church also increased in gifts from an annual
budget of $28,000 to $131,225.57.
Born August 20, 1882 near Mooresboro, N. C, he
was a son of Mr. and Mrs. S. F. Wall. He was educated
in the Rutherford County schools and also attended a
private school operated by A. B. Flack. Furthering his
education, he went to Mars Hill College and was grad-
uated from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary,
Upon completion of his education in Rutherford
County, he set out on a business career with a textile
firm in C I i f f side and while there received and accepted
an invitation to speak in the nearby Mount Pleasant
Baptist Church, an experience which confirmed in his
heart his call to preach.
His pastorates included Marshall, N. C; Mount
Olive, Miss.; First Baptist, Columbia, Miss.; Mississippi
Baptist College from which he entered the Military
Chaplaincy in 1916; First Baptist, Goldsboro, N. C;
First Baptist, Shelby, and later in his golden years, Eliza-
beth Baptist Church near Shelby.
In 1948, already serving as president of the board
of trustees of the North Carolina Baptist Children's
Homes, he was invited to become general superintendent,
serving in this capacity until 1950.
When he reached retirement age, he returned to
Shelby but shortly thereafter received a plea to become
pastor of Elizabeth Baptist Church, holding this pas-
torate for five years and again showing his strength in
the ministry. He did a marvelous work in rebuilding a
magnificent new church after fire destroyed the sanc-
tuary, leading the congregation there in a drive to re-
build the church, using his well-known "treasury chest"
for contributions that amounted to $171,235.15 in nine
years. He saw the note for the remaining $100,000 bor-
rowed burned in special services on February 23, 1964
which rendered the present imposing building debt-free.
Other interim pastorates were held at Eastside,
Pleasant Grove, Shady Grove (Gaston Association) and
the Kings Mountain Baptist Church.
Many honors came to him during his fruitful min-
istry. He was president of the North Carolina Baptist
State Convention for four terms — 1933-1936 and his
name appeared in "Who's Who In America" in the
1948-49 edition. He authored three "books of merit"
which were published by the Broadman Press of the Sun-
day School Board, Nashville, Tenn., and which have had
wide circulation. They are:. "Heartening Messages",
"Verities of the Gospel" and "A Day for God-Called
In his ministry which covered fifty-six years, Dr.
Wall preached in hundreds of churches in Mississippi,
Louisiana, Texas, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Kentucky, South
Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama,
Virginia, and Washington, D. C.
He served as president of Gardner-Webb College
(then Boiling Springs Junior College) for tw6 years,
without pay, during the trying time of the depression
while he was pastoring First Baptist Church.
During the depression year of 1930, literally hun-
dreds of persons walked the streets in Shelby seeking
work after the banks and mills had closed and on Christ-
mas, 1930 a "white Christmas" brought clothing, food
and money to the church with which Dr. Wall and Hor-
ace Easom (minister of music and education) "fed the
hungry and clothed the naked." Not long after the church
had its greatest revival from the standpoint of additions.
One hundred and sixty-one prayer meetings were held
in 161 homes before the revival at which Dr. Wall
preached and Mr. Easom led the singing. In that de-
pression year revival, 119 persons were baptized and
98 received by letter for a total of 217, the largest
number to ever join the church in any one revival.
In Dr. Wall's own words: "On August 20, 1963 we
reached the 81st milestone on the road to our eternal
home. Our race will soon be run, and the crown of vic-
tory won. We thank God for you, and are deeply apprecia-
tive of all you have done for us, and we urge you to go
on — with courage and faith — to the end of life's jour-
ney, and to hear the Lord say: 'Well done, thou good
and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few
things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter
thou into the joy of thy Lord'." (Matthew 25:21).
Elected Pastor Emeritus on September 16, 1951, he
continued in that post until his death.
Dr. Wall married Ada Katherine Ramsey who died
March 11, 1959 and to them five children were born:
Zeno, Jr., Abbie Jane (Mrs. Ollie Harris of Kings Moun-
tain), Yates, Woodrow and Ada Ramsey (Mrs. Walter
Fanning of Ridgewood, N. J.)
Dr. Wall died September 12, 1967 and was buried
beside his wife in Elizabeth Baptist Church cemetery.
REV. HARLAN HARRIS
Dr. Zeno Wall was in a meeting at the Metropoli-
tan Baptist Church in Washington, D. C. in 1946 when
he met Harlan Harris, who was leading the music for a
conference of pastors and evangelists. From that meet-
ing stemmed the de-
cision to call him as
assistant pastor of First
However, the as-
sistantship was short
for, having come to
Shelby in January,
1948 Harlan Harris
became pastor on April
Born January 5,
1920 in Salem, Oregon,
he graduated from
Wheaton College in
Wheaton, III., where
he was active in foot-
ball, track and wres-
tling. He is listed in
Who's Who in Ameri-
can Colleges and Uni-
versities. He receiv-
ed the B. D. degree
from the Eastern Theo-
logical Seminary and the Doctor of Divinity degree from
Wayland Baptist College in Plainview, Texas.
During his pastorate in Shelby, Dr. Harris was instru-
mental in the reorganization of the Sunday School and the
building of a new educational unit. He meant much to
the youth of the church and held Young Life meetings in
his home each Monday night and accompanied the group
to camp in Colorado each summer. It was also during
his pastorate that a church library was established.
Since Dr. Harris was a classmate and close personal
friend of Dr. Billy Graham, he was able to secure him for
a city meeting at the Armory which was considered a real
blessing to the city.
Dr. Harris has served in the following capacities in
addition to First Baptist: assistant pastor of Temple Baptist
Church, Washington, D. C. in 1946; pastor of First Bap-
tist Church, Plainview, Texas, 1954-1959; he has been
active in Southern Baptist Life; President of North Caro-
lina's Pastors' Conference; and member of North Caro-
lina State Board.
Named Shelby's "Young Man of the Year" in 1952,
Dr. Harris has traveled in Europe, Africa, the Holy Land,
and Mexico. He has preached in Rome, Cairo and Jer-
His home is currently in Boulder, Colo., where he was
in full time evangelistic work before becoming pastor of
First Southern Baptist Church in Colorado Springs. He and
his wife, Madeline, are parents of four children.
Perhaps his love for people and his humility may best
be expressed in his own words: "The dedication of the
Shelby High School annual to Madeline and me meant
much more to me than did my doctorate."
REV. JOHN ELMORE LAWRENCE
Rev. John Elmore Lawrence began serving as pastor
of First Baptist Church on February 15, 1954 and con-
tinued until June 30, 1964 when he became pastor of
Forest Hills Baptist Church in Raleigh.
He has served Christ
and the Baptist de-
nomination in many
areas of work, more re-
cently as: representa-
tive to the General
Board of North Caro-
lina from the Wilming-
ton Association; vice-
moderator in the Kings
as second and third
vice-president of the N.
C. Baptist State Con-
vention; twice serving
on nominating commit-
tee of the State Con-
vention; served on the
chairman of the Order
of Business Committee;
Committee of 1 7.
Also, he has served
on the Order of Busi-
ness Committee of the Southern Baptist Convention and
represented N. C. on the Southwide Brotherhood Commis-
sion. He was a trustee of Gardner-Webb College; trustee
of Mars Hill College.
The Foreign Mission Board invited Rev. Lawrence to
participate in an Evangelistic Crusade in Paraguay, South
America in October, 1959.
The budget of First Baptist rose from $97,000 to
$252,000 under his pastorate and in 1 956 the church sanc-
tuary was renovated and air-conditioned. The church, in
conference in 1957, adopted for the first time a Church
Constitution and By-Laws. In 1959 two lots facing North
LaFayette Street adjacent to the church, were purchased
for a future site for a youth building and parking lot.
Rev. Lawrence was born December 21, 1916 to Wil-
liam and Kate Dunn Lawrence of Scotland Neck, N. C. He
graduated Cum Laude from Wake Forest College with a
BA degree and Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Laws de-
gree in 1 939. His extra-curricular activities included presi-
dent and secretary of Golden Bough, led in forming Omicron
Delta Kappa, president of Sigma Pi Alpha, senior mem-
ber Student Council, vice-president and secretary of Philo-
mathesian Literary Society; assistant in the French depart-
ment, winner of Junior and Senior orator medals; winner
of Society Day Oration, vice president of Barrister's Club,
member Chi Eta Tau, member Glee Club, member Baptist
Student Union council, member BSU choir, officer in col-
lege Sunday School classes, member track squad and senior
orator at commencement exercises.
He passed the bar examination in 1939 and worked
in the Attorney General's Office before joining the Smith,
Leach and Anderson Law Firm of Raleigh where he worked
for one year.
During a revival in the fall of 1940 in Hayes Barton
Church, Raleigh, he renewed his commitment to God and
decided to leave the practice of law and for two years he
worked among college students as the first Baptist Student
Union Secretary for the N. C. Baptist State Convention.
Rev. Lawrence enlisted in the U. S. Naval Reserve in
April, 1942 and was commissioned an Ensign and served
in active duty in the Pacific War Theater before being dis-
charged on October 24, 1945, two days before the birth of
his only child, John Elmore Lawrence, Jr. in Norfolk, Va.
Rev. Lawrence was married to Laura Bateman of Columbia,
who at the time of their marriage was a BSU secretary at
Woman's College in Greensboro.
He was graduated from the seminary at Louisville,
Ky. with a Bachelor of Divinity Degree in May, 1949 and
pastored Sunset Park Baptist Church in Wilmington from
June, 1949 to February, 1954.
FORREST C. FEEZOR
Dr. Forrest Feezor served as Interim Pastor of First
Baptist from September, 1 964 through March, 1 965. Some-
one has said, "To hear Dr. Feezor pray is to know the
source of his strength."
One of eight chil-
dren, he was born July
1 , 1 892 in Lexington,
N. C. and worked on
a farm in eai iy c hi Id
hood. His education in-
cluded instruction in a
one-room log building
before attending Wake
Forest College from
which he graduated in
1920; Southern Bap-
tist Theological Semin-
ary in Louisville, Ky.,
and the University of
Chicago. He received
the Doctor of Divinity
Degree from Wake For-
est College in 1934.
From 1923 until
1926, Dr. Feezor was
professor and director
of the Bible depart-
ment at William Jewell College in Liberty, Missouri. His
pastorates for the period 1926-1953 included Second Bap-
tist Church, Liberty, Missouri; Tabernacle Baptist Church,
Raleigh; Broadway Baptist in Fort Worth, Texas; and First
Baptist in Waco, Texas. In 1953 he was elected executive
secretary of the Baptist General Convention of Texas, re-
tiring in 1 960.
From 1952 until 1955 he was speaker for the Voice
of America's shortwave network and in 1958, with the aid
of interpreters, he made a preaching tour of the Orient at
the invitation of the Southern Baptist Convention's Foreign
Mission Board. Since retiring, he and Mrs. Feezor spent
a year on the island of Formosa. He served as Interim
Pastor of First Baptist Church in Asheville before coming
Dr. Feezor now lives in Dallas, Texas in the winter
and at Black Mountain, N. C. in the summer doing evan-
DR. JOSEPH TOLBERT McCLAIN
Dr. Joseph Tolbert McClain was called to First Bap-
tist Church in March, 1965 and served as pastor until Oc-
tober 23, 1968.
Born in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on May 27, 1919,
he is the son of Eula
Chastain and Christian
Dr. McClain receiv-
ed his B. A. from Ok-
lahoma Baptist Uni-
versity and did his
work at the Southwest-
ern Baptist Theological
k Seminary, Fort Worth,
Texas. While there he
earned the Th.M. and
On graduating from
the Seminary in 1947
he was called to begin
the Bible Chair at Tex-
as Technological Col-
lege in Lubbock, Texas
and was soon called to
be full professor of
Bible at the Howard
Payne College in Brownwood, Texas where he served for
over three years. He was on the faculties of two Southern
Baptist Seminaries, Golden Gate and Midwestern, in their
formative years as Southern Baptist institutions. At the
Ouachita Baptist College, Arkadelphia, Arkansas, he was
divisional head of Religion and Philosophy, remaining in
this capacity for five years enjoying a great deal of success
in teaching and involvement in the Baptist work throughout
the state of Arkansas.
Dr. McClain's pastorates have included Liberty Baptist
Church in Duncan, Oklahoma, his first church where he cut
his pastoral teeth in the Lord's ministry. The Riverside Bap-
tist Church of Riverside, Texas was the church that put him
through the seminary and while pastor there he received
both of his advanced degrees, the Th.M. and Th.D. de-
grees. He ranks this church as an important milestone in
his ministerial life.
The First Baptist Church of Seagraves, Texas, was the
first great church he pastored in the sense of responsibility
and service since in that part of west Texas it is one of the
pivotal pastorates. His next pastorate, after teaching at
Ouachita Baptist College, was Maywood Baptist Church of
Independence, Missouri, the most vital and biggest church
of any denomination in Independence. After serving at
Maywood Church for five years, he was called to First Bap-
tist at Shelby.
In 1940 Dr. McClain was married to Cleo Cornett
of Oklahoma City and five children have been born to this
union: Joseph Tolbert McClain II, Barry Duke McClain,
William Conner McClain, Darla Ann McClain and Chris-
tian Ray McClain 1 1.
Dr. McClain left his Shelby pastorate to become as-
sociated with Ouachita College in Arkadelphia, Ark.
REV. GENE L WATTERSON
The Rev. Gene L. Watterson preached his first sermon
as pastor at First Baptist July 27, 1969, coming from Mur-
ray Hill Baptist Church in Jacksonville, Fla. A native of
Decatur, Ala., he has served previous pastorates at Wood-
lawn Baptist Church in Colonial Heights, Va. (1953-60),
First Baptist Church of Crestview, Fla. (1960-66), and
was associate pastor and minister of youth at the First
Baptist Church, Warner Robins, Ga. (1952).
Rev. Watterson received his undergraduate study at
Howard College, which is now Samford Baptist University,
and Bob Jones University. He did graduate study at Rich-
mond Professional Institute of the College of William and
Mary and is a graduate of Southeastern Baptist Theologi-
cal Seminary. He has also received special training in clini-
cal counseling at Central State Hospital, Petersburg, Va.
Active in Baptist work, he has served as moderator
and chairman of various committees of the Petersburg
Baptist Association, moderator and chairman of various
committees of the Okaloosa Baptist Association in Florida
and pastor advisor to B.S.U. of Jacksonville University.
He served in the Florida Baptist Convention as representa-
tive of the Florida Baptist Sunday School Department,
District 1, 1961-62; member of the State Board of Mis-
sions and Education in 1963-66; as chairman of the Ex-
pansion Committee, chairman of the committees on Public
Affairs, Foreign Missions and nominations; and as a
member of the program committee.
He has served as a speaker at the State Evangelistic
Conference, the Florida Youth Conference, Y.W.A. State
Conference and Florida Baptist School of the Prophets. He
is a past president of the West Florida Baptist Pastor's
Conference; was mission speaker in the Transpacific Cru-
sade in Otorohanga, New Zealand; participated in youth
programs at Ridgecrest and in the Southern Baptist Pro-
Rev. Watterson's civic activities include: chairman
of Community Recreation for Youth and chairman of a
special committee on juvenile delinquency, chairman of the
Heart, Cancer and March of Dimes funds in Colonial
Heights, Va.; counselor in the Mental Health Services
Center in Petersburg, Va.; chairman of the zoning and
planning commission, executive secretary of the Disaster
Relief Fund, president of Crestview Improvement Associa-
tion, member of the boards of directors of the Crestview
Concert Association and American Red Cross, and past
president of the Kiwanis Club, all in Crestview, Fla.; and
was religious advisor to the student body at Okaloosa Wal-
ton Junior College, 1965-67. He has traveled extensively
in Europe and also in the Near and Middle East, South-
east Asia and the Far East.
Among his special honors have been: listed in Ameri-
can College Student Leaders, 1951; Distinguished Ser-
vice Award given by Virginia Jaycees, 1957; "Outstand-
ing Man of the Year" in Colonial Heights, Va., 1957;
Who's Who in the American Protestant Clergy, 1958;
Who's Who in the South and Southwest, 1958-69; nomi-
nated to Executive and Professional Hall of Fame. His
military background includes service in the U. S. Navy.
Mrs. Watterson is the former Yvonne Caudle of Pet-
ersburg, Va., and is a lyric coloratura soprano and an
accomplished organist and pianist. They have three child-
ren, Pamela Yvonne, 14; Gene Lee, 9; and Lisa Dawn, 2.
Rev. Watterson has a brother who is also in the min-
istry. He is the Rev. Douglas Watterson, pastor of First
Baptist Church of Tallahassee, Fla.
K CO ~ 1 1
? --= o E
*r ~! Si~ r-" a
^/q — <-s
«: •§* ~ ■/, (£ 6
.** « £ o ~ s
HE 7? >>
= G ' J 5 ^ JS
« 2 « o < 3?
= £> g cO
<P ;S og .
"Hoo r;XuJ o
og . r aa
° -r *0 _^ >
«^ si g.2
&-« •> • ■
o -u. tr w oo
- OTD-g 5-J2
-$ u. m .
£ <u S >.
- "_> c T3 o =
II X O w w S
Records for a number of years throughout the history of First Baptist
Church are missing or incomplete so it is entirely possible that names of
several of those who have served as deacons in the church may be omitted
in this list. Deacons were first elected for life but for many years they
have been elected on a rotating system for three-year terms.
Earliest records list the following who served:
1847 - William Roberts, John R. Logan and David Warlick.
1871 - Thomas Wilson, E. McBrayer, L. D. Webb, L. N. Durham,
John R. Logan and W. W. Green.
1878 - E. McBrayer, W. W. Green, J. A. Parker, E. J. Lovelace,
J. A. L. Wray, L. N. Durham.
Serving in 1889 when the second church building was constructed:
W. W. Green, E. J. Lovelace, T. D. Lattimore, Dr. Victor McBrayer, J. F.
Williams, M. N. Hamrick.
September, 1896 to September, 1909 - T. D. Lattimore, E. J. Love-
lace, J. H. Quinn, C. Beattie Suttle, J. S. Wray, H. D. Wilson, J. F. Will-
iams, W. N. Hamrick, C. C. Roberts, Dr. Victor McBrayer, E. A. Morgan,
W. W. Green, H. D. Wilson.
1910 - Dr. T. E. Hamrick.
191 1 - James T. Bowman, George L. English.
1914 - D. Augustus Beam, George P. Webb, George Dover, Samuel
Turner, Josh Mauney, J. R. Moore and R. E. Campbell.
1922 - George Blanton, O. M. Mull, C. Rush Hamrick, W. L. Pack-
ard, T. G. Hamrick, George P. Webb, George Dover, J. J. Lattimore, John
P. Mull, C. C. Hamrick.
1923 - H. F. Young, Judge James L. Webb, W. H. Hudson.
In more recent years, the following have served as deacons:
Abernathy, J. F. Best, Herman Byrd, George V.
Allen, A. D. Bissette, J. C. Cabaniss, Joe E.
Allen, A. Donald Blackstock, Ralph Cantrell, Lewis
Allen, Paul A. Blanton, J. Kennon Caudill, Wayne J.
Angel, W. L. Bolt, Doris Causby, Harold
Austell, J. Lowery Bowling, Dr. Richard F. Champion, F. O.
Bailey, Ernest Bost, Lloyd C. Cline, J. R.
Bailey, Hoyt Q. Bost, Ned W. Coble, C. C.
Baley, L. J. (Bill), Jr. Branton, Worth Cochran, Paul
Beckham, Joe Bridges, Jesse E. Crow, J. B.
Bennett, E. S. Bryson, Hale T. Daves, Max C.
Davis, John Ed, Jr.
Dudley, J. G. Ml
Duggins, C. W.
Edwards, Henry B.
Elam, Reuben L.
Eskridge, Robert L.
Faison, John R.
Falls, B. T.
Farmer, A. C.
Farris, E. Floyd
Forney, Robert R.
Garrett, J. G.
Gilliatt, Cecil L.
Greene, B. S.
Greene, Ralph M.
Grigg, William S.
Hagaman, J. G.
Hamrick, A. V.
Hamrick, A. V. Jr.
Hamrick, C. Rush
Hamrick, C. Rush, Jr.
Hamrick, George W.
Hamrick, Joe D.
Hamrick, Dr. John C.
Hamrick, Julian W.
Hamrick, L. T.
Hamrick, O. V.
Hamrick, 0. V., Jr.
Hamrick, R. Hubbard
Hawkins, John Landrum
Hendrick, F. Cline
Horn, C. C.
Horn, W. James
Hudson, W. Hill
Hudson, W. Hill, Jr.
Hunter, Dr. John B.
Johnson, George T.
Keeter, K. K.
Kendrick, James L.
King, C. M.
Kiser, W. D.
Lattimore, Dr. E. B.
Lattimore, J. J.
Lowing, Claude M., Jr.
LeCroy, C. M.
Ledford, J. F.
Lewis, E. D.
Litton, Dr. Robert
Lutz, Robert H.
McClain, E. C.
McCurry, J. Hoyt
McKinney, E. F.
McMurry, Dr. A. W.
McMurry, C. C, Jr.
McMurry, S. A.
McWhirter, Dr. Blake
Mauney, J. Hugh
Misenheimer, J. Reid
Mull, John P.
Mull, Joe F.
Mull, O. M.
Newton, J. C.
Plaster, Dr. H. S.
Powell, A. A.
Price, Roy D.
Propst, J. Alvin
Queen, John Edd
Roberts, Guy H.
Royster, Stephen S.
Schenck, Newlin P.
Smith, Ned N.
Smith, J. P.
Spongier, Earl W.
Spangler, Mai A.
Spangler, Mai A., Jr.
Spangler, J. Edwin
Spangler, R. Patrick
Suttle, J. A.
Suttle, J. L.
Swift, Fred J.
Toms, H. L.
Washburn, P. M.
Weathers, Lee B.
Webb, George P.
Webb, Paul, Jr.
West, J. A.
Whitworth, W. G.
, John S.
Williams, L. P.
FIRST PARSONAGE— built in 1905.
as a rooming house.
Now stands on Marietta Street and is used
SECOND PARSONAGE— built in 1924 and sold in 1968 when church gave up
parsonage plan in favor of housing allowance for pastor.
STAFF — Seated, left to right. Miss Linda L. Petty, Mrs. fames B. Spears, Miss Mary
Sue Thompson. Standing, Monroe Petty, Mrs. Rosie Lee Moore, Rellie McDowell
and Mrs. L. P. Williams.
THE CHURCH STAFF
Rev. Gene L. Watterson
Rev. Roland Leath Van H. Ramsey
Educational Director and Assistant Pastor Minister of Music
Melvin Lee Doughty Mrs. H. S. Plaster
Minister of Youth Organist
Miss Mary Sue Thompson
Mrs. James B. Spears Rellie McDowell
Educational Secretary Janitor
Miss Linda L. Petty Monroe Petty
Music Youth Secretary Janitor
Mrs. L. P. Williams Mrs. Rosie Lee Moore
Church Hostess Maid
George W. Hamrick
Chairman, Board of Deacons
Olan Speagle Roland Leath
Church Treasurer Sunday School Superintendent
Lloyd Bost J. C. Bissette
Brotherhood President Training Union Director
Mrs. J. A. West
W. M. U. President
Church auditorium as it appeared before last remodeling in 1956. Scene is that of
the wedding of Miss Ada Ruth Hamrick and Stan Sherman on May 11, 1952.
LYDIA CLASS IN 1947 — members are pictured as they honored Mrs. H. L. New-
man at a birthday dinner. Seated left to right: Mrs. Amanda Wilson, Mrs. Amelia
Eskridge, Mrs. Frank Hendrick, Mrs. Newman, Mrs. Mollie Eskridge. Mrs. C. J.
Woodson and Mrs. W. L. Packard, teacher. Standing: Mrs. Sallie Mauney, Miss
Mary Moore, Mrs. John F. Eaker, Mrs. Lula Logan, Mrs. ). R. Moore and Mrs.
Mary Benton. When Mrs. Packard died on February 12, 1967 she was the church's
oldest member at age 97.
, * O • —
o T -
m ° g
' ° "
■""■ cs ~
p W C
to ■ o
w 2 -J
- £ c "
> o c
UJ P i
z . _
N SS ,
-v — =
3 J2 -
^. U -J
"U ^ cs
co "^ 2
o _• ju
u -~ 2
t) CS ^ •-
y>JH — 5
* * = a
yi u a ss cs J;
2 u E 2
co N-a yj
CJ e °-
«* S £
sc E e-
^ to U
u — x
w - jo
=2 5 E
= £r *°
i «- .a:
o t- "±
r: U r:
M o >.-g
es >- -j
. o s^E
— u c J2
3 ^ « BQ
3 r- _' u
X _' cs
cs ft. e
B. CO jb
U = ~
>^ . yi*
«- cs •
.- "O .
." u cs
— to .
U 3 •
5 °" to
22 »' y
y) 5* ^
Si o cs
o c- -
U 3 —
. s »
~ 3 a
- CS "
£ u —
• -r u
.. cs "3
X W v>
— u -S
E~=~ c $ .;
5 ffl ..2«8 -
. £ = =* a — ^
i -? n ai U
'•a ja t/5
1 • - — - w "3 Q
* CJ - L- Z ^ *- •>*•
^ - =cc « 5 .
= — o 3 — e> »- ■
r ; s ■ E3~ ra ° ■-
J>U , B IQ,
5 = = -go .
j- c '-> = •- -> -* —
2 c.s- 2
** C M I. u" 5
= 5 = 3 u
5 -3 2 J
T3 (j (/) U
Cu 03 J? 1
— . in —
_ ;S in* 5 <u,
<8 2 S •= • c E- o <
O ^ -r ■ •«-*« E e
< "= 3 'jju32uj
j^£?j EjS • S
^-— *MB WfeliMiiiHi iiH
o £ _ J E J « £
E ..X = X ;°u
= .g<J £ - 2-^
■a - -a * ^ p g , -
2 Si o
) J= u.
E u =
^ O i
r -jQo- ^ = - g
< 5 » . £ a- £ 3 to
*^« X 53 £ >-■
E 2 S "55 cq o
-^ 5c^ £ a |
to 2 -H . o," •- £
. -a a» w *- ^ ?
i« m "In -
. S O 6 g tn JJ
co .^; qs u H > c
< 3 « e=~x e,
i « u C j2 .g °- e v
-J ^ _o -^ J: ^: . n»fe
CO H E
**" U S3
j3 ^ <; uo q „
OS . U c g o CE r?
5iJ24>J2 u -EE .
0j Ifrif i
n f '■ rl
Members Of the Young People's Department
BETHANY CLASS of 1943— First row, left to right, Mrs. Mozelle Moore Puett,
Miss Dot Austell, Mrs. Eloise Young Spangler, Mrs. Ann Austell Singleton, Mrs.
Bea Suttle Morris (teacher); second row: Mrs. Sara Hopper Wells, Mrs. Millicent
Hicks Jones, Mrs. Gene Harrill Young, Mrs. Mildred Cooke Doty, Mrs. Ava wash-
burn Blanton, Mrs. Mary Lib Canipe Cash. Standing: Mrs. Catherine Roberts
Dorsey, Mrs. Catharine Bailey Parsons, Mrs. Jeannette Smith Lowery, Mrs. Margaret
Blanton Reber, Mrs. Grace Rutledge Hamrick, Mrs. Louise Costner Beam, Mrs.
■ ' ■' 1 1 I i ll
of First Baptist Church In Early 1930's
View of third church in 1912 showing fence behind old Courtview Hotel at right
and first parsonage at left.
Pi! 3 -
tij O CB to _
The main sources are listed below while many minor ones are
omitted. Various passages have been built up throughout the history
from fragments of information discovered here and there and from
conversations with many persons.
■ Records available at First Baptist Church
■ Minutes of The Kings Mountain Association
■ Minutes of The Broad River Association
■ Files of Biblical Recorders dating back to 1835 (In Wake
■ Minutes of Baptist State Convention
■ History of the Kings Mountain Baptist Association (1851-1951)
■ Sketches of the Broad River and Kings Mountain Baptist
Associations From 1800 to 1882 - by Deacon John R. Logan
■ Lengthened Shadows - A History of Gardner-Webb College,
1907-1956, Francis B. Dedmond
■ General Catalog of Wake Forest College
■ History of Wake Forest College - G. W. Paschal
■ The Living Past of Cleveland County - Lee B. Weathers
■ Files of The Shelby Daily Star and The Cleveland Times
■ Personal Files of Mrs. O. Max Gardner
■ Personal Files of O. M. Mull
■ Articles by Miss Mamie Jones
John Brock Mrs. Robert Doggett
J. A. West Mrs. L. B. Connor
Ed Lewis Mrs. A. V. Hamrick, Jr.
Roland Leath Mrs. John Wacaster
Mrs. John Ed Davis, Jr. Mrs. R. Hubbard Hamrick
Abernathy, J. F.
Abernathy, Mrs. J. F.
Abernathy, Mrs. Paul
Adcox, F. 0.
Adcox, Mrs. F. 0.
Aiken, Frank J.
Aiken, Mrs. Frank J.
Aiken, Thomas Henry
Aiken, Daniel Arthur
Alexander, Mrs. D. Hoyle
Alexander, Miss Elora
Allen, A. D.
Allen, Mrs. A. D.
Allen, A. Donald
Allen, Mrs. A. Donald
Allen, Robert Shuford
Allen, Andrell Donald
Allen, B. C.
Allen, Mrs. B. C.
Allen, B. C. Jr.
Allen, Christopher Mark
Allen, Bill F.
Allen, Mrs. Bill F.
Allen, Larry Mode
Allen, Mary Elizabeth
Allen, E. V.
Allen, Mrs. E. V.
Allen, Mrs. I. M.
Allen, James W.
Allen, Mrs. J. Haywood
Allen, J. Haywood
Allen, J. Haywood, Jr.
Allen, Joe C.
Allen, Mrs. Joe C.
Allen, Mrs. John
Allen, Mrs. Joseph Glenn
Allen, Mrs. Paul
Anderson, Mrs. Jean Wray
Anderson, Jeffrey Street
Anderson, John C.
Anderson, Mrs. John C.
Anderson, John C. Jr.
Anderson, Mrs. John C. Jr.
Angel, Mrs. W. L.
Anthony, Mrs. Irvin
Anthony, Irvin Jr.
Arton, Wayne N.
Arton, Mrs. Wayne N.
Arton, Deborah Latain
Atkinson, Richard S.
Atkinson, Mrs. Richard S.
Austell, C. L.
Austell, Mrs. C. L.
Austell, Mrs. Charles B.
Austell, Mary Adelaide
Austell, J. l.owery
Austell, Mrs. J. H.
Austell, Mrs. Sue
ley, Mrs. Ernest
ley, Hoyt Q.
Bailey, Mrs. Hoyt Q.
Baker, Dr. John D.
Baker, Mrs. John D.
Baker, Onnie R.
Baker, Mrs. Onnie R.
Baker, Larry Stephen
Baley, L. J. Jr.
Baley, Mrs. L. J. Jr.
Baley, Lewis J. Ill
Ball, Richard L.
Ball, Mrs. Richard L.
Ballard, Mrs. Lacy H. Jr.
Bankhead, John S.
Bcnkhead, Mrs. John S.
Bankhead, John Stewart Jr.
Bankhead, Timothy Scott
Bankhead, Willard M.
Bankhead, Mrs. Willard M.
Bankhead, Elizabeth Lynn
Bcrger, Mrs. Jennie P.
Barrett, Mrs. Louis Aubrey
Bass, Jack M.
Bass, Mrs. Jack M.
Bass, Tina Lee
Baugham, Marvin P.
Baugham, Mrs. Marvin P.
Baugham, Robert Monroe
Beam, Mrs. Clyde
Beam, Clyde Jr.
Beam, Dennis A.
Beam, Mrs. Dennis A.
Beam, Dennis Jr.
Beam, Mrs. Dennis Jr.
Beam, Edwin A.
Beam, Mrs. Edwin A.
Beam, Floyd M.
Beam, Mrs. Floyd M.
Becm, Mary Teresa
Beam, Mrs. Howard
Beam, Barbara Bess
Beam, James M.
Beam, Mrs. James M.
Beam, Mrs. Zeb
Beam, Zeb Egland Jr.
Beam, Mrs. Zeb Egland Jr.
Beam, Zeb III
Beason, Mrs. J. C.
Beattie, W. Ralph
Beattie, Mrs. W. Ralph
Beckham, Mrs. J. C.
Bell, Fred C.
Bell, Mrs. Fred C.
Bell, Mrs. Haskell
Bell, Gary Stephen
Belue, C. L.
Belue, Mrs. C. L.
Bennett, E. S.
Bennett, Mrs. E. S.
Bennett, Clair Hays
Bennett, Mrs. Clair Hays
Bennett, Linda Doris
Bennett, Clair Hays Jr.
Benton, Mrs. John
Berry, Houston G.
Berry, Mrs. Houston G.
Bissette, J. C.
Bissette, Mrs. J. C.
Bissette, Gwendolyn Stott
Blanton, Dr. Clyde
Blanton, Mrs. Clyde
Blanton, Elizabeth Ann
Blanton, Mrs. Frank
Blanton, John Franklin
Blanton, Mrs. George Sr.
Blanton, George Jr.
Blanton, J. Kennon
Blanton, Mrs. Kennon
Blanton, James S.
Blanton, Mrs. James S.
Blanton, John Albert
Blanton, Mrs. John Albert
Blanton, L. T.
Blanton, Mrs. L. T.
Blanton, Mrs. Marshall
Blanton, Miss Blala
Blanton, Miss Selma
Blanton, Mrs. W. Herschel
Blanton, William E.
Blanton, Mrs. William E.
Blanton, William Lawton
Blanton, Mrs. Yates
Blauvelt, Percy R.
Blauvelt, Mrs. Percy R.
Blauvelt, Nancy Kaye
Blauvelt, Debra Jean
Boatwright, Mrs. W. H.
Boatwright, Roger Steven
Bogan, Mrs. Perrin B.
Bolt, Charles M.
Bolt, Mrs. Charles M.
Borders, Mrs. Garland
Borders, Hugh H.
Borders, Mrs. Hugh H.
Borders, Lewis B.
Borders, Mrs. Lewis
Borders, Miss Sue Agnes
Bost, Bennett W.
Bost, Mrs. Bennett W.
Bost, L. C.
Bost, Mrs. L. C.
Bost, Mrs. Lloyd
Bost, Lloyd C. Jr.
Bost, Virginia Ann
Bost, Byard Thurman
Bost, Harlan Stewart
Bost, Mrs. Ned
Bowen, James Laurence
Bowcn, Mrs. James Laurence
Bowen, L. G.
Bowen, Mrs. L. G.
Bowen, Richard G.
Bowen, Mrs. Richard G.
Bowling, J. C.
Bowling, A.Ars. J. C.
Bowling, Dr. R. F.
Bowling, Mrs. R. F.
Bowling, Karen Elizabeth
Bowling, Kathryn Lillian
Boyles, DeMar H.
Boyles, Mrs. DeMar H.
Boyles, Rebecca Jan
Boyles, DeMar H. Jr.
Bramlett, D. Eugene
Bramlett, Mrs. D. Eugene
Branton, Mrs. Gene
Branton, Calvin Douglas
Branton, James Victor
Branton, Mrs. J. W.
Branton, Mrs. Worth
Breeze, Mrs. V. W.
Bridges, Mrs. Bruwell
Bridges, Forrest W.
Bridges, Mrs. Forrest W.
Bridges, G. L.
Bridges, J. Dewey
Bridges, Jackie Lee
Bridges, Mrs. Jesse E.
Bridges, Johnnie J.
dges, Mrs. Johnnie J.
dges, Amelia Catherine
dges, Deborah Anne
dges, Katherine Lynn
dges, Donna Colette
dges, Mrs. Norman
dges, T. F.
dges, Mrs. T. F.
dges, Thomas H.
dges, Mrs. Thomas H.
ggs, Johnnie L.
ggs, Mrs. Johnnie L.
Broadway, Mrs. W. A.
Brock, John O.
Brock, Mrs. John O.
Brock, John Otto Jr.
Brooks, Paul J.
Brooks, Mrs. Paul J.
Brooks, Paula Jackson
Brooks, Robert D.
Brooks, Mrs. Robert D.
Brooks, Ronald David
Brown, J. G.
Brown, Mrs. J. G.
Brown, James H.
Brown, Mrs. .James H.
Brown, Paul P.
Brown, Mrs. Paul P.
Bruce, L. Ray
Bruce, Mrs. L. Ray
Bruce, Nancy Carol
Brydges, Mrs. Harlan
Bryson, Hale T.
Bryson, Mrs. Hale T.
Bryson, Thomas Hale
Bryson, Patricia Jane
Bryson, James Andrew
Buchanan, Miss Linda
Bumgardner, James Reginald
Bumgardner, Mrs. James R.
Burns, Mrs. Pantha
Burns, Robert 0.
Burns, Mrs. Robert 0.
Burns, Robert 0. Jr.
Burns, Deborah Ann
Burrus, Mrs James Henry
Burrus, James Henry, Jr.
Butler, Max P.
Butler, Mrs. Max P.
Butler, Phyllis Amanda
Byers, Mrs. Charles S.
Byers, Mrs. John
Byrd, George V.
Byrd, Mrs. George V.
Byrd, George Vernon
Byrd, Barry Ellis
Cabaniss, Mrs. Elmo
Cabaniss, Michael Bryan
Cabaniss, Sarah Louise
Cabaniss, Karen Bliss
Cabaniss, Phillip Broughton
Cabaniss, Mrs. James
Cabaniss, Joe E.
Cabaniss, Mrs. Joe E.
Cabaniss, Joe E. Jr.
Cabaniss, David Wayne
Cabaniss, Karen Jean
Cabaniss, L. E.
Cabaniss, Larry G.
Cabaniss, Mrs. Larry G.
Cabaniss, Robert Gold
Cabaniss, Mrs. Robert Gold
Cabaniss, Gary Marshall
Cabiness, Mrs. Dewey
Cabiness, W. Webb
Cabiness, Edwin W.
Cabiness, Mrs. Edwin W.
Cabiness, Mrs. Everett
Caldwell, David Rollins
Callahan, B. M.
Callahan, Mrs. B. M.
Callahan, Robert J.
Callahan, Mrs. Robert J.
Callahan, Robert Wesley
Camp, Robert Norman
Camp, Mrs. Robert Norman
Campbell, Mrs. R. C.
Campbell, Mrs. Robert
Campbell, Charles Vance
Canipe, Mrs. John
Canipe, Ronald Gene
Canipe, Sue Ellen
Canipe, Raymond E.
Canipe, Mrs. Raymond E.
Canipe, Mrs. Zollie L.
Cantrell, Mrs. Lewis
Carpenter, George M.
Carpenter, Mrs. George M.
Carpenter, M. H.
Carpenter, Mrs. M. H.
Carpenter, Mrs. Wayne
Carpenter, Abagail Wayne
Carroll, Joseph Henry III
Carroll, Mrs. Joseph H. Ill
Carter, L. Jack
Carter, Mrs. L. Jack
Cash, Crawley B. Jr.
Cash, Mrs. Crawley B. Jr.
Cash, Edwin Joseph
Cash, Clyde Richard
Casstevens, Mrs. Ransom
Caudill, Mrs. Wayne
Caudill, Wayne Jack Jr.
Caudill, Walter Lowry
Causby, Mrs. Harold
Causby, Harold David
Causby, Robert Hamrick
Causby, Mrs. Nelson
Causby, Ronald Dean
Cayton, Mrs. James Luther
Chadwell, J. E.
Chadwell, Mrs. J. E.
Chamberlain, Mrs. Richard
Chamberlain, Patricia Susan
Chamberlain, Richard Alfred
Chamberlain, Linda Eleanor
Champion, F. 0.
Champion, Mrs. F. O.
Champion, Mrs. Yates
Cheek, D. G.
Cheek, Mrs. D. G.
Clark, J. D.
Clark, Mrs. J. D.
Cline, D. Huss
Cline, Mrs. D. Huss
Cline, Marshall 0.
Cline, Mrs. Marshall O.
Cline, Marshall O. Jr.
Clontz, Mrs. Kenneth
Coble, Mrs. C. C.
Coble, Donald D.
Cohoon, J. A.
Cohoon, Mrs. J. A.
Cole, Mrs. Charles Scott
Collins, Mrs. Andrew
Conner, Mrs. Yates
Conner, Tonda Karen
Connor, L. B.
Connor, Mrs. L. B.
Connor, Laura Beth
Cooke, Mrs. Dennis
Cooke, Dennis D. Jr.
Ccoke, Mrs. L. S.
Cook, Mrs. John Grayson
Corn, Mrs. Roy E.
Cornwell, Mrs. Clyde
Cornwell, Mrs. Glenn
Cornwell, Miss Laura
Costner, Elbert C.
Costner, Mrs. Elbert C.
Costner, Elbert Stephen
Costner, Donald Ray
Costner, Mrs. Fred
Costner, Mrs. H. J.
Costner, R. B.
Costner, Mrs. R. B.
Courtney, J. J.
Courtney, Mrs. J. J.
Crawford, R. Reid
Crawford, Mrs. R. Reid
Crawford, Ronald A.
Jr. Crawford, Mrs. Ronald A.
Crawley, Orlen Kenneth
Crawley, Mrs. Orlen Kenneth
Crowder, P. D. Jr.
Crowder, Mrs. P. D. Jr.
Crowder, P. D. Ill
Cummings, Mrs. Grace C.
Cunningham, E. T.
Cunningham, Mrs. E. T.
Daves, Mrs. Max
Daves, Max Jr.
Daves, Katherine Anne
Daves, Mrs. Eliza C.
Davis, Mrs. Durham
Davis, Dean Simpson
Davis, Morris Durham, Jr.
Davis, F. DeLane
Davis, Mrs. F. DeLane
Davis, Fred Delane, Jr.
Davis, Cynthia Anita
Davis, Mrs. Hoyle
Davis, Phil Travis
Davis, John E., Jr.
Davis, Mrs. John E. Jr.
Davis, Patricia Willene
Davis, Mrs. Pearl Bowling
Davis, Russell S.
Davis, Mrs. Russell S.
Davis, Russell Sparks, Jr.
Davis, Mrs. Stanley W.
Dawkins, Mrs. Reginald
Dawkins, Reginald G., Jr.
DeBrew, Mrs. Howard
DeBrew, Robert Howard
Dedmon, Irvin Lee
Dedmon, Mrs. Irvin Lee
Dedmon, Mrs. Pink
Dedmon, W. Gerod
Dedmon, Mrs. W. Gerod
Dedmon, Margaret Anne
Dellinger, Miss Irene
Dennis, C. M.
Dennis, Mrs. C. M.
DePriest, Mrs. Joe
DePriest, Joe, Jr.
DePriest, Mrs. David
DePriest, T. B.
DePriest, Thomas Baxter
Dixon, Mrs. Raymond
Dixon, William Raymond, Jr.
Dixon, Charles Lindsey
Dixon, Mrs. J. L.
Doggett, Mrs. Robert
Doggett, W. C.
Doggett, Mrs. W. C.
Doggett, George Carson
Doty, Mrs. Frances
Doughty, Melvin Lee
Doughty, Mrs. Melvin Lee
Dudley, J. G., Jr.
Duncan, Earley H.
Dunlap, William A.
Dunlap, Mrs. William A.
Durham, Russell H.
Durham, Mrs. Russell H.
Durham, Stephen Russell
Durham, Brantley Hollan
Duval, Mrs. Arthur Henry
Eades, Mrs. John
Eades, Ellen Foster
Easom, Mrs. Horace
Eaves, Roddey Phifer
Eaves, Mrs. Roddey Phifer
Eaves, Cheryl Dawn
Edney, William Gaither
Edney, Mrs. William Gaither
Edney, Debra Kay
Edwards, Mrs. A. C.
Edwards, Henry B.
Edwards, Mrs. Henry B.
Edwards, Terry P.
Elam, G. B.
Elam, Mrs. G. B.
Elam, Reuben L.
Elam, Mrs. Reuben L.
Elam, Elizabeth Carscn
Elam, John Wilson
Elam, Roland B.
Elam, Mrs. Roland B.
Elliott, Bonnie H.
Elliott, Donald J.
Elliott, Mrs. Donald J.
Elliott, Mrs. Bonnie H.
Elliott, Howard C.
Elliott, Mrs. Howard C.
Elliott, M. P.
Elliott, Mrs. M. P.
Ellis, Bruce Herbert, Sr.
Ellis, Mrs. Bruce Herbert, Sr.
Ellis, Bruce Herbert, Jr.
Ellis, Mrs. Cage
Ellis, W. P.
Ellis, Mrs. W. P.
Ellis, William David
Ellison, Joel M.
Ellison, Mrs. Joel M.
Elmore, John R.
Elmore, Mrs. Ralph
Mrs. Carl E.
Mrs. Charles L.
Mrs. Charles R.
Mrs. J. Holland
Mrs. Robert L.
Robert Lee, Jr.
Mrs. Sam B.
Mrs. T. P.
Mrs. Wiiliam Harris
Evans, Mrs. Oscar
Falls, T. B.
Falls, Mrs. T. B.
Farmer, A. C.
Farmer, Mrs. A. C.
Farris, E. F.
Farris, Mrs. E. F.
Farris, Mary Camille
Farrow, Mrs. Theron
Fcrrow, Leslie Marie
Farrow, Robert Harlan
Favell, W. B.
Favell, Mrs. W. B.
Fetzer, Mrs. Pansy Blanton
Fetzer, Mrs. Thomas
Fetzer, Timothy Blanton
Flowers, Fred A.
Flowers, Mrs. Fred A.
Forner, Charles A. Jr.
Forner, Christopher Daniel
Forney, Robert R.
Forney, Mrs. Robert R.
Fortenberry, Mrs. J. B.
Fox, Mrs. J. T.
Francis, Mrs. J. B.
Frczier, James H.
Frazier, Mrs. James H.
Frazier, James Michael
Frazier, Janice Lynne
Freeman, Boyce T.
Freeman, Mrs. Boyce T.
Freeman, Jo Ann
Freeman, Karen McBrayer
Fuquay, J. C.
Gallimore, Wray L.
Gallimore, Mrs. Wray L.
Gallimore, Wray Eckard, Jr.
Gammons, Michael P.
Gammons, Mrs. Michael P.
Gardner, Mrs. Flay
Gardner, Emily Jane
Gardner, John Mull
Gardner, 0. Max III
Gardner, Ralph Webb
Gardner, Thomas L.
Gardner, Mrs. Thomas L.
Gardner, Kathy Susan
Garver, Mrs. Frank
Garver, Frank, Jr.
Garver, Jennifer Lynn
Garver, S. R.
Garver, Mrs. S. R.
Gaston, Mrs. J. F.
Gaston, Mrs. Rea
Geddes, James D.
Geddes, Mrs. James D.
Gettys, Mrs. Claude
Gettys, William Earle
Gettys, James Steven
Gibbs, Miss Ray
Gibson, Mrs. Polly
Gibson, Raymond Edwin
bson, Mrs. Raymond Edwin
llespie, Mrs. Dale
I Matt, C. L.
Iliatt, Mrs. C. L.
Iliatt, Dr. Lee
Iliatt, Mrs. Lee
Gladden, James Marion
Gladden, Mrs. James Marion
Gladden, James David
Gladden, Phillip Marion
Glascoe, D. J.
Glascoe, Mrs. D. J.
Glascoe, Joyce Allyson
Goforth, George W.
Goforth, Mrs. George W.
Gold, Mrs. C. L.
Gold, Mrs. Forrest
Gold, Harry Gene
Gold, Mrs. Harry Gene
Gold, Mrs. Howard
Gold, James Hoyle
Gold, Mrs. James Hoyle
Goode, Mrs. Pauline
Goodman, Mrs. Richard
Graham, Mrs. Thomas W.
Graham, Thomas W. Jr.
Grayson, Mrs. R. N.
Green, William J.
Green, Mrs. William J.
Green, Mary Jane
Greene, A. B.
Greene, Mrs. A. B.
Greene, Deborah Kay
Greene, B. S.
Greene, Mrs. B. S.
Greene, Mrs. Ruth
Greene, Marilyn Ruth
Greene, Cheryl Irene
Greene, Raymond Floyd
Greene, Mrs. Hershel
Greene, J. C.
Greene, Mrs. J. C.
Greene, Miss Jewel
Greene, John Max
Greene, Joseph M.
Greene, Mrs. Joseph M.
Greene, Mrs. Nancy C.
Greene, Ralph M.
Greene, Mrs. Ralph M.
Greene, Ralph Miller, Jr.
Greene, Dale Drew
Greer, Mrs. Sam
Grice, James P.
Grice, Mrs. James P.
Griffin, Mrs. Anna W.
Griffin, Allen Vance
Grigg, Mrs. C. Donald
Grigg, Donna Sue
Grigg, Mrs. Carl
Grigg, Carl S., Jr.
Grigg, Mrs. Dayne
Grigg, Kathy Denise
Grigg, Mrs. Effie
Grigg, Miss Flossie
Grigg, Talmadge Grant
Grigg, James T.
Grigg, Mrs. James T.
Grigg, Jimmy Michael
Grigg, Mrs. P. F.
Grigg, Mrs. Plato
Gunnells, Mrs. Jack
Hall, Mrs. Carolyn
Hall, James M.
Hall, Mrs. James M.
ght, D. D.
ght, Mrs. D. D.
ght, Mrs. Floyd
ght, Deborah Ann
ght, Mrs. Moody
ght, Ralph E.
ght, Mrs. Ralph E.
ght, Carolyn Jane
ght, Wanda Kay
ght, Sherry Lynn
Hamm, Mrs. Carl William
Mrs. A. V.
Mrs. A. Vason, Jr.
Alger Vason 1 1 1
Mrs. B. 0.
Mrs. C. 0.
Mrs. C. Rush
C. Rush Jr.
Mrs. C. Rush, Jr.
C. Rush III
Mrs. Earle A.
Mrs. F. G.
Mrs. George W.
Mrs. J. B.
Mrs. J. Broughton
Mrs. Julian W.
Mrs. L. R.
Mrs. L. T.
Mrs. 0. V.
0. V., Jr.
Mrs. 0. V., Jr.
0. V. Ill
Miss 01 lie
Mrs. R. Hubbard
Mrs. Thomas B.
Thomas Beatty, Jr.
Mrs. V. F.
Mrs. William P.
Carl H., Ji
Hand, Mrs. Carl H., Jr.
Mrs. James M.
II,' Mrs. J. B.
II, Mrs. Lottie W.
s, F. T. B.
s, Mrs. F. T. B.
s, G. W.
s, Mrs. G. W.
s, George Burel
s, Mrs. George Burel
s, Mrs. James Thomas
s, Mrs. Leon
s, Mrs. Miller
s, Robert G.
s, Mrs. Robert G.
s, Dwight Timothy
s, Mrs. Yates
Hartley, Mrs. Keith
Hause, Mrs. Robert
Hawkins, John Landrum
Hawkins, Mrs. John Landrum
Hawkins, Ann Christie
Hawkins, John Landrum, Jr.
Hawkins, Mrs. Paul
Hawkins, R. N.
Hawkins, Mrs. R. N.
Hawkins, Ronald W.
Hawkins, Mrs. Ronald W.
Hawkins, Mary Lynn
Hayes, Alexander John
Hayes, Mrs. Alexander John
Haymaker, Mrs. Claude
Haymaker, James Robert
Haymaker, Claude, Jr.
Heath, Charles C.
Heath, Mrs. Charles C.
Heath, Janice Lynn
Heath, Brian Neai
Heath, Eric Scott
Heffner, Mrs. Gary W.
Heffner, Michael Scott
Heffner, Edwin Lee
Heffner, David Stuart
Heffner, Dale Wayne
Heffner, Dane William
Heffner, Geoffrey Lynn
Henderson, Mrs. James
Hendrick, Ben Ely
Hendrick, Mrs. Ben Ely
Hendrick, F. Cline
Hendrick, Mrs. F. Cline
Hendrick, Mrs. Ford
Hendrick, Ford Jr.
Hendrick, Mrs. Ford, Jr.
Hendrick, Andrew Ford III
Hendrick, Mrs. John
Hendrick, Miss Lottie Mae
Hendrick, Mrs. Mai
Hendrick, Michael Rodney
Hendrick, Byron Howard
Hendrick, Constance Elaine
Hendrick, Robin Wade
Hendrick, Susan Teresa
Hendrick, Mrs. Summey
Hendricks, Mrs. Fred B.
Henry, Mrs. Kathleen P.
Henry, Amy Kathleen
Henry, Julia Frances
Henry, Rebecca Louise
Hicks, Mrs. Earl
Hill, C. J.
Hill, Mrs. C. J.
Hill, Mrs. E. B.
Hines, Bobby G.
Hines, Mrs. Bobby G.
Hines, Celia Gray
Hoey, Mrs. Flay
Holcomb, Mrs. E.
Holcomb, Hugh Neil
Holden, Jesse T.
Holden, Mrs. Jesse T.
Holland, Mrs. Lawrence
Holloman, Mrs. M. C.
Holloman, Kathy Anne
Hood, Mrs. Joe
Hopper, Mrs. Alton
Hopper, Mrs. James
Hord, Mrs. Russell
Horldt, Daniel A.
Horldt, Mrs. Daniel A.
Horn, C. C.
Horn, Mrs. C. C.
Horn, Charles A.
Horn, Mrs. Charles A.
Horn, William James
Horn, Mrs. William James
Howard, Boyd Z.
Howard, Mrs. Boyd Z.
Howell, J. B.
Howell, Mrs. J.
Hudson, W. Hill III
Hudson, Mrs. Morris
Hudson, Robert Christopher
Hughes, Mrs. Dan
Hughes, Madeline Carol
Hull, F. Guy
Hull, Mrs. F. Guy
Humphrey, Mrs. W. W.
Humphrey, W. W.
Hunter, Dr. John B.
Hunter, Mrs. John B.
Hunter, Nancy Jean
Ingle, Garland Daniel
Ingle, Mrs. Garland Daniel
Jackson, Charles E.
Jackson, Mrs. Charles E.
Jcckson, Jackie, Jr.
Jackson, Linda Cheryl
Jackson, Laura Leigh
Jarrett, Dr. B. M.
Jarrett, Mrs. B. M.
Jay, Clarence P.
Jay, Mrs. Clarence P.
Jay, Mrs. David
Jay, Clarence David, Jr.
Jay, Patricia Ann
Jenkins, Mrs. Glenn
Jenkins, Mrs. Robert S., Sr.
Jolly, Stephen Neal
Jones, Avery Lee
Jones, Mrs. Avery Lee
Jones, Judy Elizabeth
, Mrs. W. H.
, Hill, Jr.
, Mrs. Hill, Jr.
Jones, Jana Kaye
Mrs. C. J.
Mrs. Frederick R
Mrs. Opal P.
Dr. Robert S.
Mrs. Robert S.
Jordan, J. M.
Jordan, Mrs. J. M.
Jordan, Charles Wayne
Jordan, Jan Marie
Kale, Mrs. Ralph
Keeter, Mrs. Dorothy B.
Keeter, H. S., Jr.
Keeter, Mrs. H. S., Jr.
Keeter, Hoyt S., Sr.
Keeter, Mrs. Hoyt S., Sr.
Keeter, Billie Kathryn
Keeter, Millie Patricia
Keeter, K. K.
Keeter, Kermit K., Jr.
Keever, Deborah Jean
Kelly, R. G.
Kelly, Mrs. R. G.
Kelly, Richard Dale
Kendrick, Mrs. John M.
Kendrick, John Marion, Jr.
Kent, Roy Dean
Kester, Mrs. John
Kester, James William
King, G. F.
King, Mrs. G. F.
King, Mrs. Helen D.
King, Jack D.
King, Mrs. Jack D.
King, Mrs. W. R.
Kirkpatrick, Gene I.
Kirkpatrick, Mrs. Gene I.
Kirkpatrick, Gene Irvin, Jr.
Kiser, Mrs. Vernon
Kiser, Betsy Carol
Kiser, Vernon Kenneth, Jr.
Kiser, W. D.
Kiser, Mrs. W. D.
Kiser, Sandra Diane
Kiser, Walker Daniel, Jr.
Lackey, Mrs. Angela
Lackey, Mrs. Evans
Lackey, Norris D.
Lackey, Mrs. Norris D.
Lackey, Phillip I.
Lackey, Robert R., Jr.
Lackey, Mrs. Robert R., Jr.
Lampley, Mrs. Charles G.
Landreth, Mrs. Stephen Glenn
Lane, H. A.
Lane, Mrs. H. A.
Lane, Allen, Jr.
Lankford, Mrs. Irene
Lankford, Cynthia Diane
Lankford, Raymond T.
Lankford, Mrs. Raymond T.
Lattimore, Mrs. E. B.
Lattimore, Mrs. S. Nelson
Lattimore, S. N., Jr.
Lattimore, Mrs. S. N., Jr.
Lattimore, Mrs. W. C.
Laughlin, R. C.
Laughlin, Mrs. R. C.
LaVene, Mrs. Robert John
Lowing, Claude, Jr.
Lowing, Mrs. Claude, Jr.
Lowing, Claudia Jean
Leath, Mrs. Pollye
Leath, Mrs. Roland
LeCroy, Charles Michael
LeCroy, Mrs. Charles Michael
Ledbetter, R. K.
Ledbetter, Mrs. R. K.
Ledford, Mrs. Leroy
Ledford, Mrs. R. H.
Lee, M. Joyce
Lee, 0. E.
Lee, Mrs. O. E.
Lee, Odus E., Jr.
Lee, Mrs. Odus E., Jr.
Lee, Nina Jane
Lee, Robert Wesley
Lee, Thomas P.
Lee, John Drury II
Leftwich, J. C.
Lehman, Reverend J. Edward
Lehman, Mrs. J. Edward
Leinweber, Mrs. Alvin
Leinweber, Mary Katrina
Lemberger, Mrs. Richard
Lemons, John Harold
Lemons, Mrs. John Harold
Lewis, Mrs. Andrew
Lewis, Mrs. Feastur
Lewis, Mrs. Robert Gardner
Lide, Mrs. Henry
Limerick, Mrs. Paul
Limerick, Paul Douglas
Limerick, Danny Thomas
Lineberger, Mrs. Wm M. Ill
Litton, Dr. Robert
Litton, Mrs. Robert
Litton, Lura Adeline
Logan, G. R.
Logan, J. R.
Logan, Mrs. J. R.
Lovelace, Mrs. Faye
Lovelace, Grady B.
Lovelace, Mrs. Grady B.
Lovelace, Mrs. Grady H.
Lowe, John M.
Lowe, Mrs. John M.
Lowery, Mrs. ONie
Lowery, William B.
Lowery, Mrs. William B.
Lowrance, C. E.
Lowrance, Mrs. C. E.
Lowrance, Miss Doris
Lucas, Miss Frances
Lucas, J. Claude
Lucas, Mrs. J. Claude
Lucas, Mrs. Morris
Lucas, Nancy Elaine
Lucas, Walker Lee
Luckadoo, Clevie C.
Luckadoo, Mrs. Clevie C.
Luckadoo, David Gene
Luckadoo, Wesley McKinley
Luckadoo, Clevie C, Jr.
Lutz, J. Ray
Lutz, Mrs. J. Ray
Lutz, Mrs. Lloyd
Lutz, Ray Webb
Lutz, Mrs. Ray Webb
Lutz, Mrs. Robert
Lutz, Robert II
Lutz, Sara Lillyan
Lutz, Betsy Jane
Lutz, William D.
Lutz, Mrs. William D.
McArthur, Mrs. John
McArthur, Miss Mildred
McBrayer, Miss Agnes
McBrayer, Miss Ruby
McBrayer, Miss Bessie
McBrayer, Charles R.
McBrayer, Mrs. Charles R.
McBrayer, Mrs. Elisha
McBrayer, Mrs. Frederick
McBrayer, Phillip Davis
McBrayer, Patricia Lynn
McCarver, James Thomas
McCarver, Mrs. James Thomas
McCleney, Mrs. Richard
McCleney, Dickie Anne
McCleney, Cathy Sue
McCraw. Lloyd Keith
McCraw, Mrs. Lloyd Keith
McCraw, Lloyd Keith, Jr.
McCurry, Mrs. Ed
McCurry, J. H.
McCurry, Mrs. J. H.
McCurry, Mrs. W. S.
McDaniel, Mrs. B. C.
McDaniel, Mrs. Marvin
McDaniel, Mike Steve
McDaniel, Chris Bernard
McGraw, W. C.
McGraw, Mrs. W. C.
AAcGraw, John Barry
Mclntyre, Mrs. Hattie
Mclntyre, Mrs. James
Mclntyre, Mrs. Newman
Mclntyre, Thomas L.
Mclntyre, Mrs. Thomas L.
Mclntyre, Kimberly Lynn
Mclntyre, Dana Grey
McKee, Mrs. Roger
McKee, Roger, Jr.
McKinney, Charles Austin
McKinney, Mrs. Charles Austin
McKinney, Mrs. E. E.
McKinney, Mrs. E. F.
McMurry, Dr. Avery W.
McMurry, Mrs. Avery W.
McMurry, Warren Winslow
McMurry, Harris Ligon
McMurry, David Willis
McMurry, Carol Avery
McMurry, C. C, Jr.
McMurry, Mrs. C. C, Jr.
McMurry, John E.
McMurry, Mrs. Robert
McMurry, Susan Bernice
McMurry, Robert Alex
McMurry, Mrs. Willis
McSwain, Capt. (Chap.) Don
McSwain, Mrs. Don
McSwain, Mrs. H. K.
McSwain, Mrs. Nell C.
McSwain, Victoria Jane
McSwain, Mrs. Plato
McSwain, Mrs. Roy
McSwain, Mrs. Yates
McWhirter, Dr. Blake Mills
McWhirter, Mrs. Blake M.
McWhirter, Dorothy Ann
McWhirter, Joe N.
McWhirter, Mrs. Joe N.
Mabry, Mrs. Claude J., Jr.
Macomson, Mary Rebecca
Magness, Mrs. George
Magness, Charles Lee, Jr.
Magness, George Lee
Magness, Mrs. George Lee
Magness, Mrs. James
Malone, Dr. (Rev.) Frank H.
Malone, Mrs. Frank H.
Martin, Carl Gold
Martin, Mrs. Carl Gold
Martin, Michael Wayne
AAartin, Timothy Clark
Martin, Gold Mallory
Martin, Charles R.
Martin, Mrs. Charles R.
Martin, Sandra Nell
Martin, Mrs. Randolph
Mason, Mrs. Dan D.
Mattero, James A.
Mattero, Mrs. James A.
Mattero, Vivian Lorraine
Mattero, Carol Mae
Mauney, Floyd R.
Mauney, Mrs. Floyd R.
Mauney, Mrs. Hugh
Mauney, Jeri Anne
Mauney, James P.
Mauney, Mrs. James P.
Mauney, Mrs. Nelson
Mauney, Mrs. R. Grady
Mauney, Mrs. Zeb
Meacham, Mrs. Earl
Meacham, Otis Mull
Meetze, Joseph B.
Megginson, L. P.
Megginson, Mrs. L. P.
Melton, William B.
Melton, Mrs. Wililam B.
Mercier, Ronald R.
Mercier, Mrs. Ronald R.
Merritt, Mrs. Dorsey
Merritt, Gail Elizabeth
Merritt, Edward Dorsey
Metcalf, Mrs. W. V.
Miller, Mrs. William
Miller, William Perry
Miller, Allen Lynn
Milligan, Mrs. Lynda Eskridge
Mills, Mrs. Sam S.
Mincey, Mrs. Harvey
Mincey, Charlotte Frances
Mintz, Rush Shull
Mintz, Mrs. Rush Shull
Mintz, Ronald Lee
Misenheimer, J. R.
Misenheimer, Mrs. J. R.
Mitchell, Dr. Z. P.
Mitchell, Mrs. Z. P.
Mode, Mrs. John
Monroe, Mrs. Ellis P.
Mooney, W. L.
Mooney, Mrs. W. L.
Moore, Dr. D. F.
Moore, Mrs. J. Clyde
Moore, Joe L.
Moore, Mrs. Joe L.
Moore, Marshall, Jr.
Moore, Mrs. Marshall, Jr.
Moore, Franklin Shaw
Moore, Miss Mary
Moore, Mrs. Tom
Moorhead, Fred W.
Moorhead, Mrs. Fred W.
Morehead, Miss Inez
Morehead, Miss Lorene
Morgcn, Mrs. A. H.
Morgan, Mrs. Gerald
Morgan, Charles Henry, Jr.
Morgan, O. Z.
Morgan, Mrs. O. Z.
Morgan, Roscoe H., Sr.
Morgan, Mrs. Roscoe H., Sr.
Morgan, Milton Earle
Morrison, Dr. D. M.
Morrison, Mrs. D. M.
Morrow, Mrs. Reid E.
Moss, A. L.
Moss, Mrs. A. L.
Moss, Arthur L., Jr.
Moss, Mrs. Arthur L., Jr.
Moss, Miss Addie
Moss, Mrs. Carl W.
Mull, Mrs. Carr
Mull, Mrs. Fred
Mull, Joe F.
Mull, Mrs. Joe F.
Mull, Mrs. John P.
Mull, John P., Jr.
Mull, Peggy Ann
Mull, Amelia Grace
Mull, Rush Isaac, Jr.
Myers, Jean Ann
Neal, James Irvin
Neal, Mrs. James Irvin
Neal, Lenora Anne
Neal, Suson Melanie
Newmcn, Mrs. Carl
Newman, H. L.
Newton, Mrs. F. M.
Newton, J. Clint, Jr.
Newton, Mrs. J. Clint, Jr.
Newton, John Clinton III
Newton, Charlotte Ansley
Newton, Mrs. J. C.
Newton, Mrs. Roy
Nolan, Mrs. A. V.
Nolan, C. Sidney
Nolan, Mrs. C. Sidney
Nolan, Mrs. Clyde
Nolan, Clyde, Jr.
Nolan, Mrs. Ed
Nolan, Edward Beam, Jr.
Nolan, Mrs. Lee
Norman, Sara Lee
Olsen, Mrs. H. E.
Osborne, W. Gerald
Osborne, Mrs. W. Gerald
Owen, Mrs. Penry
Packard, Fields O.
Packard, Mrs. Fields O.
Padgett, Dr. Charles K.
Padgett, Oscar, Jr.
Padgett, Mrs. Oscar, Jr.
Padgett, James Harrill
Padgett, Samuel K.
Page, Kenneth R.
Page, Mrs. Kenneth R.
Paksoy, Mrs. Ali B.
Paksoy, Ali B.
Paksoy, Jayne Nicole
Paksoy, John Enis
Panther, Fred M.
Panther, Mrs. Fred M.
Panther, J B.
Panther, Mrs. J. B.
Panther, Mrs. J. O.
Parris, Mrs. Stewart
Pate, Mrs. W. U.
Patrick, Mrs. Norman
Patterson, C. C.
Pearce, William E.
Pearson, Teresa Jayne
Pendleton, W. G.
Pendleton, Mrs. W. G.
Pendleton, Mary Beatrice
Pendleton, Miss Billiee G.
Pennington, Mrs. E. M.
Pernell, W. A.
Pernell, Mrs. W. A.
Pernell, Clifton Wade
Pernell, Van Alton
lifer, Robert L.
lifer, Mrs. Robert L.
lifer, Margaret Debra
lifer, Robert Dale
lifer, Patrick Lee
lilbeck, Mrs. Keith
lillips, Mrs. A. W.
ullips, Mrs. L. R.
ullips, Mary Ann
Plaster, Dr. H. S.
Plaster, Mrs. H. S.
Poe, Donna Charlene
Poston, Ben L.
Poston, Mrs. Ben L.
Poston, C. G.
Poston, Mrs. C. G.
Poston, David Edward
Poston, (Reverend) Carl
Poston, Mrs. Carl
Poston, David Theron
Poston, Mrs. Minnie
Powell, A. A.
Powell, Mrs. A. A.
Price, Mrs. Elmer
Price, Mrs. James
Price, Thomas Fredrick
Price, Richard Michael
Price, Mrs. Roy
Proctor, Mrs. Fate
Propst, Mrs. J. 0.
Propst, Rev. R. Albert
Propst, Mrs. R. Albert
Propst, Deborah Lee
Propst, Mrs. Roy
Putnam, Mrs. Carolyn $
Putnam, Clyde G.
Putnam, Mrs. Clyde G.
Putnam, Frank Y.
Putnam, Mrs. Frank Y.
Putnam, Michael David
Putnam, Stephen Young
Putnam, Mrs. M. Carl
Putnam, Mrs. Ralph
Queen, John E.
Queen, Mrs. John E.
Queen, Kathryn Lee
Queen, Will L.
Queen, Mrs. Will L.
Quinn, Mrs. Dewitt
Rabon, R. R.
Raduly, Mrs. Ernest Ralph
Ramsaur, Thomas E.
Ramsaur, Mrs. Thomas E.
Ramsey, Harry L.
Ramsey, Mrs. Harry L.
Ramsey, Roger Lewis
Ramsey, Harvey Lee
Ramsey, T. A.
Ramsey, Mrs. T. A.
Ramsey, James Warren
Ramsey, Van H.
Ramsey, Mrs. Van H.
Randall, Mrs. Carl
Randall, R. P.
Rayne, Richard Alfred
Rayne, Mrs. Richard A.
Reid, Mrs. Charles
Reid, Charles C, Jr.
Reid, John Adams
Reid, W. J.
Reid, Mrs. W. J.
Reynolds, D. V.
Reynolds, Mrs. D. V.
Ridgeway, Bobby R.
Ridgeway, Mrs. Bobby R.
Rippy, Mrs. Frank
Riviere, Ted A.
Riviere, Mrs. Ted A.
Riviere, Ronda Lynn
Roark, Mrs. Margaret
Robbs, Mrs. James David
Roberts, Mrs. Fred
Roberts, Gary H.
Roberts, Mrs. Gary H.
Roberts, Suzanne Wray
Roberts, Mrs. Guy
Roberts, John A.
Roberts, Mrs. John A.
Roberts, Mrs. Paul
Robertson, Charles D.
Robertson, Mrs. Charles D.
Robertson, Mrs. D.
Rogers, Mrs. Ernest
Rogers, Ernest Patrick
Rogers, Mrs. Harvey
Rogers, Harvey, Jr.
Rogers, W. E.
Rogers, Mrs. W. E.
Rogers, Anita Carol
Rollins, Mrs. Howard
Ross, Mrs. Claude
Ross, Claude 0., Jr.
Ross, Mrs. Claude 0., Jr.
Royster, Mrs. D. W.
Royster, David W., Jr.
Royster, Margaret McMurry
Royster, Mary Lynn
Royster, David Wyeth, III
Royster, Mrs. Ralph
Royster, Mrs. Stephen
Royster, Stephen S., Ill
Royster, Susan Sutton
Royster, Michael Ralph
Rucker, R. J.
Rucker, Mrs. R. J.
Runyans, Mrs. Manley
Ruppe, Mrs. Earl Kenneth
Ruppe, Mrs. Roy L.
Ruppe, Robin Lucy
Rush, William G., Jr.
Rush, Mrs. William G., Jr.
Rush, Beverly Ann
Surratt, Mrs. E. C.
Sauls, Mrs. Harry
Schenck, Mrs. Newlin
Schenck, Ann Leslie
Schenck, Mark Benjamin
Schenck, Hal Emerson
Seism, Mrs. Max
Seism, Lou Ann
Seism, Bryant Oliver
Scoggins, Mrs. Melvin
Sellers, W. Perry
Senn, Charles T.
Senn, Mrs. Charles T.
Shaw, Miss Joe
Shelton, Alice Patricia
Sheppard, Mrs. Dow
Sheppard, Mary Ellen
Sherlin, Alvin M.
Sherlin, Mrs. Alvin M.
Sherman, Stanley Robert
Sherman, Sandra Leigh
Sherman, Mrs. Stanley Robert
Sherman, William Stanley
Sherman, Stephen Robert
Sherrill, Mrs. Frank
Shields, J. Don
Shields, Mrs. J. Don
Shields, William Bradford
Short, L. W.
Short, Mrs. L. W.
Short, Dale Albert
Shytle, Mrs. Charles
Shytle, Carl Hugh
Shytle, Mrs. Giles
Sibley, Mrs. Dudley R.
Silver, Joseph W.
Silver, Mrs. Joseph W.
Silver, Joseph Norman
Sisk, Mrs. Annie
Sisk, Mrs. Jean
Sisk, Jerry Donald
Sisk, Donnis Anita
Smart, Mrs. W. W. G.
Mrs. Donald E.
Mrs. E. G.
G. P., Jr.
Mrs. Griffin P.
Mrs. J. Carlyle
Ned Nolan, Jr.
Southard, Mrs. C. L.
Southard, Charles Phillip
Southard, Kathy Suzanne
Southard, George M.
Southard, Mrs. George M.
Southards, J. H., Jr.
Spangler, B. F.
Spongier, Mrs. B. F.
Spangler, Mrs. Clyde
Spangler, Dather H.
Spangler, Mrs. Dather H.
Spangler, Earl W.
Spangler, Mrs. Earl W.
Spangler, Joan Harrill
Spangler, Patricia Ann
Spangler, Ernest Webb, II
Spangler, Carol Elaine
Spangler, J. David
Spangler, Mrs. J. David
Spangler, David Michael
Spangler, J. Edwin
Spangler, Mrs. J. Edwin
Spangler, Susan Rucker
Spangler, M. A., Jr.
Spangler, Mrs. M. A., Jr.
Spangler, M. A., Ill
Spangler, Donald Odom
Spangler, Mrs. Malcolm
Spangler, William Eugene
Spangler, Mrs. Pat
Spangler, Nancy Lynne
Spangler, Nina Jane
Spangler, Jean Patrick
Spangler, Penny Eloise
Spangler, Royce Patrick, Jr.
Spangler, Robert F.
Spangler, Mrs. Robert F.
Spangler, Mrs. Summey
Sparks, Mrs. Gerald
Sparks, Thomas Edward
Sparks, Richard Gerald
Sparks, Mrs. R. E.
Speagle, Olan R.
Speagle, Mrs. Olan R.
Speagle, Lewis Edwin
Speagle, Sarah Annette
Spears, James B.
Spears, Mrs. James B.
Spears, James B., Jr.
Spears, Pamela Jane
Spears, John Howard
Spears, Jeffrey Paul
Spencer, C. L.
Sperling, Mrs. Carl
Sperling, Charles C.
Sperling, Mrs. Charles C.
Sperling, Charles Coleman, Jr.
Sperling, John Jefferson
Sperling, George Roberts
Spradley, E. D.
Spradley, Mrs. E. D.
Spradley, Scott, Jr.
Stanley, Mrs. Hoyt
Stanley, Sandra Kay
Steadman, Mrs. Horace
Steadman, Sue Elizabeth
Steadman, Jane Dawn
Stone, Mrs. I. D.
Stone, Robert Welch
Stone, Mrs. Robert Welch
Stone, Robert W., Jr.
Stowe, John L.
Stowe, Mrs. John L.
Street, Dwight Kenneth, Jr.
Street, Mrs. Dwight Kenneth, Jr.
Street, D. Kenneth
Street, Mrs. D. Kenneth
Stroup, Mrs. Rush
Stuart, Mrs. Oscar
Sullens, Mrs. Frank
Sullens, Larry Gene
Sullivan, Ralph P.
Sullivan, Mrs. Ralph P.
Sullivan, Sarah Beth
Sullivan, Mary Ann
Summey, Mrs. S. S.
Suttle, Mrs. Eugene
Suttle, J. L., Jr.
Suttle, Mrs. J. L., Jr.
Suttle, J. Linton, III
Suttle, Mrs. J. Linton, III
Suttle, Mrs. Jap
Suttle, Mrs. John W.
Swan, Ned B.
Swan, Mrs. Ned B.
Sweezy, Mrs. Douglas
Sweezy, Candance Douglas
Swift, Fred J.
Swift, Mrs. Fred J.
Tate, Mrs. Hoyle
Tate, Sherwood C.
Tate, Mrs. Sherwood C.
Taylor, F. H.
Taylor, Jesse L.
Taylor, Mrs. Jesse L.
Taylor, Lucinda Carol
Taylor, Jesse Lee, Jr.
Tedder, T. N.
Tedder, Mrs. T. N.
Thompson, Mrs. Jean M.
Thompson, Mary Sue
Thompson, Dr. John L.
Thorne, Mrs. Charles T.
Thornton, Mrs. Nina
Toms, Mrs. H. L.
Toms, Mrs. Hugh
Toms, J. P.
Triplett, Mrs. Hubert
Triplett, Robert Warren
Tyner, Wade, Jr.
Tyner, Mrs. Wade, Jr.
Tyner, David Hampton
VanHoy, Edwin T.
VanHoy, Mrs. Edwin T.
Vassy, L. K.
Vassy, Mrs. L. K.
Vassy, Cynthia Diane
Vickers, Mrs. R. B.
Wacaster, Mrs. John
Waldrop, H. E., Jr.
Waldrop, Mrs. H. E., Jr.
Waldrop, Richard Elford
Waldrop, Robert Kennon
Walker, Mrs. M. D.
Wall, Mrs. Boyd
Wall, Myron David
Wall, Mrs. Glenn
Wall, Michael Glenn
Wallace, Max L.
Wallace, Mrs. Max L.
Walters, Mrs. Ray E.
Ware, Mrs. J. S.
Warrick, E. Scott
Warrick, Mrs. E. Scott
Warrick, Vicki Lee
Warrick, Earl Scott, Jr.
Washburn, Mrs. Ed
Washburn, Mrs. George
Watson, Mrs. Fritz N., Sr.
Watterson, Gene L.
Watterson, Mrs. Gene L.
Weathers, Miss Avie
Weathers, Mrs. Bynum E. W
Weathers, Mrs. Lee B. W
Weathers, Mrs. M. R. W
Weaver, W. J. W
Weaver, Mrs. W. J. W
Weaver, Mildred Sharon W
Weaver, Grace Robbin W.
Weaver, Betsy Neil W
Webb, Cecil W.
Webb, Mrs. Cecil W
Webb, Harvey Cecil W
Webb, Mrs. E. L. W
Webb, Mrs. Giles W
Webb, Giles Edgar, Jr. W
Webb, Mrs. Giles E., Jr. W
Webb, Giles E., Ill W
Webb, Jann Gates W
Webb, Mrs. Mayme Wray W
Webb, Mrs. Paul W
Webb, Mrs. Paul, Jr. W
Webb, Mrs. Ruth Pearce W
Webb, Mrs. W. H. W
Wellman, W. T. W
Wellman, Mrs. W. T. W
Wellman, Dicky T. W
Wells, Mrs. J. A. W
Wells, Aurthine W
Wells, Lee McBride W
Wells, Mrs. Lee McBride W
Wells, David Lee W
West, James A., Jr.
West, Mrs. James A., Jr.
West, Kathryn Lee
West, Evelyn Jean
Whatley, Huel A.
Whatley, Mrs. Huel A.
Whatley, Huey Albert, Jr.
Whisnant, John K.
Whisnant, Mrs. John K.
White, Mrs. E. E.
Whitmire, Mrs. Guy
Whitworth, W. G.
Ider, W. B.
Ider, Mrs. W. B.
Ider, Glenda Cavell
Ihelm, Miss Minnie
Ikins, Mrs. Jimmy
Ikie, J. L.
Ikie, Mrs. J. L.
Iliams, Billy Lee
lliams, Mrs. B. L.
Iliams, Mrs. Charles H.
lliams, James Speed
Iliams, Mrs. James Speed
lliams, James Carlyle
lliams, Mrs. L. P.
lliams, Mrs. Larry Franklin
lliams, Mary Ann
lliamson, Mrs. John N.
Mis, Mrs. D. L.
Mrs. D. Paul
Mrs. Donald Paul
Mrs. G. A.
Mrs. Hackett C.
Dr. R. L.
Mrs. R. L.
shnoff, Maurice, Jr.
shnoff, Mrs. Maurice, Jr.
Wood, J. Carver
Wood, Mrs. J. Carver
Wood, Mrs. James
Woodson, Harry S.
Wray, Mrs. George
Wray, Harvey L.
Wray, Mrs. Harvey L.
Wray, Edmund Jones
Wray, Mrs. Vick
Wray, Stough A.
Wray, Mrs. Stough A.
Wright, Hugh Sylvester
Wright, Mrs. Hugh Sylvester
Wright, Mrs. James
Wylie, Mrs. Paul
Yarbrough, Miss Ann
Yarbrough, William F.
Yarbrough, Mrs. William F.
Yarbrough, Elizabeth Anne
Yates, Joe C.
Yates, Mrs. Joe C.
Yates, Jo Ann
Yelton, Dr. John
Yelton, Mrs. John
Yelton, Adona Sue
Yelton, Paris L.
Yelton, Mrs. Paris L. Young, Mrs. Ed Young, William Carlos
Yelton, Robert William Young, Marsha Young, Douglas Bryan
Yelton, Don Young, G. B. Young, Michael Harrill
Young, Carlos Young, Mrs. G. B. Young, Nina Judy
Young, Mrs. Carlos Young, H. Fields, Jr. Young, Eugene Fields
Young, Carlos L, Jr. Young, Mrs. H. Fields, Jr. Young, Eugenia Lee
Young, Edna Anne Young, H. Fields, III Young, Lamar Lewis, Jr.
Young, Kathleen Alice Young, Harriet Ann Young, Mrs. Lamar Lewis, Jr.
Young, Stephen Lewis Young, Lamar
Young, Ed Young, Mrs. Lamar
sauEjqp A)!SJ9A|un wo